We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 224: English reviews
Hampton, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is painting over a mural of the military that comprise the largest concentration of military in the world. Why paint over it? You dishonor the people that make VA Beach what it is. Shame on you.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohninVA1963
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Dear JohninVA1963, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience. This issue is being addressed with our staff and management. I hope you'll come back to see how we are growing, improving and evolving through constructive feedback like yours.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Your choice to paint over the military tribute on your building in a military town has inspired me to do everything I can to ensure your hotel receives as much free, bad advertising as possible. I don't care for your hotel, Howard Johnson or any of your affiliates.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean T
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Sean T, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are working hard to address these issues and improve upon the guest experience. I hope that we will impress you with...

Kenly, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristi08232016
OurHotelMGR, Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Norlina
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The hotel needs upgrading. Elevator was dirty. Had to ask for ice bucket. Breakfast was a joke.- 2 slices of plain bread, a banana, coffee, orange juice was broken, fruit loops and Frosted Flakes cereal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie F
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Marie F, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. I do apologize for the lack of family dining opportunities and appreciate your suggestions for improvement and look forward to impressing you during future stays.

Washington, DC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The hotel was adequate but not luxurious. I went there to get away from my day-to-day and unfortunately, Tropical Storm Julia decided that she would also go there! It was a budget hotel but only one block from the beach, which was fine. Sadly, the accommodations were just enough. The bottom of the door was fractured allowing water to collect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don1228
OurHotelMGR, Director of Operations at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing us. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this helps us to determine what we can improve on. I am excited to share with you that because of guests like you, we have decided to expand our breakfast program by Spring of 2017. We can't wait to have you back again soon. Thanks again!

Dumfries, Virginia
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Its been three years since I had a cough because of asthma and I try to stay far away for substances that will create a trigger affect. As soon as I spend a night at this hotel, Howard Johnson, I cough all night long. I had to go to a graduation the next day, I spent coughing. someone left something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank felixc459
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Dear felixc459, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations.I assure you that each issue mentioned is being investigated and addressed and we thank you for taking the time to point out the areas where we can improve upon the guest experience. I...

Reviewed 9 October 2016

When I checked in , I pulled into a motel parking lot. I checked in with an associate who gave me 2 keys and a coupon book. I took my things up to my room on a small dirty elevator. When I got into the room, I was immediately hit with a foul mildew odor. The floor was wet like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atiba w
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Dear atiba w, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! We are sorry to hear that your stay & experience was unpleasant. We do our very best to ensure our rooms & equipment are thoroughly cleaned and maintained. Thank you for bringing this misstep to our attention, as it helps us to improve....

Mancelona, Michigan
Reviewed 29 September 2016

With a title like Howard Johnson Virginia Beach at the beach you would think it was right on the beach....not...it was across the street from the beach. Not much of a breakfast offered. Rooms were nice size and ok but nothing great. Elevator was a little scary. Was charged a resort fee and did not feel like a resort! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborahmX5684II
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Dear deborahmX5684II, Thank you for taking the time to write this review in Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach Hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We greatly appreciate your time in bringing a...

Suitland, Maryland
Reviewed 27 September 2016

It's a nice place to stay when you are on a budget. The place have free parking, internet and close to the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chansamonek
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Dear chansamonek, Thank you so much for your compliments to our free parking and internet I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the value and closed to the beach. We always aim to give you the best value for your money and we are so happy to know that our efforts are well received. We do hope to see...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We thought our rooms were very beautiful and very clean! The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was quiet and perfect for families to enjoy. I had really wanted a beachfront room, but it turns out that being right across the street was perfection! The kids are telling me to share that the TV's are awesome, and we adults...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank titus2fam
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Dear titus2fam, Thank you for giving us the opportunity to recognize our staff for their exemplary work in providing clean and comfortable experience for our valued guests. Our staff is highly trained to give you an exceptional experience, and to provide our customers the best we can offer in a reasonable price. I am glad that we were able to...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Northeast Virginia Beach
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#72 of 108 in Virginia Beach
471 reviews
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#36 of 108 in Virginia Beach
1,797 reviews
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#61 of 108 in Virginia Beach
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schooner Inn
#49 of 108 in Virginia Beach
392 reviews
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#53 of 108 in Virginia Beach
99 reviews
Northeast Virginia Beach
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#59 of 108 in Virginia Beach
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a NON SMOKING HOTEL with all new renovated rooms just opened as Howard Johnson on June 29th 2015. We are only one street over from the virginia Beavh ocean front with a ocean view fron our 6th floor balcony. Many bars and restaurants within walking distance and many outdoor activities nearby. Live bands and concerts are a must see. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach

Address: 512 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3522 (Formerly Flagship Resort Inn)
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: $57 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagship Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Hopewell, Virginia, United States

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get 1st or 2nd floor the elevator is slow”
 of 5 bubbles 190sjd, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors seem to be the best option.”
  • Very colorful.
 of 5 bubbles TaylorAnne34, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Higher up better”
 of 5 bubbles micheals971, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Elevator available”
 of 5 bubbles nichols96, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“Elevator is on side with rooms of a higher number (e.g. 312, 412, etc.)”
 of 5 bubbles EqLiu, 17 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay