We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Montvale Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Montvale Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Montvale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 67: English reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

But their Wi-Fi is not strong, fades in and out. And a safety bar in the shower would be a nice addition Friendly staff. Very nice room Within walking distance of fun shopping and eating options. I felt comfortable there as a solo traveller.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
Anny G, General Manager at The Montvale Hotel, responded to this review

Julie R, Thank you for your thoughtful review and helpful feedback! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our location and felt comfortable and secure staying with us! We apologize our wifi did not meet your expectations, we'll be checking the connection with our provider. We look forward to welcoming you back! Warmest regards

Reviewed 7 December 2016

When I think of boutique hotels its usually London Paris or New Orleans, as there older cities that held on to the past and restored the beauty. This hotel in downtown Spokane has this quality, very well done restoration, holding onto the past yet modern in all the right amenities. The second floor common area is exceptional with a fireplace,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
Anny G, General Manager at The Montvale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil S, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us! We've done our very best to highlight the charm of the Montvale to make it a comfortable and memorable place for our guests to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Warmest regards

tripfan2885
Reviewed 21 November 2016

I have stayed at the Montvale Hotel many times in the past and always considered it to be old, dusty, stodgy, out of date. The hotel has gone through a recent ownership change and renovation which, I believe, has improved nearly every aspect of the hotel. Gone are the days of no on-site parking, no continental breakfast, lack of electrical...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripfan2885
Anny G, General Manager at The Montvale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tripfan2885, Thank you for your thoughtful review and your perspective on the renovations! Our aim is to restore the tasteful elegance of the Montvale while providing our guests with modern amenities such as updated televisions and onsite dining options. It is true all of our deluxe rooms and suites come standard with a microwave and mini fridge! We look...

Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

We spent a night in the presidential suite. It was spacious but cozy with the fire place and comfy couch. Spent Time in the jacuzzi tub with a good book. A great place for a romantic getaway. Hope to visit again soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skippermama
Anny G, General Manager at The Montvale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Skippermama, Even for an overnight stay our presidential suite is certainly the ideal place to spend a romantic evening. From the jetted tub to the fire place, this corner suite's view on downtown Spokane is hard to beat. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! All our very best

Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Beautiful classic restored hotel within walking distance to food drinks and entertainment. The rooms have big comfy beds and although the room itself is historical the ammentiries are quite modern. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax the Montvale is your place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
Anny G, General Manager at The Montvale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Doug S, Thank you for your thoughtful review! Our goal is to honor the rich history of the building while providing our guests will all the modern luxuries of a boutique hotel. We are excited to welcome you back on your next visit to the area! All our very best

Gray Creek, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 11 November 2016

We needed a room for a few hours, flying in too late to get across the border back home to Canada. This place feels great. The high ceilings give you a feeling of additional square footage and spaciousness, and the over vibe is fantastic. A vintage building, with all the charm of heavy solid wood doors, trim, etc., and wonderfully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michella M
Anny G, General Manager at The Montvale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michella M, We are so pleased you chose to stay with us! Thank you for such a thoughtful review! Our building definitely has some unique characteristics having been built in 1899. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Spokane! Warmest regards

Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

My friend and I were looking for a place to stay while in spokane for a concert at the knitting factory. The towers where I normally stay was booked, so I chose the Montvale. I am glad I did it was a beautiful old motel with alot of character. The parking was not so good and the train noise was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TripMember121020141
Anny G, General Manager at The Montvale Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! The building's rich history definitely yields a lot of character. We are happy you chose to stay with us an hope to welcome you back in the future! All our very best

Reviewed 4 November 2016

Room was great, I slept great and it was very clean. We brought our dogs with us since we had to be gone for a few days and the staff was great with them. Location is easy access to downtown, the park, mall and lots of great restaurants. Staff is friendly and helpful and the building is beautiful. Will stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cailin G
Anny G, General Manager at The Montvale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cailin G, Thank you for your thoughtful review! We are so pleased to hear you and your furry family members enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! All our very best, The Montvale

Leicester, UK
Reviewed 3 November 2016

The Montvale is no doubt in a great area and represents good value for money, but it was one of the worst nights sleep I had on our whole road trip. There is a huge amount of construction going on around the hotel (not their fault, but a head's up on this would have been appreciated prior to booking as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki H
Anny G, General Manager at The Montvale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vicki H, We are sorry you had such a restless evening! We aim for all our guests to leave feeling well rested and satisfied. Thankfully the construction is nearing completion just in time for the holidays. Please let us know if there is anything we may do to assist you in the future! Warmest regards

Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We Pricelined this hotel and paid $74. I would not pay much more than that It was clean. In fact so clean I could smell the cleaning solution they use . The staff was very friendly. The 2nd floor lounge area was beautiful with good coffee and tea service. The parking inconvenient but not a deal breaker as it's cheaper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raindiva
Anny G, General Manager at The Montvale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Raindiva, Thank you for all your positive feedback! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the common areas and the location of our property. As for your feedback on the rooms we are on the same page! As we're still actively renovating, we've put the decor and furnishings of our guest rooms on the back burner while we've...

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Ruby
Hotel Ruby
#12 of 46 in Spokane
810 reviews
0.3 km away
Ruby2
Ruby2
#10 of 46 in Spokane
397 reviews
0.3 km away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
0.2 km away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
1.1 km away
Hotel RL by Red Lion Spokane at the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The oldest hotel in Spokane, the Montvale Hotel is Spokane’s premier boutique hotel destination.This nationally registered Historical Place sits amid downtown Spokane’s bustling West First Avenue, the center of an emerging arts and entertainment district. Dozens of restaurants, theaters and music options are all within a short walk from the hotel. Today, the Montvale Hotel has been reborn into a dynamic new hotel destination. Its historic look, coupled with fashionable amenities makes the Montvale Hotel Spokane’s premier spot for fun, excitement and most importantly – a good night’s rest.The Montvale’s Art Deco steel canopy, designed and built by Spokane artist, Hazen Audel, the two story grand lobby featuring a large fireplace and cozy furniture, and the second and third floor glass atrium all give the hotel a distinctive atmosphere. You will be left with a lasting impression from the hotel’s unique mix of contemporary and historic furnishings in a classic setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Montvale Hotel

Address: 1005 W First Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201
Region: United States > Washington > Spokane
Price Range: $113 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Montvale Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Montvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montvale Hotel Spokane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Montvale Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“302 is a good one”
 of 5 bubbles Unpossible, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book a room on the First Street side to avoid train noise.”
 of 5 bubbles EmilyB591, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Off the main street”
 of 5 bubbles JenniferP358, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“check if they have a package deal, as you might get extras at a discount”
 of 5 bubbles 442neils, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Funky, unique, clean,”
 of 5 bubbles MichellaM454, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5