Sun Retreats Birch Bay

Sun Retreats Birch Bay

Traveller (2)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

1.5
#5 of 5 campsites in Blaine
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
If you love wilderness at its prime, Sun Outdoors Birch Bay has everything you need for your next getaway to Washington State. With an outstanding location in Blaine, near the gorgeous Birch Bay area, there's plenty for the whole family to enjoy. Plan a visit to Birch Bay State Park for a day of fun on the water with boating, canoeing and kayaking, paddle boarding, fishing, clamming and more. Another must-see attraction you won't want to miss is the Peace Arch, which sits on a dual-international park shared between the United States-Canada border. Have your next adventure in Washington and book your trip at Sun Outdoors Birch Bay today. Ways to stay: RV sites, Tent sites, RV Vacation Rentals.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Tennis court
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot bath
Self-serve laundry
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:25% Christmas in July Sale
3Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Marsha H wrote a review Jan 2024
Ferndale, Washington
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We are previous Beachwood memebers, 30 year's plus. Under Beachwood, we could secure a specific site as long as it was vacant for the period of time that we asked for. Under Sun Retreats, we could not reserve any site, it was assigned, which was a mud bog, not one of the redone beautiful sites that was open and was in an all ready occupied area, other RV's. The site assigned was where the workers were camped, not a normal site. Very disappointing, yes, what has been done in the way of an upgrade to the RV sites is wonderful, although, scrubs and trees have been removed and leaves room for very little outdoor privacy. Adult pool was closed, one bathroom available in the "C" section. big adjustment
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MB SunRVResorts, Owner at Sun Retreats Birch Bay
Responded Jan 19, 2024
Hi Marsha, Thank you for being a part of the resort family for the past three decades. We appreciate your patience last summer while we did a complete reconstruction of all of our sites. During this time, we had to be flexible with site assignments according to which areas were under construction. We are pleased to announce that all sites are completed and guests can now lock in their site selection if they choose. The newly renovated adult pool will also be open again this season. We think you will love the improvements, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dianne L wrote a review Jun 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
🚫 Founder Lots becoming a “Residential Trailer Park” 🚫
Pre Exsisting Contract Terms & Rules ignored by new owner Sun RV.
24 hour Security Terms Broken, reduced Security hours, Private Memberships have gone Public use. Theft and break ins are now rampant. No night Security.

Many people live “permanently Full Time” on the Founder Recreational Lots
No Enforcement Action whatsoever over many years.
Drive through Founder Section...you can definitely see for yourself.
Maybe we all should move in permanently....why not.
Sun RV Resorts, Beachwood could Risk Losing “Recreational” Status,
Gaining “Residential Trailer Park” Status
Clearly that would be a huge Tax burden $$$ for Land owner, not the Founders.
Surely Wa. State Attorney General could help & assist in enforcing compliance,
This issue has fallen on Deaf ears with the previous land owner.
It’s watch n see time....if diligent enforcement will be carried out by the new owner, Sun RV.
Members Contracts clause & Rules state “no permanent residents allowed” yet it continues.

➡️ If Sun RV wants to maintain “Recreational Status” -
Each Founder by State Law, cannot Exceed 180 day stay in a calendar year.

Understood, ⚠️Where is the enforcement❓..THERE IS NONE⚠️

The Gate Card shows in / outs, for founders, the electricity use is a big clue,
Some Full time Residents have been there soooo long there Contract gives Free Electricity,
so have gone & installed out door hot tubs even 2 freezers, Washer & Dryer ....
Beachwood Resort Sun RV , Administration & Security KNOWS who the Full Time Residents are....
and it’s increasing!

⚠️“Sun RV must apply its due diligence enforcement of the Rules and Enforce Contract Terms⚠️

Every night of the year same cars, lights on, tv on...
Let’s hope Sun RV, complies with aggressive enforcement of the load they inherited.
Wishing Sun RV best of luck, and a prosperous future ahead.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen B wrote a review Jun 2023
Mountlake Terrace, Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This review is regarding the RV side of this camp, not the semi-permanent founders side.
This is no longer Beachwood. Bought by an out of state company which is not in tune with Northwest camping, sites are sanitized of trees and shrubbery which provide privacy. As their main corporate business is transient visitors, previous (& current) members are not priority: we were told at the entry that there will be no newsletter and no activities scheduled.
LODGING
Despite company statements and pictures in their summary, ALL rental trailers have been removed from their previous sites, serving workers instead of members or guests. Their vision sees uniform & centralized utility and water hookups, leading the sites to appear visually smaller row after row.
CLOSED
Work on the camp continues. Whole camping sections G, H & tenting, the youth clubhouse and the adult pool & both spas are still closed.
NEARBY
At the south end of the camp, a fully equipped general store offers what you may have forgotten alongside sushi and sake. Of course lovely Birch Bay and the State Park waterfront are nearby. And the ice cream & sweets "C" shop is just down the hill!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: No rentals available despite company pictures and statements to the contrary. The sewer hookups...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MB SunRVResorts, Owner at Sun Retreats Birch Bay
Responded Jun 28, 2023
Hi Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. As a Sun Retreats property, we primarily serve long-term and seasonal campers. We apologize for the inconvenience while we repair and upgrade existing sites; sections of the property will be temporarily closed while water and electricity are turned off to those areas. We can assure you that we have not reduced the site size, but we have added an island between sites to delineate your space and keep neighbors from encroaching on your site. We appreciate your patience during the renovations and hope you'll check back in the future to see the improvements!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Stephen B wrote a tip Jun 2023
Mountlake Terrace, Washington3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"No rentals available despite company pictures and statements to the contrary. The sewer hookups have been moved in, requiring more planning."
Read full review
Write your review
What was your hotel experience like?
Write a review
Share your best travel photo
Let the world see your hotel experience through your eyes.
Get quick answers
Ask fellow travellers and hotel staff your top questions.
Ask a question
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Blaine area.
LOCATION
United StatesWashingtonBlaine
NUMBER OF ROOMS
286
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Sun Retreats Birch Bay - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Sun Retreats Birch Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Sun Retreats Birch Bay?
Nearby attractions include Birch Bay State Park (0.8 km), Birch Bay Waterslides (3.5 km), and Point Whitehorn Marine Park (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sun Retreats Birch Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Is parking available at Sun Retreats Birch Bay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sun Retreats Birch Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bob's Burgers & Brew - Birch Bay, The C Shop Candy Shop, and The Beach at Birch Bay & Boardwalk Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sun Retreats Birch Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Sun Retreats Birch Bay?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Sun Retreats Birch Bay?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lochiel School (14.0 km).
All Blaine HotelsBlaine Hotel DealsHotels near Sun Retreats Birch Bay
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars