We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

China Beach Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
China Beach Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's hard to give this property an accurate rating since it is not at all what we expected when booking the Shelburne Inn which we got kicked out of after management overbooked. I would advise to first visit this property during the day. At night if no one else has been there, it's very dark and secluded. Our room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelsey N
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Day 3 of a wonderful getaway to the idyllic Audubon Cottage on China Beach. So peaceful and quiet (during the day you can hear traffic notice from the road above the cottage). 3 days has not been too long to wind down, relax, watch the herons and cormorants in the marsh, and ride our bikes through the magnificent park and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ingle
Lakebay, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Wow! I finally booked the Audobon Cottage. I have saved it for YEARS as the place I wanted to take the oman of my dreams. After all, the perfect woman deserves a perfect honeymoon cottage!!! As it turned out I accidentally booked it during the kite festival so we got an added bonus attraction, But first let me dispel any... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg A
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

My husband and I just spent our 21st Anniversary at the Audubon Cottage. We have stayed at the Shelburne Inn in the past and had been wanting to try out China Beach Retreat for some time. We were not disappointed- what a peaceful and relaxing settling! The cottage was lovely and the attention to detail in the craftsmanship was so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Felicia G
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2015

After reading all the glowing reviews of this place we had high hopes about it. We were looking forward to a few relaxing days near the beach. Well, that didn’t happen. We rented the quite expensive Audubon cottage at China Beach which looked good in the photos. The cottage is in quite a nice location with views of the marsh.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anke1234
Coast14, Owner at China Beach Retreat, responded to this review

We're truly sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay at the Audubon Cottage. We have shared your review with our staff and though no one detected the smells you describe, we have taken special effort to air the cottage after reading your comments. Also, sorry if our response was not as timely as you had anticipated. It is... More 

Boise
Level Contributor
175 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I had purchased a two night stay at this picturesque inn through Living Social. My wife and I were the only two staying in the main house which was really nice since we had the entire common area all to ourself. The room we had, the Sacajawea, was beautifully decorated, as is the entire house, and provided fantastic views of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank durf1
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We spent two nights in the main house. Lovely view, nice deck for bird watching, reading a book, sipping wine, etc. Location is very convenient for hiking in Cape Disappointment State Park. My only complaint is the seating downstairs in the main house is horrendous -- one comfortable chair but the couch and other two chairs are totally broken down.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LOVEMYPT
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had a relaxing time here with a storm and the lots of sunshine. See our sunrise photo of Baker Bay taken Nov 20 2013. The house is 5 minutes from town but very quiet and remote. No TV in the main house which was ok for a few days.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We enjoyed a night in the Audubon Cottage during a stormy weekend in September. This is a unique, well executed lodging experience on the edge of North America. The house itself is a beautiful little architectural gem, with top quality wood working, tile, appliances, and modern, comfortable amenities. Everything worked as advertised, and we found the property and the staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pendrake
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had the best time at the China Beach Retreat. Great beds, spectacular view and even a sunny day! Gourmet breakfast at the Shelburne Inn - wonderful with fresh picked wild mushrooms gathered by the friendly Innkeeper. Will be returning in the winter hopefully to sit in the living room and watch a storm roll in.

Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa F

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilwaco
19.3 km away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,114 reviews
22.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
19.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 km away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#8 of 14 in Astoria
588 reviews
0.7 km away
Inn at Harbour Village
3.6 km away
Shelburne Inn
Shelburne Inn
#1 of 1 in Seaview
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about China Beach Retreat

Address: 222 Robert Gray Dr SW, PO Box 537, Ilwaco, WA 98624-9165
Region: United States > Washington > Ilwaco
Price Range: $188 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your China Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from China Beach Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All suites at China Beach retreat are waterfront with spectacular views. The Audubon House is by far the best for privacy and charm.”
  • Downstairs sitting area
  • Kitchenette
  • Downstairs powder room
  • Bedroom - lots of light - windows on 3 sides
  • Spacious bedroom
  • View from upper balcony
  • Upstairs bathroom
  • Upstairs bathroom
 of 5 bubbles Ingle, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“really check out the room information on the net--each room is different and unique”
 of 5 bubbles grega992, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Stayed in the Audubon Cottage, which is completely private. The adjacent China Beach cottage also looked nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Pendrake, 29 Sep 2013 | Read review
“This is definitely for people who want solitude and beauty. It's very close to Ilwaco, Long Beach, and the attractions, but it's super calm and quiet once you get there. We loved it, but we are more for the peaceful vibe, so this was perfect!”
  • Our view from the front porch.
 of 5 bubbles Sixthman, 30 Dec 2012 | Read review
“All of the 3 rooms are lovely. Downstairs is a suite with a bit more space.”
 of 5 bubbles Jwarner521, 23 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay