We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins

Save
Share
90 Faulkner Rd, Elkins, WV 26241
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (90)
Room & Suite (21)
Videos (1)

About

#2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Elkins
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Cheat River Lodge & Cabins, located just 5 minutes from Elkins, West Virginia is a privately owned and operated, non-commercial vacation destination on the banks of the Cheat River. We have a 35 year old relationship with the Better Business Bureau with a 99.9% rating. Before the numerous franchise hotel chains came into being, Ma & Pop places like the Cheat River Lodge served the weary traveler. Preserved, when the backroads became less traveled, its tranquil riverfront setting remains. For those who have an affinity for water, a river runs through it ! Built in the 70s, at the gateway to the Monongahela National Forest, the six room Lodge is a sportsman’s getaway. Over the years, its riverside location on the Shavers Fork of the Cheat River gained appeal with outdoor enthusiasts. For the fishermen, it’s a bonanza of a fishing spot as it is a major trout stocking location. A vacation destination, we offer rooms & cabins with a terrific river view
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hot bath
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
133Reviews2Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 49
  • 39
  • 16
  • 11
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Teona R wrote a review Apr. 1
3 contributions
I had an amazing time! The area was great the view is amazing and it was so relaxing to sit outside and enjoy the view. We chose the Treehouse it was comfortable there was only one TV which was nice because we all enjoyed watching together which is something we don’t do at home. It was really clean also the staff was very friendly also.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Cathy A wrote a review Jan. 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Very rude, she don't care if you are happy or not all she cares about is MONEY!! Hell didn't even bring clean sheets to us. I will not return or recommend any one else to visit either. We camp alot and stay many places but no place has ever been so rude and non-caring.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxye Marshall, General Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins
Responded 1 week ago
You did not stay with us. #1) we rent rooms, & cabins/ houses. We do NOT have camping sites as you mention. #2) All of the beds in our accopmmodations are dressed, and ready to use upon your arrival. Because of covid, we do not re-enter a property once the guests are in residence. We do not change sheets daily, unless there is a need. We answer the phone 24/7. We have a full staff, and a property manager on premise 24/7 to take care of these needs. A guest has not contacted for a need as you speak of, so we know you we have been misidentified. Additionally, anyone who is familiar with our properties, would know that adaily sheet exchange would not be a typical expectation given the nature of our establishment.
Read more
Pawtrout wrote a review Dec. 2020
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania3 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked the Treehouse back in January of 2020, way before any news of a pandemic. We had reservations for the Polar Express which is very close and were going with our family including our grandson (age 4) and grandaughter (age 1). The Polar Express cancelled due to the pandemic; when I called to cancel our cabin, they will not return our deposit and have no interest in what is happening with regards to PA and having to test and quarantine upon return from out of state. We will be rescheduling the Polar Express but I will NOT be rebooking with these people. I feel their policy is inconsiderate during these unprecedented times!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxye Marshall, General Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins
Responded Dec. 4, 2020
Our cancellation policies are simple and firm. They have been the same for 38 years. We have been open throughout the Covid threat because our staff of 10 depends on this business to put food on their tables. We have had NO cases of Covid associated with our staff because they practice every precaution possible to remain on the job. We live up to our side of the agreement, assuring that guests will have a safe and enjoyable visit. We clean all touch surfaces with hydrogen peroxide, and running ozone generators before occupancy. We also do not overbook a property with the idea that if too many people show up...we bump you to another property. The only thing we are not able to guarantee are the services of others....to include the train. The Covid threat is not new, its been a known threat since last January. You booked at a time when the impact of the threat was well known. ..probably more so than now. We have held this property for your exclusive use for 11 months. You never called about Covid fears until just a few days prior to your arrival ...because your plans for the perfect weekend fell through. We told you that we would be able to make a refund if the property re-rented. But given such short notice, this did not happen. So, if it makes you feel better about situation....we are losing out too. Because you did not fulfill your side of the agreement. we have 'rent loss' for the other 'unpaid' nights that you had reserved as you were NOT 'paid in full'. We are open for business, and accepting out of state travelers. We have not experienced any travel related issues due to Covid.
Read more
Julie Howard wrote a review Oct. 2020
Annandale, Virginia1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Stone House (separate from the lodge) for a long fall weekend. This is a marvelous area - so close to hiking and wonderful drives in and around the Monongahela. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the house and the precautions taken by management and staff during the pandemic to minimize contact yet offer fresh linens and housekeeping daily. Yet...we came away feeling that this lodging is overpriced @$219/day. The house itself is a little on the shabby side and right off the old Rt 33 highway. The downstairs shower did not work. The mattress in the downstairs bedroom is due for replacement. The hot tub was usable, but the water was greenish. We turned on the heat one morning, which worked well - but the musty smell was so off-putting that we avoided using the heat and relied on the gas fireplace during the rest of our visit. So - lovely area, but Stone Cabin was a disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxye Marshall, General Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins
Responded Dec. 4, 2020
This is a historic 'property', and one of the oldest structures in the area. It is as pictured, and though it has been modernized, it's character shows with exposed rafters, narrow hallways & door openings...all of which is significant of its age. We use 'firm' high quality mattresses. They do not have 'fluffy' or 'memory foam' tops because they are hard to keep sanitary. Our check list for items to bring, includes cushy mattress toppers. We were not made aware of any issue with the shower. This property had a high occupancy during this period, and this problem was not reported by others...because it would have been repaired. We have a full staff, to include a 24/7property manager on premise, and maintenance personnel on duty each day. The hot tub water can sometimes have a color too it if water has been added. We have well water at this property which contains minerals. Very soon we will be served by city water service. 'Clarity' of water is what's important, and this is documented each day by a photograph when the hot tub is serviced. We have many properties, of many different styles. Though you feel $219/night was too much for a fully equipped 3 bedroom, 2 bath home with private hot tub...you might find it interesting to know that a simple king room at the Hampton Inn in Elkins was renting for $150-$180/night during this period
Read more
drjonesmvb wrote a review Jul. 2020
Chesterfield, Virginia76 contributions21 helpful votes
We were a party of 7 with dogs who rented a house for the weekend of the Fourth. Our house was perfect for our needs, with plenty of room for adults, teenagers, and dogs. Management was quick to respond and very helpful and the location is terrific. The house we had was NOT river front, but river access was about a 5 min drive away. Beds were comfortable, kitchen was big and great to cook in and it was a terrific break
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Not actually river-front, but other houses they have are, I think
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxye Marshall, General Manager at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins
Responded Jul. 6, 2020
Thank you ! great that you enjoyed. Dogs say "YAY !"...they get to go ! :-)
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$97 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cheat river lodge and riverside cabins hotel elkins
LOCATION
United StatesWest VirginiaElkins
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins
Which popular attractions are close to Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins?
Nearby attractions include Gandy Dancer Theatre and Conference Center (6.4 km), Dolly Sods Wilderness Area (7.5 km), and Elkins Depot Welcome Center CVB, Inc. (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, a hot tub, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Forks Inn Restaurant, El Gran Sabor, and C J Maggie's.
Are pets allowed at Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Elkins Depot Welcome Center CVB, Inc. (7.1 km), Iron Horse Statue (6.9 km), and Halliehurst Mansion (7.0 km).
Does Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Cheat River Lodge and Riverside Cabins accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.