We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 236: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach
 Click to rate
Chesterfield, Virginia
Reviewed today NEW

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 856scottv
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewed today NEW

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nyeashae
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I just spent Presidents Day weekend at the Howard Johnson in Virginia Beach. My sister is now suffering from bed bug bites. There was also no hot water for most of the day on Sunday. We eventually were able to take hot showers by Sunday evening . We woke up on Monday (our check out day) and had to take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Greg W, Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. The room was thoroughly inspected the next morning and no bed bugs were found and also the room was rented out, with no further complaints. I want to assure you that we are thoroughly investigating this claim and that although...

Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Howard Johnson used to be the Flagship. They've really improved this hotel. We stayed for a week. We paid about $270 for a week, but breakfast wasn't included. We would have to pay $20 extra if we wanted the breakfast which wasn't anything but cereal, juice, bread or a bagel, and I think maybe a pastry. It was cheap,...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank themixedtape11
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Dear hemixedtape11, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! We strive to give you a great experience, and I am pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in many ways; though I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with our internet connection and breakfast. We appreciate your...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reserved for 4. Bathroom cracked ceiling, filthy, would not even use. Called for service and cleaning staff not available. No coffee, not enough towels, nor pillows enough for all guest. Scary elevator on the premises no state certification. 2 chairs at the pool. Filthy. Moved to another hotel, was told I would have to take my refund to booking company...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hensonsandra2
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Dear hensonsandra2, I am terribly sorry to learn that you experienced so much difficulty during your stay. It is through feedback like yours that we are able to quickly address housekeeping and maintenance issues. The fact that we've failed in this regard is very disheartening. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope...

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

There's no replacement for good planning. We were passing through and tried to find a place in Virgin Beach at the last minute and paid the price. The area is so expensive I imagine because of high demand. We paid $300 to stay here one night and it was simply a place indoors to layout heads. Apparently, the Wyndham bought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WearyInWarwick
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Dear WearyInWarwick, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. It's our primary goal to ensure that you receive the best lodging experience and we wish to let you know that your voice is extremely important to us. We want you to experience...

vb
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Decent.I saw blood stains on the shower curtain that had not been washed.Also, a few other small issues with cleaning..

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaisyPeachLemonaid
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Dear DaisyPeachLemonaid, Thank you for completing our guest satisfaction survey and letting us know about your recent experience at our hotel. I also apologize for the blood stains and any housekeeping issues that you encountered. It is our ultimate aim to impress each guest and your comments and review are very important to us in relation to this goal. I...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The room we reserved was unclean, smelled of stale beer. I was never able to receive compensation; even after calling 4 times for the "manager" Matthew West. I will never stay at a Howard Johnson ever again.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aaroncU1312LQ
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Dear aaroncU1312LQ, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable,...

Greybull, Wyoming
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Let me start with there was a lot of young black adults on floor above us blurting andvspouting obscenity as we walked to room.room smelled like ashtray.internet wrkedvevery 10minutes.definitely worth it not to go cheap rent room somewhere else.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimf2017
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Dear jimf2017, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I am very sorry to hear of the difficulties you experienced with our internet connection and smelled of ashtray, We already informed the management about this already as we see this a serious matter. We promise to be more careful soon as we believe...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#35 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,838 reviews
0.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#76 of 109 in Virginia Beach
477 reviews
0.4 km away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#23 of 109 in Virginia Beach
890 reviews
1.5 km away
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#62 of 109 in Virginia Beach
319 reviews
0.5 km away
Days Inn Virginia Beach at the Beach
Days Inn Virginia Beach at the B...
#48 of 109 in Virginia Beach
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a NON SMOKING HOTEL with all new renovated rooms just opened as Howard Johnson on June 29th 2015. We are only one street over from the virginia Beavh ocean front with a ocean view fron our 6th floor balcony. Many bars and restaurants within walking distance and many outdoor activities nearby. Live bands and concerts are a must see. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach

Address: 512 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3522 (Formerly Flagship Resort Inn)
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: $71 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagship Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Hopewell, Virginia, United States

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get 1st or 2nd floor the elevator is slow”
 of 5 bubbles 190sjd, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors seem to be the best option.”
  • Very colorful.
 of 5 bubbles TaylorAnne34, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Higher up better”
 of 5 bubbles micheals971, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Elevator available”
 of 5 bubbles nichols96, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“Elevator is on side with rooms of a higher number (e.g. 312, 412, etc.)”
 of 5 bubbles EqLiu, 17 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5