We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

858 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 858: English reviews
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice place to stay. Outside of downtown, but easy access to interstate and all points around Charleston.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank jameskD7350GB
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very neat and clean. Bed was like sleeping on a cloud! Quiet. Only draw back was limited eating establishments close by.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank joellena592
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very nice until maid took tip but didn't clean our room.got room cleaned later that night after call to front desk. Very nice room with best night sleep. I would still recommend

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank tbw244
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear tbw244, Best Sleep is what we strive for from all our guests. Glad we could take care of the cleaning of your room. Thank you for the recommendation. S Arnold, GM More 

Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very friendly staff, very attractive hotel. I have stayed here several times. However, on my last visit I noticed that the shower head was horrible ... sprayed all over the place, and very hard to move/adjust. Also, my television kept "freezing up" throughout the evening. Couldn't connect to WiFi. Pretty frustrating. Comfortable bed, quiet hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank sbow3111
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear sbow311, Since you have stayed in the past you know the issues you experienced are not typical. I hope we were able to correct those issues quickly so that you could continue with a great experience. Thanks, S Arnold, GM More 

Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

The breakfast, and the open beverage station was truly top notch....the room, including the bathroom were extremely clean...

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank 22cliffordw
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear 22cliffordw, Well we think you’re the best for all those nice comments. Thank you. S Arnold, GM More 

Madison Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Wingate, Saturday, November 19. 2016. The room was very nice. The staff were pleasant. Overall a nice evening.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank James C
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear James C, We appreciate you sharing your comments about the visit. Come back again soon. Thanks, S Arnold, GM More 

Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel with friendly and helpful staff...especially Registration. Hotel in quiet area and within reasonable driving distance to shops and eateries. No pool only a Jacuzzi which was filthy at the time. Other than that a great stay.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Frances R
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Frances R, So glad our team was great. We pride ourselves on the staff. Sorry for the Jacuzzi condition, we did have it out for repair. Hope you can come back soon. S Arnold, GM More 

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Charleston
0.0 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
5.9 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.5 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
5.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
4.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Address: 402 2nd Avenue, SW, South Charleston, WV 25303
Region: United States > West Virginia > South Charleston
Price Range: $138 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston Hotel South Charleston
Wingate South Charleston
Wingate Hotel Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wingate by Wyndham Charleston staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wingate by Wyndham Charleston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on second floor, near the front, but with a loud fan in the room, we didn't hear a thing”
 of 5 bubbles Jrsnader, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Housekeeping and front desk very helpful”
 of 5 bubbles sherd966, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We were just off the elevator, but had no problem sleeping or with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles michellel586, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“Any room should be fine”
 of 5 bubbles lraff1, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“Bed was a little bit high for an older person”
 of 5 bubbles hullmare, 5 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay