We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bear Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Black Bear Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Black River Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this motel last year and it was a awesome stay. Now with new owners its not the same at all. The quality and service are horrible, filthy rooms , crazy rates . No discount for the working man, do yourself and pass on by when you see this motel. It's a shame a darn shame.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 10jerry2014
MINNEAPOLIS
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Nothing bad, but also nothing really good. We need a place to stay overnight, and it was just that. Place to stay that was clean and OK. The hours of the office are kind of funny, and the owners are not very fluent in English. But, if you need a place to stay that is clean and relatively inexpensive, this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PastorTrike
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 July 2015

We stayed at this motel a year ago to attend a nearby annual car show in Chetek WI. Since we were very happy with everything at the Black Bear we booked again this year. What a different experience this time around! Knowing that there would be high demand for lodging over the 4th of July weekend, we made reservations several...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SJBMLB
St. Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 July 2015

I used to love this little hotel. It was older but alway very clean! 3 months ago it was sold to new owners. I had book my reservation before the sale so I thought It would still be ok. Our stay was a nightmare the place was extremely dirty and dusty. Sheets were dirty, the room smelled and they left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra O
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We stayed at this motel last year on our way back from a vacation out west and it was so clean and neat we decided to stay again on our way home from a west vacation. BIG MISTAKE!!! Under new ownership and the parking lot and windows were dirty, the lawn needed mowing, the room was dirty and the towels...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bobluTraverseCityMi
Reviewed 26 February 2015

I was staying with my company here for work and because one person made a mistake they didn't clean our rooms for the entire week we were there, didn't change towels or trash, went into our rooms when we clearly had our DND signs out. Even management would just let themselves in our rooms without permission just to snoop!I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JRQ85
Travis T, Owner at Black Bear Motel, responded to this review

I 'am sorry that your fellow workers couldn't abide by the rules, after you have been staying there for a period of time, and being from Wisconsin, you know that Wisconsin is smoke free! Also know that we try our best to clean your rooms, due to all your items in the room we couldn't clean your room without moving...

Black River Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewed 29 December 2014

Because of my job,I have been staying at the Black Bear Motel for the past 3 months. My room is always clean and I have no complaints what so ever. I go home on weekends and have peace of mind when I return Sunday night my clean room will be there. Another handy thing for me is a very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 10jerry2014
North Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 26 October 2014

My wife and I wanted to spend the night at Turtle Lake Casino, and as usual, they were booked solid. She found this hotel on Booking.Com since it was the closest accommodations she could find. It was only about 20-25 minutes away......very clean and comfortable....pleasantly surprised.....great value.....would stay here again if we wanted to have another casino weekend. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dori L
Eau Claire, WI
Reviewed 25 October 2014

Fine, older motel and a heckuva deal. The rooms are oversized, clean, and mine had a new recliner. Nice lady at the front desk and good eats right across the road. I'd stay there again in half a sec or less.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Molly M
stuart, United States
Reviewed 17 September 2014

Don't judge this motel by the exterior...looks just OK from the outside but the inside is immaculate! Sara, the owner, called us after we left to let us know we left our computer plug there. She is mailing it to us. Loved this quaint motel...and right across the street is a mom and pop restaurant with great local food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill K

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cameron
7.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 7 in Rice Lake
296 reviews
10.0 km away
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
#3 of 7 in Rice Lake
36 reviews
7.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
AmeriVu Inn & Suites
AmeriVu Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Rice Lake
215 reviews
12.6 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Chetek
7.3 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rice Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Black Bear Motel

Address: 201 South 1st Street, Cameron, WI 54822
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cameron
Price Range: $112 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Bear Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Black Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Cameron
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Bear Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Black Bear Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want to try this place definitely look for the rooms on the right side of the office.These are the ones which have been most recently updated. You will want to look at the room before you decide to stay. Be sure to look closely at the bathroom to be sure it is clean and everything works.”
 of 5 bubbles SJBMLB, 5 Jul 2015 | Read review
“end rooms are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 10jerry2014, 29 Dec 2014 | Read review
“the closer to the office, the quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 745jillk, 17 Sep 2014 | Read review
“All the rooms face Hwy SS which is very quiet way up there and they have gazebos, picnic tables and grills out there on the grass to sit and enjoy the quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles robertab950, 4 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Read ALL reviews....believe the bad ones !”
 of 5 bubbles Tiggerpal, 17 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay