We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hatfield McCoy House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamson
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hatfield McCoy House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 53: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2015

Business trip with a colleague, two lovely and clean rooms. Affordable prices and Wendy is a great host along with her husband who made us feel very welcome. Free wifi and breakfast - happy stay for both of us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruaridhconnellan
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 15 March 2015

Shared my first experience at a Bed and Breakfast with my mom, she was hesitant at first but loved it! Beautiful house with lots of charm and history, clean with wonderfully gracious and friendly hosts. In the past when we have visited the area we stayed at the local hotel and was always dissatisfy, now we found a great place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ina L
Troutman, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 January 2015

What a great place! The decor is wonderful and authentic. It is not just something made to look like the stuff used "in the day". The warmth of the rooms, the quilts on the bed, reminded me of coming home to visit my Grandma, Bessie Hammond, and getting cozy under the quilts. I love this place and would recommend it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wvgal61
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 28 December 2014

This is not a review of the facility, but rather a review of the lack of ethical management… and a warning. We planned a holiday with our daughter, and made reservations for two rooms. Wendy unequivocally confirmed our reservation for two rooms by FB message. The day before our scheduled arrival, I received a Facebook message that she had guests...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Steven G
Penfield, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 23 November 2014

We were looking for something to do for our anniversary and decided to go and visit the Hatfield McCoy geotrail.....when we arrived at the hatfield McCoy House we had easy entrance and a lot of privacy.....the decor is absolutely charming!! We loved meeting Wendy and hope to see her again sometime on the trail......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veg15849
Cleveland
Reviewed 8 November 2014

Wonderful stay after a cold and rainy day of geocaching the Hog Trial pig. The entire place is full of Hatfield McCoy history and every room was beautifully decorated. Decided to stay in Roseanna's Room and it didn't disappoint. Wendy was exceptional, making sure my stay was perfect and even greeted me at the door. Would HIGHLY recommend and can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewed 19 October 2014

We confirmed the "Roseanne Room" a month in advance for our 38th wedding anniversary last week. When we arrived in town we observed how depressed and "down on it's luck" the town was. No one greeted us as our key was taped to the front door. Our room was given to another guest and when we reached Wendy ( who...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Karen H
WendyHackney, Owner at Hatfield McCoy House, responded to this review

It's very unfortunate but the last guest did not stay at our home. I mistakenly let another guest stay over an extra night and they were in the room that Karen H wanted. They did arrive at the house at an hour of the day that I had to be gone. I had left the house to go guide another...

Palm City, Florida
Reviewed 20 September 2014

We were visiting family in Virginia and couldn't pass up the opportunity to come do the Hatfield-McCoy Geotrail in Williamson. We were excited to see the B & B after looking at the pictures online. You have to see the attention to detail in person. Not only are the rooms clean, spacious and affordable and close to everything....the labor of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SticksnSkary
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 11 September 2014

I recently visited the area and stayed at the Hatfield-McCoy House. Talk about a trip back in time. The owners have decorated this house and the rooms to bring the history of the area alive! Beautiful old home with wonderful hospitality. I will stay here again on return trips to the area. Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
Crystal Hill, Virginia
Reviewed 11 September 2014

I was in town for a geocaching weekend when I had the opportunity to stay at Hatfield McCoy House. I gathered a group to reserve the 3rd floor Bunk Room and we enjoyed it very much! Each bed had beautiful quilts, super clean bedding, etc. We even had a smoking porch one floor down, with very nice wicker furniture. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nocona59

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamson
32.6 km away
Chief Logan Lodge & Conference Center
32.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Pikeville
0.3 km away
Sycamore Inn
Sycamore Inn
#2 of 2 in Williamson
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hatfield McCoy House is an Inn in Williamson, WV. Our goal is to give the traveler a CLEAN and COMFORTABLE place to stay while in Hatfield McCoy Country but we also want to teach you about the history of the feud in a new and unique way. Every Room is named for one of the 5 most important people (in our minds) involved in the feud and decorated to tell the story of that person and their role in the historic family feud. Owned by Producer on the History Channels TV Series, Hatfield's & McCoy's White Lightning and WV Geocacher and owner of the Hatfield McCoy GeoTrail, Wendy Hackney you are sure to find that you are in good hands while here. Not to mention that Wendy is the GGG Granddaughter of Preacher Anderson Hatfield and the GGG Granddaughter of Aunt Betty and Uriah McCoy. The House is the oldest standing home in Williamson and the second oldest in Mingo County, the county that Devil Anderson Hatfield was from. 120 years of history have gone through this house and we want you to come and experience it for yourselves. All the comforts of home. Free internet, Free Long Distance, Private Bathrooms in every room, Rates as low as any hotel in the area and we are Spotless Clean !!!!Come and Go as you please and enjoy your home away from home. If you are riding the Hatfield McCoy Trails we are only a short two block distance from the trail head and if you are here to do the Hatfield McCoy GeoTrail you will be staying with the CO and can get your coin straight from the hands of Wendy. Come see us at the Hatfield McCoy House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hatfield McCoy House

Address: 1 W 5th Ave, Williamson, WV 25661-3201 (Formerly Linkous House)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Williamson
Price Range: $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hatfield McCoy House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hatfield McCoy House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 437viam, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would stick with 2 per room. Otherwise, grab some friends and get the bunkhouse”
 of 5 bubbles soflfamily, 31 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Each room has it's own bathroom and the McCoy room has two beds.”
 of 5 bubbles 160inal, 15 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Stay in Pikesville.”
 of 5 bubbles 69steveng, 28 Dec 2014 | Read review
“A confirmation is no guarantee that you will receive the room. No one is on site to assist or welcome guests. The town is very depressed and there is a low income high rise right next to the B&B.”
 of 5 bubbles 103KarenH, 19 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5