We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

838 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 823: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2015

The hotel was nicely located but if you rely on WiFi to surf the web you need not stay here. You can connect but not surf and when you get to surf it will quickly kick you off. I used my cell phone for my needs but my niece and husband needed the Wifi and it was non existent. We... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing about your stay! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our service and your time with us during your stay despite the issues with the internet. We are looking into working on this situation with a new company as soon as possible as we would like to ensure that all guests can enjoy access during... More 

New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2015

I stayed here for couple of days during my Williamsburg trip with family. The hotel is average looking from outside but the service and comfort you get against the price you pay is excellent. The indoor swimming pool is nice and clean. I would recommend this hotel for stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kashyap T
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We try very hard to ensure that all of our guests have the best possible stay while with us. It is great to hear that we were able to provide that for you. Next time you plan on staying in the Williamsburg area, give us a call! We will be more than happy... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 7days. Staff friendly but made several mistakes with reservations took several visits to the front desk to correct it. Breakfast did not have the variety as other Best Westerns. Long lines, small sitting area and equipment that kept breaking made breakfast a frustrating experience. Rooms well kept by house keeping. Musty smell when walked into room but was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gina S
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear that your stay involved a few hiccups. We always strive to enure that all guests have a comfortable, enjoyable stay and will be using your feedback to help us improve in the future. Thanks again and we hope that you give us another chance to provide you with a better... More 

New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2015

My husband and I along with our 3 children recently stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. The hotel was very clean and the staff there was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good with a variety of items to choose from. The staff that worked in the breakfast area always made sure to refill the items before... More 

Helpful?
Thank wendybY4651SA
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such kind words about your stay! It is great to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy your time with us here in Williamsburg. We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to the Williamsburg area! Maris Pantoja Front Office Manager More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Best Western Hotels are usually the only place we stay when going on a trip. I can always expect the rooms to be clean and comfortable. Usually a good breakfast too. This was the first time the mattress was not too good.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank chevygirl16
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as a frequent Best Western guest. We are always striving to provide our guests with a comfortable stay. If you would not mind, please e-mail me at mpantoja@carltonhospitality.com with the name on your reservation as well as the room number if you can... More 

Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

The hotel is quite good, the room is basic fridge but no ice box for refreezing cooler blocks, WI-FI doesn't work in room 113 but if you stand outside it works but very slow even after half hour on phone to tech support

Helpful?
1 Thank astraman1
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing about your stay! We are glad that your stay was an enjoyable one despite the issues with the WiFi during your stay. We are working on improving this for our guests as well as the hotel with a new company in the near future. Thanks again and we hope to see you again on your next... More 

Flushing, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2015

My family (10 of us) came to Williamsburg for a quick vacation. The location of this hotel was great. Close enough to everything the service was excellent, rooms clean and service great. good value for your money

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Laraine H
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! It is wonderful to know that your entire family were able to get together and enjoy their time with us and in Williamsburg. We always strive to provide great service for our guests as well as their families and are thrilled that we met that mark for you. We hope to see you... More 

Anchorage
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. All staff we encounted were very friendly. Had issue with not having our room serviced (we asked to have our trashed dumped and refresh the towels). She had us sign her clip board saying we didn't need full service. Came back later in the day and the trash was still there and all dirty towels.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaVans
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you were able to enjoy your stay despite the small hiccups. We always appreciate the feedback and will keep it in mind as we make changes for the future. We hope to see you again soon! Maris Pantoja Front Office Manager More 

Cumberland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2015

This was a first time trip to Williamsburg. We had a great stay at the hotel. Not the ritz but was clean and welcoming. Staff was very friendly and was in a very convenient spot. If you don't require the ritz then this hotel will do just perfect. A/C worked in rooms and the beds were very comfortable. Would recommend... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Jane S
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such kind words about your stay! We love hearing that our guests enjoyed their time with us. Give us a call next time you plan on staying in the Williamsburg area, we will be more than happy to assist you in making that reservation! Maris Pantoja Front Office Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2015

This hotel is well positioned for the Colonial Historic area , Yorktown and Jamestown as well as numerous eateries. The staff are both friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and well furnished. It is also easily accessible to the nearby freeway.

Helpful?
2 Thank willie173
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all that our great location has to offer. We hope that you choose to stay with us on your next visit to Williamsburg! Maris Pantoja Front Office Manager More 

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (72)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Regular Double Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 79 in Williamsburg
646 reviews
1.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 79 in Williamsburg
946 reviews
0.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the center of Williamsburg. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants. All rooms come with a microwave and refrigerator. Continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn

Address: 201 Bypass Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: $90 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Best Western Williamsburg
Waller Mills Inn
Williamsburg Best Western
Waller Mill Inn Williamsburg Va
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We booked this hotel with a package from Busch Gardens. It was the most economical way to go.”
 of 5 bubbles silvercometgirl, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I think it would be quiet whichever room you are allocated.”
 of 5 bubbles stokerej, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a recently renovated room. Get a room far away from the lobby and elevators.”
  • Large bathroom for wheelchair access but it's in terrible condition.
  • The closet was off-putting.
  • The fridge cabinet was rotting.
  • Close up of the rotting fridge cabinet.
  • Copious dust on top of the door handle.
  • Rusty fixtures.
  • Fixtures were ready to fall out of the wall.
 of 5 bubbles O4564GOjamesm, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in room 107.”
 of 5 bubbles mr2man, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the back, upper floor. They'll ignore your request, however. Best request is for a room in another hotel !!”
 of 5 bubbles DocGary2015, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay