We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Dunbar\/Charleston Area
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 370: English reviews
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

This was the most horrible hotel ever. There were people just standing in the back. The room smelled of mold. The shower ran all the time. People were loud upstairs and the people that worked there did nothing about it. I dont understand how you can have housekeeping but they dont do anything. They are lazy and do not clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Taylor M
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had such an awful experience. As you can see, that is not the usual response here. If you had any issues like that, I really hope that you spoke with someone on the staff? We are always willing to try and take care of any problem you may have. More 

Travellers are raving about these Dunbar hotels

Lorain, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2016

weekend getaway. everything seemed clean. it's a pet friendly hotel, which is why i chose it. people banging doors and knocking make the dog bark. (in the afternoon) i didn't appreciate the phone call asking me to keep the dog quiet. people should be more quiet, and the dog wouldn't bark.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank barbarasC5454OG
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Reservation made on website, fast check in. Well worn and well maintained room. Bed had seen better days but was useable. Quiet night until the Wendy's dumpster was emptied at 4:30 am. Ok breakfast: coffee, full strength orange juice, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, breads, yogurt, and a variety of fruit. Would have given a very good instead of average, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank SkinnyDDS
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

I am glad to hear you had a nice stay. I promise we aren't trying to slip anything by you! There are signs posted on the wall about safe fee's at check-in, and it's noted on the registration card, where you initial. We have no problem at all taking it off if you don't want to use it. Hope you... More 

Milton
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The employees were knowledgeable and very sweet. Helped with this we needed to accommodate my nieces sweet 16 slumber party.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank 36mylab
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Well I am so happy to hear that! I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay, and I hope she had a wonderful birthday! More 

Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Did not spend much time at the hotel. The staff is very friendly. My son stays at this hotel from 1 to 3 nights a week.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank C9934OWpamelah
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! More 

Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Room was clean. Basic amenities were provided and were in working order. The basics are there for a hotel in the $60-$80 range and included a fridge and microwave. Light blocking curtains were great! Entrance to the building was difficult to see in the dark, and the smoking area surrounds the entryway. When we checked in the person behind the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank christinemR822LL
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback, as it really does help us to know what is working and what isn't. I am not aware of this Hotel app, but I appreciate you letting me know about it. I am looking into it now, and will definitely fix that. We offer a continental breakfast, and that is what should be... More 

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
4.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
441 reviews
3.9 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
855 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
15.9 km away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
8.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our newly renovated Super 8 Dunbar / Charleston Area hotel, conveniently located off Interstate 64 near Mardi Gras Casino & Resort. Our completely non-smoking hotel in Dunbar offers easy access to Charleston-area attractions as well as amenities like free parking for your truck, bus or RV. Sleep well on brand new bedding and pillow-top mattresses in your newly renovated guest room, and start your day off right with free SuperStart continental breakfast. Check on local events or catch up on work with free Wi-Fi, available throughout our pet-friendly Dunbar hotel. We offer guest laundry facilities for your convenience, as well as handicapped-accessible rooms. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area

Address: 911 Dunbar Avenue, Dunbar, WV 25064-3126
Region: United States > West Virginia > Dunbar
Price Range: $82 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Hotel Dunbar
Super Eight Dunbar
Dunbar Super Eight
Dunbar Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was beside the lobby where everyone checks in and out Gave us total PEACE and QUIET and PRIVACY.”
 of 5 bubbles 897kims897, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Easy on/off from I64 for an overnight stop.”
 of 5 bubbles 638sharrons, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Top floor would probably be better. The basement rooms had a lot of noise from above. But no elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles caseyUs, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No elevator, just stairs to the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles nleff, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you can, try speed testing your wifi connection to make sure you're using the fastest (there are multiple)...one was over 50Mbps!”
 of 5 bubbles johnathonm113, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay