We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ocean Sands Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Ocean Sands Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ocean Sands Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 313: English reviews
Dale City, Virginia
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The hotel is in an amazing location on the boardwalk with a complete kitchen (dishwasher, full-sized fridge and a combo microwave/convection oven). While the hallways were quite warm and the main elevator was a bit small for the luggage carts (didn't realize there was a freight elevator I should've used), the rest of the hotel is great and I couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ATaylor2020
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank You for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to see that we were able to provide you with a Great Family Vacation. We look forward to hearing from you again soon to plan your next Stay with us.

St. Marys
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

This is by far one of the most awful places I stayed in. The room was dirty. There was dirt on the dining room table and crumbs underneath the table. The refrigerator looked like it hadnt been wiped down in months. Our bathroom was missing the shower curtain. When we called to get the shower curtain, we also asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Baraka w
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip advisor. Your comment are important to us and are being taken into consideration for improvement. I hope you will reconsider and will give us another opportunity to provide you and your family with a Great Family Vacation.

Reviewed 19 August 2016

The location is awesome. It's halfway between the 2nd Street Playground and the end of the boardwalk at 40th Street. It is a location that makes walking to both ends of the strip a breeze. The amenities of the room are fair. No complaints about the microwave, refrigerator, AC, TVs, stoves, and/or couches. Given that the unit is smaller, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShawnNic A
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank You for your recent and fair review of our Resort on Trip Advisor. I assure you the issues are being looked into. This is why we ask for review so we can work on these areas. The small elevator does have a maximum cap. of 5 people and it does seem to get over loaded. We are looking into...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We only stayed for 2 nights. So the breakdown: Customer service: I was greeted by very friendly staff., Check out was quick but I felt rushed, was not given a receipt. Was told that the 100.00 deposit would be applied only for any damages however it was charged out regardless and I am waiting on it to be credited back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlipscomb7
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank You for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for the deposit situation and we are able to provide your bank with a release letter for faster recovery. The other issues are being addressed as well. We did jus put in a new wifi program and are still working on getting the kinks out. I hope...

Eastlake, Ohio
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

What a disappointment to show up tired and ready for vacation only to find nothing but a run down filthy place for you and your family to stay. Should I mention mold on the shower curtain. The buildup of filth due to lack of cleaning efforts. I had to demand they come and clean again while we had to leave....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank allysmygirl
Charles W, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest and recent review on trip advisor. I do apologize for us not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. I assure all issues have been addressed and we are making changes to correct them. I hope you will reconsider and give another opportunity to wow you with our changes and provide you with a...

Moorefield, West Virginia
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Gabby was wonderful. She was so helpful and tried to do everything we asked. Could not have asked anything more!!!! The units were very nice. The new roof on the pool was a really nice improvement and the balconies are great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twshockey
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor Review. Gabby seems to be making a lasting impression on our guest and setting an example for all of our teammates to follow. It was a pleasure to see that she assisted in providing you with a Great Family Vacation Experience. We look forward to hearing from you soon to plan you next...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 7 August 2016

After a seven hour car ride in traffic, and my three-year-old getting extremely, violently carsick....we arrived at Ocean Sands in search of refuge and cleaning supplies to, clean our van and our child's car seat . Specifically, April and Gabby, in the front office/Lobby met us with kind words and provided us with all necessary cleaning supplies in order to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smccarthy2902
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor Review. It was a pure joy to read how my staff (April and Gabby) were able to assist you during your time of need. I hope your trip home was more pleasant. We look forward to hearing from you soon to plan your next Great Family Vacation Experience.

Haddam, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Me and my husband have been coming here for the last 6 Years Place very spacious two bath rooms oceanfront View kitchen area with large refrigerator stove living room and a kitchen table to have breakfast and lunch we eat out for dinner staff very accommodating help me get on the Internet after hour staff came to the room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Welcome back and thank you for the Review on Trip Advisor. What a joy to read that we continue to provide you with a Great Family Vacation each year. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Flushing, New York
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Great location. Unit was small, outdated and needed some maintenance upgrades. Bed was very uncomfortable. The couch needed to be replaced as well. No laundry facilities in unit, but on the floor above or below. The staff was friendly and check in was very smooth. The staff did not pressure you to buy a time share. Again, great location right...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David G
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We do have plans for upgrading our units accessories but at the time we are still recovering from our major construction of our balconies in which we just added last year. Please bear with us and reconsider staying with us again soon. I is always a pleasure providing our Guest with...

Rustburg, Virginia
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Everything was EXCELLENT!! From check in to check out was a BREEZE! The front desk staff could not have been more accommodating. Love the new balconies. GABBY and the girls up front are SUPER!!! Thank you for an amazing trip!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny B
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Reading your review on Trip Advisor was very refreshing. It is always to see one of our team members being mentioned for their outstanding customer service. I am glad to see that we were able to provide you with a Great Family Vacation Experience and I look forward to hearing from you again soo to plan your next adventure.

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#42 of 108 in Virginia Beach
211 reviews
0.2 km away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#28 of 108 in Virginia Beach
861 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#20 of 108 in Virginia Beach
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#60 of 108 in Virginia Beach
268 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 108 in Virginia Beach
292 reviews
1.6 km away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#13 of 108 in Virginia Beach
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Johnny Mananas
Johnny Mananas
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 2207 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3233
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: $118 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Sands Resort staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Sands Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are both full beds. Also check the air system before running it. We opted out not to use it for health reasons but we had good weather that week.”
 of 5 bubbles MacrenaM, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The higher the room the better to spot the dolphins!”
 of 5 bubbles clns0426, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This resort is ideal for families and fun.”
 of 5 bubbles tass127, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“6th floor has laundry and pool”
 of 5 bubbles murphysmom22016, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on a high floor because folks hang out on the boardwalk which makes it a bit uncomfortable to sit on balcony at times.”
 of 5 bubbles MarylanderLaPlata_MD, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay