We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
virginia
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I visited Berry Hill for a "girls weekend' it was wonderful. The spa and staff are amazing. The dinning room was closed due to a wedding but the staff made travel arrangements for us to go to Molasses Grill in nearby Halifax, which was a wonderful choice. We have decided to make this our annual retreat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virginiafloater
Bill K, General Manager at Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hi-thank you for the review and we will be excited to welcome you back on the next "girl's weekend". We hope that you will get to experience our excellent cuisine as well. Molasses is a delight in South Boston. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Bill K

South Boston, Virginia
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The staff at this resort are great! They are friendly and always ready to help with any request you have. The rooms are clean and ours had a patio so we could just walk across the grass to the indoor pool. The pool is fantastic. My family and I went for a short break (2 days) but plan on returning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kamokru11
Bill K, General Manager at Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hi-thank you for the positive review and we are so glad you had a chance to enjoy the pool too. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon. Kind Regards, Bill K

Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I was with a group of 20 for a too short visit, arriving late and leaving relatively early the next morning. The rooms are attractive and comfortable, the large, well-lit bathroom made cozier by an overhead heat lamp. the balcony, brightened by a planter of annuals, is relaxing for wine in the afternoon or coffee in the morning. the starbucks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank k w
Bill K, General Manager at Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. We enjoyed your group and glad that you had a nice visit. Please come back again when you have more time and enjoy the dining room (it is amazing) and the grounds. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Bill K

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

I recently visited for a wedding. The property was stunning and the staff were incredibly friendly. The rooms were very clean and properly adorned. Great for family and couples alike. I only had two minor gripes. The gym was laughably bad, don't bother, the machines are ancient and half are broken, so that just leaves free weights (the pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BradleyEss
Bill K, General Manager at Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

We appreciate your taking the time to share your impressions of your recent visit to Berry Hill Resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and enthusiastically recommended us! Darby's Tavern is growing more popular by the week and we have just hired new staff to serve this increased business. Your comments regarding the gym equipment are noted as we...

Virginia
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Spent one night at the Berry Hill Resort while attending a business meeting. I enjoyed my stay, but its not really a place that I would want to visit again. The resort is located outside of a very small town. While having something to do was not a problem during my visit - I would have been very bored in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BankerLady123
Bill K, General Manager at Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review about your visit with us. We agree that there isn't much in the way of razzle dazzle here at Berry Hill. Leisure guests come for the seclusion and relaxing atmosphere. A conference planner appreciates the value received by meeting at a location without distracting from their agenda. We are happy to report that air...

Huntsville
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Food was fantastic. In fact, one of the best steaks I've had at a restaurant in a while. Room was very nice. Grounds look like they could use some work (although, to be fair, the area had not had rain in some time). Overall, a very good place, very good experience. We'll likely consider a return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brasidas6
Bill K, General Manager at Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice comments about your recent stay at Berry Hill. The staff works very hard to provide a wonderful guest experience and it is gratifying to know we are achieving our goal.

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Arrived Friday for a Saturday wedding. Everyone was nice. Hard to locate. Even with GPS it isn't easy. We arrived after dark and hard to see the entrance. Poor signage even after we got there. Only one handicap parking space!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
Bill K, General Manager at Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your visit and apologize for the difficulties you had with signage and parking. We are embarking on some upgrades that will improve our visibility in and around the property. We would love to have you visit again soon!

Lancaster, California
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

While, I really wanted to love this place, (outside of its dark past of owning slaves) I was a bit disappointed. The staff was friendly and helpful, and I must say, an absolute beautiful location...but the entire time of my stay, my room was not cleaned, and I was there for three nights. My first thought was the maid didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VNSmith
Bill K, General Manager at Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are deeply sorry for the housekeeping problem you encountered and appreciate your bringing it to our attention. Unfortunately, mistakes are sometimes made and we use them as staff training opportunities to prevent a recurrence. Please consider a return visit to Berry Hill Resort so we may provide you with the level of efficient hospitality you deserve.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We attended a wedding at the resort. The rooms are beautiful, the food was wonderful when you finally got it. The event coordinator was a real pro, bar staff while understaffed remained smiling and pleasant the entire time. Wish I could say the same about Jonathan our very rude server in the main dining room. It's a shame that one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mglyerly
Bill K, General Manager at Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are pleased you found Berry Hill to your liking but regret the problem you had in the dining room. Our Sunday Brunch is very popular with local residents so at times it can be difficult when a reservation for 4 turns into a party of 9.

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

This place is certainly off the beaten path; however, whatever you have to do to get there or however far you must travel... Do it. This place is unreal: totally secluded and private and relaxing. It has amazing well-appointed rooms and every type of luxury. The staff is so terrific. Wanda Crews in the bar made sure I was taken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mscottasmith
Bill K, General Manager at Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words of encouragement. Our staff enjoyed meeting you and we look forward to your numerous return visits to Berry Hill!

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Boston
4.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston
3.2 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - South Boston
37.4 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 12 in Danville
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.7 km away
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Clarksville
35 reviews
38.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn & Suites
35.7 km away
Hampton Inn Roxboro
Hampton Inn Roxboro
#1 of 3 in Roxboro
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautiful historic plantation surrounded by rustic countryside, blue ponds, and rolling hills. Berry Hill offers the modern amenities of an indoor pool, spa and onsite dining. This is a true escape, a retreat from the day to day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center

Address: 3105 River Rd, South Boston, VA 24592-6011
Region: United States > Virginia > South Boston
Price Range: $124 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Hill Hotel South Boston
Berry Hill Resort And Conference Center
Berry Hill Estates South Boston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Order a fridge when you make your reservation. Bring light bulbs with you.”
 of 5 bubbles joanm852, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a room with a lovely balcony and queen size, comfy bed. You can't go wrong!”
 of 5 bubbles MDShelby, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem to come with curtained four poster beds, hardwood floors and in period furnishings.”
 of 5 bubbles glaswegiangirl, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed the second floor facing the pool house.”
 of 5 bubbles kamokru11, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms are beautiful. check to see if all rooms have a balcony. i know they did on one side.”
 of 5 bubbles 964kw, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay