We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 364: English reviews
Inglis, FL
Reviewed 18 October 2015

I was traveling with my sister on a recent trip from Michigan to Florida. Since she had her little dog with her, we needed to stay at a dog friendly hotel. We found a great rate on a search engine and checked in to the Red Roof Inn. The photos looked great with recently renovated rooms. When we got into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cori W
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I'm sorry that some creepy crawly guests made their way into your room. I can understand that may hinder your rest. We do have a pest extermination company check our rooms on a monthly basis. I will pass this along and see if there are any additional preventative measures we can...

Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Clean room....accommodating staff....nice to have my pets welcomed at no additional cost! Right off the exit....tons of places to eat...especially Wendy's for the late night Frosty run...we will definitely return to this Red Roof Inn location often.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robin K
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend getaway. Our inn is convenient to most things guests need. Thank you for letting other travelers know about our hotel. We hope to have you again as our guest in the future! For your next weekend getaway, try one of our upgraded premium rooms with plush bedding and a snack box!

Gaithersburg
Reviewed 16 October 2015

I called the desk to ask about changing rooms but was told all rooms would have the same insecticide smell. I found out later this wasn't true, because a friend staying there did not have that complaint. There was a fridge and microwave in the room, which was nice, but I was surprised there was no coffeemaker. The Internet was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rhonda B
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We value insight from guest so we know what we are doing right, and what we need to improve. I'm sorry that there was a heavy smell in the room. The desk clerk was incorrect in telling you they all smelled like that and for not offering to move you. I apologize that the internet...

Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Entering Charleston from the west in the evening is a beautiful experience -- but not good timing for finding anything. The GPS and I seriously disagreed on how to reach the inn, although I'd programmed the address into the device earlier. Thanks to another TripAdvisor review, I knew the motel was tucked behind a Wendy's on MacCorkle, and voila! There...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lynn S
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you for the beautiful review. I'm glad that you enjoyed our southern hospitality. We think of our guests as friends and neighbors and try to treat them as such. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Everything in the room looked quite new. The bed was extremely comfortable. Nice and clean too. Quite a value for the low price. If I'm in the area I will come back. No doubt about it. Give it try. I think you'll agree

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ted G
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found the room clean and comfortable. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

Where do I begin - given a room - went to the room and surprise someone else is in the room - went to the office was given another room - went in tired ready to just go to bed and pulled the sheets back and several pieces of course black hair and other black crumbs on the bed -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Winnerfamily
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Hi, I'm sorry to hear about your recent stay at our property. That is quite frustrating just to read and unacceptable that you had to experience all the problems. I came to the property in late August to turn things around and we are in the process of ironing out the wrinkles. If you will contact me via email at...

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We were hoping for a clean comfortable room at a reasonable price. While the price was reasonable the smell of the room and the stains on the comforter caused us to leave before resting. It would appear that Red Roof Inns do not have the same standards any longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank par2447
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Hello! I'm sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. I can assure you Red Roof has not gone lax on their standards. I came to the property in late August to turn things around and we are in the process of improving our inn daily. I hope you will give us another chance. If you will...

Kentucky
Reviewed 4 October 2015

This place probably deserves a 2 1/2 -3 star overall. However, I gave it a one because the current rating of 4 is an overrating. The room overall was clean, but there was 2 big stains on the comforter. Our main complaint both days was the shower being cold. I thought maybe it was a fluke on day one, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Hello! I'm sorry to hear that the inn did not meet your expectations. I know cold showers are no fun! The issue has been fixed. One of two boilers went off-line so we were running at half-capacity on our hot water. Please feel free to contact me. I would like to make your stay right. We are in the process...

Willow Springs, Missouri
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Very Clean room. Good Air Conditioning. Comfortable king sized bed. Friendly Staff.Shower had excellent pressure and room was quiet.(and we were facing the freeway). Hotel is tucked away in an odd spot behind Wendy's but was easy to find.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chiett
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!

Reviewed 7 September 2015

Newly refurbished room with a super friendly staff, led by Valerie Booker, this hotel is in a great location; middle of town, lots of places to eat of all types and prices, and shopping just down the street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenin S
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our convenient location and our friendly staff. We believe that low rate doesn't have to equal low quality! Hope to have you as our guest again next time you are in town! Dale Samples, GM

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
9.7 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 23 in Charleston
319 reviews
13.5 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Charleston Capitol Hotel
Charleston Capitol Hotel
#16 of 23 in Charleston
205 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City
8.0 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great 100% Smoke-Free Charleston location, this Red Roof Inn is just minutes from the gold-domed Capitol Building, the Clay Center, the Civic Center, and the University of Charleston. It's an easy 15 minute drive to West Virginia Tech and West Virginia State University as well. The Tri-State Racetrack and Gaming Center is also close to this hotel. This Red Roof has easy access to such outdoor activities as skiing, whitewater rafting, and golf. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating, and a large, flat-screen TV. This hotel also offers Premium Rooms with our newest renovation package and a welcome snack box in your room! Free WiFi in all rooms. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 Maccorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304-2917
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: $66 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The king bed rooms are very nice. The interstate is on the back side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles sheliap699, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade to "premium room" worth the extra money”
 of 5 bubbles bethanylehmannc, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles ERKA2, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles W1906PNmichelled, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Guests in the back of hotel, drinking and smoking. Choose a front room.”
 of 5 bubbles DianeRyd, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay