We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Super 8 Dunbar\/Charleston Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 399: English reviews
Bristol, Virginia
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard L. M
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Reviewed 24 October 2016

This was the most horrible hotel ever. There were people just standing in the back. The room smelled of mold. The shower ran all the time. People were loud upstairs and the people that worked there did nothing about it. I dont understand how you can have housekeeping but they dont do anything. They are lazy and do not clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylor M
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had such an awful experience. As you can see, that is not the usual response here. If you had any issues like that, I really hope that you spoke with someone on the staff? We are always willing to try and take care of any problem you may have.

Lorain, Ohio
Reviewed 18 October 2016

weekend getaway. everything seemed clean. it's a pet friendly hotel, which is why i chose it. people banging doors and knocking make the dog bark. (in the afternoon) i didn't appreciate the phone call asking me to keep the dog quiet. people should be more quiet, and the dog wouldn't bark.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbarasC5454OG
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Reservation made on website, fast check in. Well worn and well maintained room. Bed had seen better days but was useable. Quiet night until the Wendy's dumpster was emptied at 4:30 am. Ok breakfast: coffee, full strength orange juice, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, breads, yogurt, and a variety of fruit. Would have given a very good instead of average, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SkinnyDDS
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

I am glad to hear you had a nice stay. I promise we aren't trying to slip anything by you! There are signs posted on the wall about safe fee's at check-in, and it's noted on the registration card, where you initial. We have no problem at all taking it off if you don't want to use it. Hope you...

Gloucester
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip T
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Milton
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The employees were knowledgeable and very sweet. Helped with this we needed to accommodate my nieces sweet 16 slumber party.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 36mylab
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Well I am so happy to hear that! I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay, and I hope she had a wonderful birthday!

Kannapolis, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Did not spend much time at the hotel. The staff is very friendly. My son stays at this hotel from 1 to 3 nights a week.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C9934OWpamelah
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Ashland, Kentucky
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank raym576
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Room was clean. Basic amenities were provided and were in working order. The basics are there for a hotel in the $60-$80 range and included a fridge and microwave. Light blocking curtains were great! Entrance to the building was difficult to see in the dark, and the smoking area surrounds the entryway. When we checked in the person behind the...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinemR822LL
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback, as it really does help us to know what is working and what isn't. I am not aware of this Hotel app, but I appreciate you letting me know about it. I am looking into it now, and will definitely fix that. We offer a continental breakfast, and that is what should be...

Danville
Reviewed 21 September 2016

It is an older motel that provides a place to sleep. Nothing fancy. It was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanrO6473XW
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback! Glad to hear it was clean and comfortable!

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
4.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
476 reviews
3.9 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
897 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
7.8 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
243 reviews
7.9 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our newly renovated Super 8 Dunbar / Charleston Area hotel, conveniently located off Interstate 64 near Mardi Gras Casino & Resort. Our completely non-smoking hotel in Dunbar offers easy access to Charleston-area attractions as well as amenities like free parking for your truck, bus or RV. Sleep well on brand new bedding and pillow-top mattresses in your newly renovated guest room, and start your day off right with free SuperStart continental breakfast. Check on local events or catch up on work with free Wi-Fi, available throughout our pet-friendly Dunbar hotel. We offer guest laundry facilities for your convenience, as well as handicapped-accessible rooms. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area

Address: 911 Dunbar Avenue, Dunbar, WV 25064-3126
Region: United States > West Virginia > Dunbar
Price Range: $81 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Hotel Dunbar
Super Eight Dunbar
Dunbar Super Eight
Dunbar Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was beside the lobby where everyone checks in and out Gave us total PEACE and QUIET and PRIVACY.”
 of 5 bubbles 897kims897, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Easy on/off from I64 for an overnight stop.”
 of 5 bubbles 638sharrons, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Top floor would probably be better. The basement rooms had a lot of noise from above. But no elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles caseyUs, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No elevator, just stairs to the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles nleff, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you can, try speed testing your wifi connection to make sure you're using the fastest (there are multiple)...one was over 50Mbps!”
 of 5 bubbles johnathonm113, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5