We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 355: English reviews
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

My son is a student at West Virginia University. Went to Morgantown yesterday, Jan.5,2017, and just got back today. We were not planning on spending the night, but got snowed in. From the first phone call to this establishment to the time we checked-out, this was the most accommodating hotel/motel I have ever been in. Mr. Keith Brady, Director Of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vintagehouse304
Stafford, United States
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Nice hotel with pleasant staff! Great location for the WVU games! The rooms and indoor decor are a little older, but comfortable. The hotel has easy access to the interstate as well as to other shopping areas and restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 577garyj
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear 577garyj, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your time at our property! Our location really is an aspect of our hotel that sets us apart. There are so many wonderful, relaxing things to do either within walking distance, or a short drive. It truly sets our...

Biloxi, Mississippi
Reviewed 30 November 2016

I stayed one night, while passing through town on a trip. The room they gave me was large, clean, and comfortable. The desk service was good. There was plenty of parking, and eateries and toiletries were available within walking distance. They were also easy to find by car: the place is on a main drag. I didn't get to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HughMcAloon
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear HughMcAloon, It is always a great testament to our product when our guests state that they are excited to return in the future. It shows that our staff is excelling at providing great service, and clean rooms. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon! Megan Zebley Front Office Manager Best Western Mountaineer Inn

United States
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Was travelling through WV on a road trip and stopped here for the night. We didn't have a reservation, but they were able to accommodate us and gave us the pay-in-advance price. The room was clean and well appointed (including a microwave and fridge). Free breakfast was convenient and express check out had us on our way in the morning.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 634marcyd
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear 634marcyd, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property! I hope that during your future stays we are able to provide you with a five star experience. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Thank You, Megan Z. Front Office Manager Best Western Mountaineer Inn

Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewed 19 November 2016

I stayed here three nights in a row. First room, the hairdryer didn't work. Oh well I don't have long hair anyway so it doesn't bother me. Third night I changed rooms. This time, the light switch for the lamp between the beds was not functioning properly. Extremely frustrating. The shower drain was also clogged with what looked like about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank t1998custom
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear t1998custom, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. We welcome all comments, so that we may improve our guests' experiences. We appreciate your review and hope you will consider being our guest again. Megan Z. Front Office Manager Best Western Mountaineer Inn

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Good value.Comfortable rooms. Extremely satisfied with the beds, bathroom,cleanliness and breakfast items . Excellent wifi. Friendly and helpful staff .woykd stay here on future trips. The location is also very good.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles T
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear Charles T., Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our property here on TripAdvisor! We sincerely appreciate your continued business. Repeat guests make our jobs so special. The relationships that we are able to create, and the manner in which are able to understand guest expectations is truly a wonderful aspect of our job. It is a...

St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewed 7 November 2016

This hotel offered the good service we've come to expect at a Best Western. We asked for a room at the back for some quiet and had the best sleep of our trip. The pool was warm, the breakfast was great and the staff was helpful. The hallways & stairways are a bit confusing though. The elevator (which needs some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edmarianne
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear edmarianne., Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are working hard to...

Ferndal, United States
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We were on a long trip to the east coast. It was the end of the day and we had not made prior reservations. We stopped in the lobby to see if they took pets. This particular motel did. We stayed the night. It's a long walk to the lobby. There were no places on the property to let the...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerald M
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear Gerald M., Thank you for providing a review from your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that our staff provided you with great service, and you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Thank You, Megan Zebley Front Office Manager Best Western Mountaineer Inn

Reviewed 26 October 2016

Had reservations for 10/21 thru 10/23 for TCU game. Checked in, smelled mildew and must in room. Killed bug#1 on outside of bed, killed bug #2 on bathroom counter. Came back out to bedroom to take a drink of water, while looking up on ceiling, saw 2 more bugs crawling. Grabbed my stuff and couldn't get out faster. Had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea K
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear Andrea K., Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is certainly a disappointment to read your comments which are certainly not the norm for our hotel and Team. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable...

Reviewed 26 October 2016

This hotel is a little scary upon arrival. Although near a busy commercial area, it is tucked into a hillside with homes and business that are not so welcoming. When we arrived (around 7:30 pm), there were several people smoking in the parking lot, which itself was dark. The exterior of the hotel is old, and it doesn't get any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 732laurences
Megan Z, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Dear 732laurences, I am so very sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations, that is not what are intentions are, we like to make sure every guests experience is exceptional and that we leave a lasting impression. I do apologize once again for this inconvenience, but we really do appreciate that you were willing to provide feedback....

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
3.5 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
1.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
0.5 km away
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Econo Lodge Coliseum
#19 of 24 in Morgantown
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
99 reviews
4.4 km away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#7 of 24 in Morgantown
549 reviews
3.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Featuring newly renovated rooms, this Morgantown hotel is an ideal lodging choice for West Virginia University visitors. Ideally located near West Virginia University, the Best Western Mountaineer Inn provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. This West Virginia University hotel is located 1 mile east of Interstate 79 at Exit 155 just .05 mile from the West Virginia University Coliseum and one mile from the main campus. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn

Address: 366 Boyers Avenue, Morgantown, WV 26505-3046
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Price Range: $99 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountaineer Hotel Morgantown
Morgantown Best Western
Best Western Morgantown
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Portage, Indiana
3 months ago
Fredericksburg, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“bottom floor in the back”
 of 5 bubbles vintagehouse304, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you ask for a room at the back it's nice and quiet.”
  • Nice and spacious!
 of 5 bubbles edmarianne, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want views, you will get road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 732laurences, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“"ask about bed size"”
 of 5 bubbles larryl981, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good; our room is on the street side, and all I notice is the tree outside my window and the birds singing.”
 of 5 bubbles 7TerriH, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay