We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fort Magruder Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Fort Magruder Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

385 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fort Magruder Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 385: English reviews
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed 18 May 2014

If you are traveling with a tour bus, this hotel would be suitable. It is close to Williamsburg attractions with a large atrium to gather and an onsite restaurant. For all other travelers - BEWARE. Tour buses load into and out of this hotel at all hours. We experienced tour groups loading near our hotel windows, congregating outside the elevators,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan_Harringt0n
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your recent comment concerning your stay with us at the Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center. We do have the opportunity to host several student groups that visit Williamsburg as part of their school curriculum. We do choose to work with only the most reputable companies over the years. I hope that we will consider staying with us...

Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Bought a travelzoo certificate and tried to make a reservation for a week. Called every day and left messages both with the person listed on the certificate and the front desk. Kept getting voicemail and no returned phone calls. Finally gave up and returning the certificate. If the hotel can't even hire people that can help you reserve a room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roman S
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response concerning our Travelzoo promotion. We experienced an overwhelming response to our great promotion and apologize for the inconvenience of returning calls on a timely manner. We hope that you will make a reservation with Travelzoo and utilize our wonderful offer to visit us before August 31, 2014.

Gig Harbor, Washington
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed here about two weeks ago with some friends and we got to the hotel late and checked in and got to our room. So we look around our room and it was dirty, there was mold growing in the shower and the ceiling was falling down. Then the next day we had to somewhere at 7:45am and asked...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bob Q
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We apologize with the issues you encountered and hope that you will come back to stay with us again, when the opportunity arises and give us the chance to show you again our wonderful hotel!

King George, Virginia
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Check in staff was not the best. I reserved a king bed and I stayed there for 4 days. They refused to change my room, even thought everyday the hotel would empty out. Buffet breakfast was not anything special. Bar staff was the best, very friendly and competent . She went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable, just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnd0528
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments about your check-in process and apologize with your inconvenience of the check-in process. We have recently hired several new guest relations desk staff and are in the middle of the training process. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to be our guest and experience a smoother check-in at the front desk along with...

Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I'm not sure how it can get worse than NOT HAVING A ROOM! Thats what I, as well as many other families were told. To be more specific when check in came I was told that it was a busy morning and a large group left and my room was not ready. HUH??? What about us travel weary folks checking...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank madkensmom
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. We hosted many families during this week for spring break and they were having fun. We hope that you will give us another opportunity and come be our guest.

Maryland, U.S.A.
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here one night -- a Saturday night -- and arrived about 7:00 p.m. The night we checked in there was a disconnect with third party (Expedia, Priceline, etc.) reservations. Since we had booked through Priceline, they could not find our reservation. We waited more than an hour to get a room, and only because we insisted on showing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ReluctantTraveler
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your comment on your recent stay with us and your experience during the check-in process. Your comments have been discussed with the rooms division manager. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodations with us and to experience our beautiful courtyard overlooking our dining area. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to experience our great...

Germantown, Maryland
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Should be 3.5 Stars. Good location, clean room, a few good bonuses for the price (heated indoor pool/jacuzzi and fitness room). I was very pleased staying there. Hotel staff was very friendly. Quick check in process. Hotel is a little worn and could use a refresher, but overall was very pleased with the staff. My family goes to Williamsburg about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pshuster72
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the opportunity to have you as our guest. We are excited that you plan to come back and stay with us. We appreciate your business while visiting Williamsburg!

Appomattox, Virginia
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Booked this hotel through priceline, as every hotel in Williamsburg was slammed and expensive due to spring break being a peak time. (Take that into account when reading the recent reviews about overbooking.) We checked in at around 4:30 in the middle of the week and only waited a few minutes. Some of the rooms have been renovated, and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda R
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! Please come back and stay again on your next trip to Williamsburg! We appreciate your business.

Port Perry, Canada
Reviewed 18 April 2014

After booking 4 rooms and driving 13 hours with 8 Adults and 9 kids we were looking forward to relaxing at this hotel. We thought we were smart with booking online and pre ordering pizza when we got close. What a mistake.......we waited in line at the lobby for 1.5 hours just to be told they could not find our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris F
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We hope there will be another opportunity to give us another try and come be our guest here in Williamsburg.

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I was incredibly frustrated by my experience with this hotel. I booked it through Priceline for a reasonable price but the experience was not worth the bargain. We arrived promptly at 4pm only to wait roughly 30 minutes to be told our room was not ready because they had been at maximum capacity the previous night and guests had not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank EhPick27
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your comment about your check-in experience. Your concerns have been discussed with the appropriate department and will be addressed. We hope that you will give us another chance to experience our wonderful service, great staff and hotel.

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.9 km away
Clarion Hotel Historic District
Clarion Hotel Historic District
#59 of 79 in Williamsburg
323 reviews
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
0.6 km away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#46 of 79 in Williamsburg
477 reviews
0.9 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#42 of 79 in Williamsburg
89 reviews
2.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center is beautifully set in a wooded area and landscaped around the site of an original redoubt from the Battle of Williamsburg of 1862. The Hotel is conveniently located only minutes away from Historic downtown Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William and Mary, 2 miles away from beautiful Busch Gardens and 3 miles away from Water Country USA. The four-story hotel comprises of 303 guest rooms and Suites and 26,000 square feet of meeting/exhibit space. The hotel offer an array of features and amenities including a heated indoor pool with hot tub, Fitness Center, Complimentary Business Center, Complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet Service and Pet Friendly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fort Magruder Hotel

Address: 6945 Pocahontas Trl, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4759 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Williamsburg)
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: $104 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Magruder Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Fort Magruder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fort Magruder Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fort Magruder Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check for mold in the shower before unpacking and secure your valuables”
 of 5 bubbles 566ziggyw, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the outdoor pool's courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles lapearl521, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“get there early parking is limited”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to browse the property for the civil war memorabilia and visit the civil war redoubt in the center.”
 of 5 bubbles JTChase336, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Since its under renovation always best to ask to see your room first when checking in”
 of 5 bubbles JZRIV, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay