We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Historic Powhatan Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Historic Powhatan Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,875 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,865: English reviews
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

If you can snag a recently renovated unit, you will be delighted with this resort! Roomy and comfortable with a well-equipped kitchen, the 2 bedroom units even have a nice fireplace in the comfy great room. Each bedroom has its own big bathroom. The resort has great pools, including one for adults only-a real plus. The mini golf course is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jean c
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The property is in the process of being renovated. My unit was not. When I arrived I had to have housekeeping come in duets a stale odor in the unit. When I returned it H ad been resolved. The location is quiet and secure. I did not visit the recreation facility but the teenagers with my family did so (swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeana J
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A friend that owns a timeshare invited a few of us down for the weekend. I hadn't been to Williamsburg in at least 10 years, and didn't remember much about it. She'd arrived a few days earlier, so she had done all the grocery shopping by the time we arrived. The unit was very nice: clean, well-appointed for our needs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoyceInDC
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have visited Powhatan Resort many times. I love that it has a separate pool for adults only, and that it is convenient to the many attractions of Williamsburg. I usually stay in a ground floor one bedroom unit. These used to have a hot tub room which we always enjoyed, but they have rmoved the hot tubs now and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cllindse
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very disappointed by the resort fee of $77.00. We did not use any of the amenities during our stayed because we commuted daily to Norfolk to take care of personal business and the weather. I spoke with several people in management and requested the fees waived with no success. I will not stay at this resort again because it did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Waxahachie, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We often trade our timeshare in Florida for units elsewhere in the country. After 13 years this has to be the most well kept unit we've stayed in. We had guests coming later in the week and arranged for them to stay in the lock out unit above us. One day while it was being cleaned after the last guests...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Patrick T
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

As a first time guest to The Historic Powhatan Resort, your feedback means so much to us. We are honored to have had the opportunity to share in your vacation, and I am truly pleased to know that the team demonstrated the meaning behind We Love to Say Yes®.

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This has a very nice property layout. There's a lot to do on the grounds for the kids and adults. They have a local grocery store, bar/restaurant,new coffee house, indoor/ out door pool and outdoor activities. Full kitchens and great staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kdkw410
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Historic Powhatan Resort in the future!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you don't want the sound of footsteps clomping over your head all day and night, then do stay on a top floor. I've stayed here many times with my family, and love the grounds, love the swimming pools, and most of the people who work here are really very nice and dedicated.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChristopherOnTheMove
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Awesome accommodations. Down size of the trip, was a lot of olde town shops and trades of Williamsburg were closed for the season during the week we had scheduled our vacation. A plus was the nearby grocery and retail stores.

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
 Report
Helpful?
Thank smsgtshearet
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great Resort ! Quiet and well maintained It is very near James Town and Old Williamsburg just off Montecello Rd and close to many good places to shop! Till recently each place had a wood fireplace but they are converting to Electric which is not as Romantic! ! Staff is very helpful and do not be afraid to ask the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrmom46
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Historic Powhatan Resort in the future!

1,150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (876)
Viewed
Room/Suite (278)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (131)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (328)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (261)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Children's Pool (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (1)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Condo (148)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.6 km away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
5.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 76 in Williamsburg
974 reviews
7.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
5.5 km away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 76 in Williamsburg
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2442
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: $97 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Historic Powhatan Resort staff and other travellers.
51 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (51)

Questions? Get answers from The Historic Powhatan Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would recommend the ground floor if you have children.”
 of 5 bubbles 273jeanaj, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All views are good, this is no like Las Vegas it's more comfortable and relax back yard scenery. Quiet and some locations have lake views.”
 of 5 bubbles kdkw410, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“no elevators try to get a ground floor ! But young folks will like the upstairs rooms which are very nice!”
 of 5 bubbles mrmom46, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“This is a full resort so hard to tell where best rooms are.”
 of 5 bubbles sandrapV2821VE, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the second (top) floor are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles bobe808, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5