We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Panoramas (23)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

911 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 902: English reviews
Lake Placid, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a seven night stay and I enjoyed every precious minute. Genuine Southern Hospitality was offered by all hotel staff. Ron and Amira, Front Desk Clerks, were always welcoming and accommodating. Darice, the Breakfast Attendant, was friendly and worked very hard to keep the abundant variety of food options well stocked and the tables and service areas were kept...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wanda M
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review

Dear Wanda M, Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. There is a lot to see and do in the area and 7 nights is just the amount of time needed to take in all the sights. We are glad that Amira, Ron and Darice took such great care of you...

Blandon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff at this Comfort Inn were pleasant and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. The continental breakfast was what would be expected, eggs, bacon, yogurt, cereal, etc. Staff kept the food well stocked. I will stay here on our next trip to Williamsburg.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judy D
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review

Dear Judy D, Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Here at Comfort Inn we want our guest to feel REFRESHED and READY to take on the day. We appreciate your business and certainly hope to see you again very soon! Yours in hospitality, David N. Smith

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of if not the best Comfort Inn's we have stayed at. Rooms were clean, staff friendly and helpful. Great Location, close to Busch Gardens (we visited Christmas Town), close enough to our family, and close to food and shopping.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lee P
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review

Dear Lee P, Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that your Holiday Visit was enjoyable and that you found us to be of the best Comfort Inns you've stayed at. We realize there are many hotel options in the area and we appreciate your giving us a chance. Thank you for your business and we hope we...

Jonesboro, Arkansas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is fine. Breakfast is great. But ask for a room AWAY from the workout room. Our room was right next to the gym room and it never closes. We had trouble sleeping due to the weights being thrown up next to our headboards all night. UGH!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CatandTerry
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review

Dear CatandTerry, Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. I'm glad that you found our hotel to be fine and our breakfast to be great. I'm sorry to hear that you had trouble sleeping due to weights being thrown up next to your headboard all night. Your satisfaction is very important to us and although your group...

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 15 January 2017

I have stayed at the Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway since my daughter began school at William and Mary in the Autumn of 2014, so I am something of a regular guest. My family and I are always pleased with the room, breakfast and services and we make sure to convey our appreciation to the staff. This past December, management surprised...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ghanymom1
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review

Dear ghanymom1, Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your loyalty over the years and certainly understand that you have many options of hotels to select from in the area. We are glad that we have become your home away from home whenever you are visiting your daughter at William & Mary. Thank you again for your business and...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 6 January 2017

This hotel felt very clean and recently updated, with modern styling and what seemed to me to be new in-room furniture. The bed was comfortable and our room was quiet even though it was very close to the lobby. We felt like we were definitely getting a good value for the suite we ended up getting (we were expecting just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JtravelsDC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review

Dear JtravelsDC, Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are pleased that you found our hotel to be at a great value. We are one of the newest hotels in the area and central to all of the major attractions. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast. We do have a variety of yogurt including greek...

Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This was new Year's Eve so it was sold out. The room was very distinctively decorated, very nicely. Perfectly clean and pleasant. The hallways were noisy in the morning - not surprising for the volume of people but the sound seemed to travel. Missed breakfast so cannot comment :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review

Dear Amy A, Thank you for taking time out to let us know about your experience with us. We are pleased to learn that you found us not to be your average Comfort Inn! We realize there are many options of hotels in Williamsburg and we want to stand apart, not only from the other Comforts but from all other...

Bolingbrook, Illinois
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Stayed here for 4 nights over the holidays. Our room was clean and comfortable, although I wonder why there were no towel bars in the bathroom, only two hooks for towels, which makes it unlikely that guests who stay there more than one night will want to re-use their towels. One day our towels were changed but housekeeping did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robin02907
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review

Dear robin02907, Thank you for taking time out to let us know about your stay. We are glad that you found our hotel to be at a good value! When the hotel was purchased and renovated, the one thing that we lacked was space for towel bars. Sorry if you were inconvenienced by not having those. We are sorry to...

Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 4 January 2017

This was a very busy time in Williamsburg, as I understand, much busier than usual. Staff was friendly. Breakfast average but typical. Room had a few issues which I now know were fixed after we left. Having no hot water in the entire hotel our second day was very annoying. I am supposed to e getting a small refund in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peggy S
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review

Dear Peggy S, Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. Our team strives for a perfect five rating and we see we have failed you. We know we can't change the past but would certainly love another opportunity to show you that we...

VA
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Rooms have been recently redone. However, some are already showing signs of wear such as paint being missing in some spots and marks on walls. Decent breakfast but not as complete as some other Comfort Inns.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScotVA
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review

Dear ScotVA, Thank you for taking time out to share your recent experience. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us. Sorry to hear that the room you stayed in showed signs of wear. Please email me at dsmith@hmphotels.com so that I can look into which room you stayed in. If you could also let me know...

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (154)
Viewed
2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Suite (42)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (27)
Viewed
Standard King Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
6.4 km away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 76 in Williamsburg
666 reviews
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 76 in Williamsburg
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the new Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway! Get in touch with a slice of history while basking in southern hospitality at the Comfort Inn(R) Williamsburg Gateway hotel in Williamsburg, VA near Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Our non-smoking family hotel in Williamsburg puts guests within steps of popular attractions like: Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Williamsburg Premium Outlets, William and Mary, and Williamsburg Winery Get going with a great breakfast. Start your trip to Williamsburg with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Soak up the sun on our patio deck or take a dip in our oversized seasonal outdoor pool. You can also break a sweat in our 24-hour fitness center or take care of family needs in our guest laundry facilities. All guest rooms offer a coffee maker, desk, sitting area, microwave, refrigerator, iron and board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper, in-room tea and coffee and kitchenette. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway

Address: 331 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Days Inn Historic Area)
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: $92 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Days Inn Colonial
Days Inn Williamsburg Virginia
Days Inn Historic Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#2 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I always request an upper level room to enjoy the view. Hotel is very accommodating.”
 of 5 bubbles 892wandam, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Close to I-64 for travel”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“End of the hall for quiet”
 of 5 bubbles AmyA91, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best location”
 of 5 bubbles tongchais2016, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher number rooms on each floor will put you farther from the lobby, with fewer people walking past your doors.”
 of 5 bubbles youthtripplanner, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5