We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Charleston Capitol Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Charleston Capitol Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Charleston Capitol Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 205: English reviews
New Knoxville, OH
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great location next to Clay Center but smoke was clearly smelled through our room/bathroom as our room was non-smoking. Room had an odd oder to it to begin with. Nothing but "I'm sorry" offered. No more Fairfield Inn. No adjustment to nightly rate after booking ahead of time which offered microwave/fridge. Once checked in, you can have a room but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb K
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review

Deb K, thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not pleasant. I would like to further discuss this with you and do whatever I can to make you happy. Please feel free to call me at the hotel. Again, I apolgoize and hope that I can...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We recently visited this hotel while traveling to NC. Kristen at the front desk was extremely friendly, professional and helpful. She recommended a great restaurant and when we had a minor issue with our room she went above and beyond to take care of us. I observed this high level of service with everyone who interacted with her during my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review

Susan D, thank you for the kind remarks regarding your stay. I am glad that Kristen was able to help you with all of your requests. We look forward to serving you again during your next visit to Charleston, WV.

Edinboro, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Coordinator Josh Gross set up our stay and it was wonderful! Rooms were awesome, they even had breakfast earlier for us because of our early departure. Felt real welcomed there! We will definitely stay there in the future and we have our trip in March already booked!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EUP2013
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review

EUP2013, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to have your tennis team stay with us during your recent visit to Charleston, WV. We wish you the best this season and look forward to seeing you again in the spring.

Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I recently visited this hotel and was very impressed by the friendly staff and comfortable accomodations! The rooms are very basic but comfortable and clean. The breakfast area is also clean and inviting. The staff was super nice and helpful for everything I needed! Its a convenient location and easy to find in Charleston. I definitely plan on returning!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review

Rachel, thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that our friendly staff was able to accommodate your needs. We are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast during your visit. We look forward to serving you again during your next visit to Charleston, WV.

Beaumont, TX
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is an older property but is very clean. The lobby is very nice and there were cookies and apples available when we arrived. There is ample parking and the lot is well lit. The location is within walking distance of the downtown businesses and restaurants. But the best attribute of the hotel is the front desk staff. Heather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review

Scott H, thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed the fresh cookies and apples upon your arrival. I am glad the front desk staff was able to provide you directions to all of our local eateries and attractions. We look forward to serving you again during your next visit to Charleston, WV.

Ventura, California
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Heather, She greeted us when we first arrived made us feel like we where at home. Heather's knowledge of the area helped us navigate the city very well. Everything was so close! We walked to the carriage trail and to Capital Market. I believe SOHO restaurant was on the food network as a must stop. This hotel is also directly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janette P
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review

Janette P, thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We apprecaite your comments regarding the friendly staff and clean rooms. We are glad you could enjoy the local attractions during your stay in Charleston. We look forward to serving you again.

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is an older building but was well maintained and clean. Large parking lot that is well lit. The room was nothing to write home about but it was clean. There was a strange smell but I think it might have been from the cleaning products used in the room. What stood out to me in this hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PrettyLittleCeliac
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review

PrettyLittleCeliac, thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your honest comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the smell in the room and will notify the housekeeping manager so she can check into this matter. I understand your concern regarding the number of points it takes for a nights stay. If you...

White Plains, New York
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We choose Fairfield Inn and Suites for their non-smoking policy. This was a typical Fairfield hotel - large room , two beds, excellent bedding, clean, great decorum ( in a typical Fairfield color scheme). But no fridge and no microwave ( as in others Fairfield Inn hotels), Ample, excellent breakfast. We enjoyed the pool and Jacuzzi - rather small, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria N
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review

Maria N, thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the great review and comments. We are currently in the process of getting fridges and microwaves in more of our rooms. The next time you are in Charleston, please contact me directly and I will be sure to get you a room with those accommodations.

Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Well the staff, from the front desk was very accommodating. Rooms were clean and very nice . I was over whelmed when I asked about obtaining iPhone 5 charger Since I left my ac one at the office, and the asst mgr Josh, Offered to obtain one for me avoiding inconvenience of charging only from my auto. :). I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felipenky
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel stay during your birthday visit and that we were able to help you out wtih your cell phone charger situation. We look forward to serving you again during your next visit to Charleston.

Elkview,
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Everyone was very nice and very willing to help. The room was set-up exactly as we wanted and the staff was very quick to respond to us when we had a change to be made. I'm sure we will be going back there in the future for additional meetings. Kudos to Josh Gross who was very exceptional in responding to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla W
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review

Carla W, thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and the excellent review. We look forward to serving you and your company with future meetings and overnight accommodations.

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
0.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
7.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in beautiful downtown Charleston,WV the Charleston Capitol Hotel offers quality customer service to every guest. Amenities include free parking, and complimentary high speed wireless internet, just to name a few. Shopping and dining are just a short walk away as well as the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. Whether you're coming to Charleston for a business meeting or just a family getaway, the Charleston Capitol hotel is here to serve your every need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charleston Capitol Hotel

Address: 1000 Washington St E, Charleston, WV 25301-1711 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: $115 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Capitol Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Charleston Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Charleston Capitol Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“.Do not book. not ready to rent. Coming from a property manager of 70 + vacation homes. I would be embarrassed to rent a pace Ike this.”
 of 5 bubbles 263hunterw, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for a view of the river”
 of 5 bubbles Dylan3961, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No room is a good room at this hotel. Avoid it at all costs.”
 of 5 bubbles Chastidyi, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“To choose a good room, go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 586candys, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Beds were very comfortable. Free breakfast but in building next door. biscuts, sausage, eggs, bagles, waffles, juice.”
 of 5 bubbles Dogpatchwv, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay