We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dolphin Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dolphin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 307: English reviews
Start your review of Dolphin Inn
 Click to rate
Culpeper, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

The views are great....oceanfront balconies, and the rooms had a great layout, but...I feel like we didn't get what we paid for, even at $65.00 night (off-season). We were not expecting a 4 star hotel for the great price of a beach front room, but I certainly wasn't expecting mysterious sofa stains, spackle all over the walls, decaf coffee as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For starters don't ever stay at the Dolphin Inn, they couldn't pay me to stay there again. We stayed there 7-8 years ago and our experience was very pleasant. Not the story now..totally different they need a massive makeover very out dated with everything. The rooms are horrible, dirty, furniture falling apart very tacky and old looking. The first room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaze88
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This place is a dump! We stopped at Virginia Beach overnight on our way towards home from a week in Myrtle Beach. Should have kept looking for a different place to stay but it was a Saturday evening, we were tired and hungry. The room on the third floor was dirty and needed a complete remodel. The lock on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nanaof3
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

We understand that you are hesitant to return based on this experience, though we hope to have another chance to impress you in the future. I want to assure you that your comments are being taken seriously, passed onto our staff and addressed through continuous improvements to our accommodations and policies. I hope you'll accept our sincere apologies for the...

Virginia
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Okay so lets start off with I booked online for almost $100 for one night. Arrive at the hotel and the power is out with the fire alarm going off and everyone standing out front. That should've been my sign to leave then. I call the front desk because no one was there to check us in. He tells me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seashelly321
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Dear seashelly321, Your review is greatly appreciated, though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made with the state of our accommodations. I am sorry for any rudeness that you encountered with this situation and I assure you that your comments have been addressed with our entire staff and management team to ensure that no similar...

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

My family and I had to stay at this hotel because the one we booked had somehow lost our reservation. There were no other hotels available, as there was some sort of festival that weekend. We were staying for two nights. It was myself, my husband and four kids( 16, 7 and 10 month old twins). When we pulled up,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Heather W
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your feedback and your comments regarding your stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. Your concerns regarding the level of cleanliness and outdated condition of the facility will be addressed accordingly. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience these issues...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Unfortunately we had to settle with this "motel" as a last minute option. A bit over priced with substandard quality. Needs upgrading badly. Excellent location to the beach with beachfront view from the room. Again, I say it needs lots of renovating, but there may be worse.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plogan0854
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such thorough and revealing feedback. Your concerns regarding the condition of the facility will be addressed accordingly. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Booked with short notice. View and location were fantastic. The room needed many updates, paint was peeling and outdated fixtures. Parking pass for second vehicle was not issued and parking in the provided space was limited and VERY tight. The view from the room was great, although the balcony was closed in with PVC piping not metal railing. Front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi145
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your feedback and your comments regarding your stay. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed to our management. I do thank you for bringing this matter...

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

BEWARE--Enter at your own risk! Feared Hotel California soon after check-in. Elevator line with heavily tattooed guests. Chunky Cubs fan issued warning after exiting from the stairs. "This place is sketchy. Have you seen the stairwell?" Nope, but we'll check it out because God forbid you step onto the elevator. Held my nose on stairwell, but overall not too bad...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Frank W
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reporting this incident you had in the hotel. We are already making reports about this so the management will be informed by this news. We are very sorry about your disappointment but rest assured, your concerns will be highly appreciated to better our services to our dear customers. hope you will forgive this error and the service...

New City, New York
Reviewed 12 August 2016

It's one of the lower-priced beachfront hotel options, and it certainly met expectations. The view was nice, the AC worked, the shower ran, and the doors locked. That being said, parking was difficult and thin walls let noise filter through from outside. Also worth noting, the 1st and 2nd floor rooms are accessible from the parking garage/road. We certainly felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your feedback and your comments regarding your stay. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed to our management. I do thank you for bringing this matter...

Hedgesville, West Virginia
Reviewed 7 August 2016

The only positive thing about this property if the view and you can get that at any hotel on the beach! Even with a do not disturb on the door housekeeping enters the room and you will find money missing. When reported to management we were treated as if we were lying or that we had misplaced the money! The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ashleyartis04
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your assessment of our hotel. I am so sorry that your money was lost or stolen during your most recent stay with us, and I want to assure you that we take the security of our guests very seriously. I assure you that we take such issues very seriously and we are investigating to ensure that there...

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#22 of 109 in Virginia Beach
608 reviews
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
681 reviews
0.3 km away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#32 of 109 in Virginia Beach
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
394 reviews
0.2 km away
The Breakers Resort Inn
The Breakers Resort Inn
#38 of 109 in Virginia Beach
374 reviews
0.5 km away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spacious Comfort Right on the Beach! This Virginia Beach, boutique hotel offers you and your family uncomplicated and uncompromised comfort and warm hospitality at a truly great value. Located at the very heart of the 3-mile long boardwalk, this all suite, all oceanfront property provides space and amenities at an unbeatable location. The Dolphin Inn is the perfect place to experience your special Virginia Beach vacation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Address: 1705 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: $89 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Virginia Beach
Dolphin Virginia Beach
Dolphin Inn Virginia Beach Va
Hotel Style:
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dolphin Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Dolphin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No good rooms here!”
 of 5 bubbles nanaof3, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Possibly the worse hotel I have been to...EVER”
 of 5 bubbles seashelly321, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Beach front Rooms have the perfect view, but over priced for a "Motel". Not the best quality. Motel needs upgrading badly.”
 of 5 bubbles plogan0854, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Perfect for a family of 4 or more”
 of 5 bubbles buttonluver7, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All the room are equally good. Its your choice of the floor though.”
 of 5 bubbles 22varunad, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5