We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 432: English reviews
Anderson, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

To start, I didn't see too many hotels in Va. beach that didn't look a little drab on the outside...it's the coastal weather people. The room was clean inside and comfortable. We had an enjoyable weekend there and the staff was very helpful as well as accommodating. This hotel is not the grand estate that some of you might have... More 

Helpful?
Thank bill w
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2016

I will start by saying that I didn't expect too much for the price, but I am appalled by my experience this past weekend. Checked in late on Friday night and was given a room which had mold all over the carpet....was given another room...which was infested by roaches!!!!!!!! I would have left except it was almost 1am at this... More 

Helpful?
Thank FabHealthyLiving
Roanoke
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Looked dumpy on the outside, but the rooms turned out to be OK...with the exception being that one of our rooms didn't have a shower curtain. Staff was notified, but one never got installed. Parking was a pain. Stay there again in the future? Probably not.

Helpful?
Thank VACaver
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

The room was sufficient for our family stay. However the parking spaces are very tight. You'll definitely end up with dents on your doors. Some ppl doubled parked in order to avoid dents I'm sure, but this made it more difficult to find parking. Beach is right across the street which was nice and beach store was right next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reyna M
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your feedback as a valued guest and thank you for your time in leaving us this review. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our great location with easy access to the beach right across the street! We are lucky to have an excellent location near all of the shops... More 

Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We stayed in an efficiency suite for 8 days, and we were generally satisfied with what we got for what we paid. The room was generally clean (except for the stain on a sheet that was a pretty gross). I will say, however, that we will probably not return. We will spend the extra money and get something nicer next... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom S
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback as a guest! It is nice to hear that the efficiency suite was large enough to accommodate your group. We are very fortunate to have large rooms so you can comfortably enjoy an extended stay with the ability to cook your own... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Older hotel but nice and clean. Small bathrooms and pool. Close to the beach. Staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. Price was good. Convenient to walk to dining. No continental breakfast but plenty of options within walking distance

Helpful?
Thank jdsidle
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your time I'm leaving this review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our cleaning rooms as well as our wonderful location across from the beach. Our staff strives to provide the highest level of customer service available and we are glad to hear... More 

Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We had a problem with another hotel that led us to book this literally last minute (10 minutes before we checked in!), so we were scared of how this motel would be. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but the rooms were extremely nice and quaint. Clean rooms that look recently updated. We had a great view of... More 

Helpful?
Thank erin_place
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and kind words on TripAdvisor! Our guests feedback and opinions are greatly appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and that your room was clean. Thankfully we have a great location right across from the beach which allows us to keep our rates lower but still have a great view... More 

1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

I paid just under $600.00 for 3 nights, the room was dirty, sheets weren't changed, house keeping was all gone for the day, the nice maintenance man got the laundry guy to get us clean sheets which was nice. However, check-in is at 4, how are all your housekeepers all gone already? Something spilled on the wall, the counter was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on trip advisor. Your feedback as a guest is greatly valuable to us! I am sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. We have addressed these issues with our executive housekeeper to make sure that they do not happen again. Unfortunately the housekeepers do leave... More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Plus: Hotel is clean, fridge, blow dryer (wasn't in great shape but at least they had one), able to have packages delivered from amazon, across the street from beach, and there are choices of restaurants nearby Cons: Pool max is 12 (yes 12), a/c wasn't the best but this place is like a motel more than a hotel, yes you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mommy-Traveler-1967
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we greatly appreciate your time in writing this review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our great location across from the beach as well as all our amenities. Unfortunately our pool is not the largest so we can only have as many people as the inspectors say we can, for this I apologize. I... More 

Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016

I have stayed in this motel twice. Both times, the rooms were clean. Granted, it's a small motel, so the bathrooms are small, and the beds are only doubles (king is an option as well), but for the price, I think it's great. Staff was very friendly and let us check in when we got there at 11:30am, as our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy R
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a nice review! We greatly appreciate you taking time to leave us feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff and our rooms. We are a smaller property, however we always do our best to provide you with a wonderful experience here at the Royal Clipper. We hope... More 

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (72)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Double Room (15)
Viewed
King Suite (28)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Northeast Virginia Beach
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#59 of 108 in Virginia Beach
319 reviews
Schooner Inn
#49 of 108 in Virginia Beach
392 reviews
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#54 of 108 in Virginia Beach
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#42 of 108 in Virginia Beach
153 reviews
La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#23 of 108 in Virginia Beach
674 reviews
Belvedere Beach Resort
#6 of 108 in Virginia Beach
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Address: 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Price Range: $107 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Clipper Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Clipper Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Clipper Hotel Virginia Beach
Royal Clipper Motel
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Clipper Inn and Suites staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Toano, Virginia
over a year ago
Osgood, Indiana, United States
4 months ago
Elkton, Maryland

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Clipper Inn and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One can always check the room out before accepting”
 of 5 bubbles billwC2769NT, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good and one block from the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles markmL2391VX, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose 3rd thru 5th floor 308 or up”
 of 5 bubbles nkchs1946, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor and towards the end by the street...you get an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles OceanBrze, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor; better view. Corner rooms less traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles foxhead2015, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay