We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fort Magruder Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Fort Magruder Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fort Magruder Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 390: English reviews
Christiansburg, Virginia
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I attended a conference in Blackstone, VA and I couldn't miss the opportunity to drive on to Williamsburg for a mini vacation. The hotel was recently renovated and I was pleasantly surprised at the beautiful decor. The room and bathroom were very clean with plush towels and a very comfortable bed. A hot buffet breakfast was served in the beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen_Young813
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments on your stay with us here at the Fort Magruder Hotel and come back again and stay with us longer to enjoy all our amenities!

Reviewed 6 June 2014

The room was wheelchair accessible but the elevators were a little small. Staff was very helpful and very friendly. A little out of the way for the main attractions in Williamsburg but still within a reasonable distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment on your recent stay with us and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms. With historic Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens minutes away from us, we have a great location as well! Please return when you can!

Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have family in Williamsburg so I stay in town a lot, and this Hotel was by far the best...Hands Down. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was spacious. They think of the little obvious things like a refrigerator and microwave in the room. The staff was awesome, Angela in the sales department was a pure delight to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tobias G
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments on your stay here in Williamsburg while visiting family. We strive to be part of the treasured memories during special occasions that bring families to Williamsburg! We look forward to hosting your visit back soon!

Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I went here on a group trip. I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable and nicely decorated the room was. My a/c wasn't working right when I first arrived, but one phone call to the front desk and a staff member was there to fix it within 5 minutes. The staff, overall, were friendly and helpful. It's a great location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tintagelviews
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful comments on our hotel and your stay with us. We work hard to make sure every guest enjoys a wonderful experience at the hotel. We look forward to bringing you back to Williamsburg soon!

West Chester, PA
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just stayed here for a Church Conference and found it comfortable and accomodating. One drawback is that it is not within close walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg. I had to take a cab into the main part of the Williamsburg town business district and that was a little bit $$. The beds were very comfortable, the food was great. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libtravlr09
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments concerning your stay with the ladies conference last weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed all the remarkable ladies that we met that do such great work! We look forward to the next opportunity to have your conference return.

Herndon, Virginia
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is so-so. We booked it last minute under Priceline's name your own price for about $100. They say they've recently renovated; it's obvious most of the money went into the lobby. Speaking of the lobby, it was hard for us to find. Apparently everyone parks behind the hotel, even thought the front has a huge parking lot. Check...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cinderella921
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments from your recent stay with us. We make every effort to ensure that each guest has enjoyable experience with us.

Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We paid only $65/night on a last minute booking due to issues with another hotel. For what we paid we couldn't be more pleased. This hotel has everything from indoor pool to a bar and even room service. Each room opens up to a balcony or porch, the rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable. Perhaps the best thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andboom
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your wonderful comments on our hotel and staff here at the Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center. We look forward to having you back our guest again on your next trip!

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent in every way...from staff to accommodations. The breakfast buffet was nothing less than a feast. Colonial Williamsburg, the reason for our visit, was an easy walking distance (and hubby and I are 83 and 69, respectively), a decided plus for us as we did NOT want to fuss with parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments on your recent stay and our great breakfast buffet in our dining room. As you mentioned, we have a great location to Colonial Williamsburg!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed while visiting williamsburg. Clean....you can tell it was a very plush hotel at one time. They are renovating rooms and we had one that was very nice. They ran out of towels one night because they had a full hotel and couldn't keep up. But towels were delivered as soon as they had them ( hot from dryer loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Momsafreak
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We hope that you enjoyed a wonderful weekend and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to host your visit to Williamsburg! Please come back to visit us soon and watch our for some great packages on our website throughout the coming months.

Reviewed 27 May 2014

So happy I did not cancel our reservations after reading some bad reviews of this hotel. What a wonderful weekend this was. We celebrated our 39th Anniversary and upon arrival on Friday we were pleasantly greeted by Wendy Stein who could not be more accommodating. So I could not understand the front desk complaints in previous reviews and this was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rosie1030
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Congratulations on 39 years! We appreciate the opportunity to have you as our guest during this special occasion!

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.9 km away
Clarion Hotel Historic District
Clarion Hotel Historic District
#61 of 76 in Williamsburg
332 reviews
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
0.6 km away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
0.9 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#44 of 76 in Williamsburg
89 reviews
2.0 km away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#50 of 76 in Williamsburg
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center is beautifully set in a wooded area and landscaped around the site of an original redoubt from the Battle of Williamsburg of 1862. The Hotel is conveniently located only minutes away from Historic downtown Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William and Mary, 2 miles away from beautiful Busch Gardens and 3 miles away from Water Country USA. The four-story hotel comprises of 303 guest rooms and Suites and 26,000 square feet of meeting/exhibit space. The hotel offer an array of features and amenities including a heated indoor pool with hot tub, Fitness Center, Complimentary Business Center, Complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet Service and Pet Friendly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fort Magruder Hotel

Address: 6945 Pocahontas Trail, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Williamsburg)
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: $105 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Magruder Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fort Magruder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fort Magruder Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fort Magruder Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms had good views.”
 of 5 bubbles Lady8577, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you are looking for privacy...don't worry...no other guests are in the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulCKelly, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check for mold in the shower before unpacking and secure your valuables”
 of 5 bubbles 566ziggyw, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the outdoor pool's courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles lapearl521, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“get there early parking is limited”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay