We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Abbey Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Abbey Resort
The Abbey Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,035 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Abbey Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,034: English reviews
EM, Illinois
Reviewed 8 April 2015

My husband and I spent two nights at this resort last week. The facility itself is very nice. It is huge! We spent some time walking both inside and outside of the resort. The location is wonderful with a great view. Although there are restaurants and a coffee shop on site, there are also a couple of restaurants and a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank K-teacherEM
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort, responded to this review

K-teacherEM, Thank you for your review. I appreciate your kind comments about our resort and am delighted to read your enjoyed your stay with us. I was however, disappointed to read about your first encounter with the front desk. We do offer spa day passes, and I am sorry that was not offered to you. We will take this information...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 5 April 2015

This was my second time there and it was amazing as always. Everyone at the resort is extremely helpful and friendly. We ate a lot at 240 West. Their breakfast is really good and on Sunday morning, they have a breakfast buffet. We also went to The Waterfront Cafe a lot. The staff was great. They have live music on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stevie4278
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort, responded to this review

Stevie4278 Thank you for your five-star review and your wonderful comments about our resort and spa. Your time with us sounds absolutely wonderful. I am delighted to read that you were able to enjoy our onsite restaurants and evening entertainment. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz Guest relations

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 April 2015

We had a girlfriends spa weekend and the avani 1 night spa package was a great deal. Coming from Chicago it's the perfect distance for a 1 night get away. The spa was lovely and the 2 treatments I had were very nice and just hanging out in the spa pool area was nice. Only downside was no one mentioned...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicole S
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort, responded to this review

Nicole S Thank you for your review. Yes, the Avani Overnight package is a tremendous value and the perfect spa escape. I am disappointed to read that our staff did not inform you of the food and beverage service available at the spa, as we do offer a full food and beverage menu at Avani. I also appreciate you sharing...

Chicago
Reviewed 3 April 2015

This was my second trip to the Abbey because we love the spa. However, the walls in the resort rooms are paper thin. We had a baby crying most of the night on one side of us and a couple (very clearly) swearing and fighting on the other side of us. I understand that it's not going to be completely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LTS220
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort, responded to this review

LTS220, Thank you for your review and welcome back! I do apologize for the noise your encountered from your neighbors during your stay. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff, beds and spa. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz Guest relations

Chicago
Reviewed 31 March 2015

The Abbey was the perfect answer to our cold Spring Break week. We only stayed for one night and were so impressed by the number of planned activiites they had each day that week. Our 10 and 7 year olds loved the resort scavenger hunt, Minute-to-Win-It games and decorate your own donut activities. The pool was large and had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leavinchitown
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort, responded to this review

Leavinchitown. Thank you for review of The Abbey Resort. We are delighted to read that The Abbey was the perfect spring break vacation for your family, and that your children enjoyed the many activities and games we offered. As it sounds like you have plans to return this summer, might I suggest you visit our website and sign up for...

Reviewed 30 March 2015

That resort is excellent, the access from Chicago in train is very cheaper just Us 8 dollar run trip, is unbelievable! Peter the shuttle driver from Harvard Station is very kind and excellent host. The resort is perfect to take a get away from the city. Quiet and beautiful landmarks and the team service is very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivan C
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort, responded to this review

Ivan C, Thank you for your five-star review. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and the resort property. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz Guest relations

Jackson, Wisconsin
Reviewed 26 March 2015

All rooms open to common balconies. All up to date an nice. Good food, but pricey. I would like to return during warmer weather some time, but would eat off-site. Gorgeous property outside. Loved the little touch of having free smores to make over the outdoor fire!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort, responded to this review

Beth S, Thank you for your five-star review and you kind comments about our resort and grounds. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Kind regards, Sara Schmitz Guest relations

Illinois City, Illinois
Reviewed 25 March 2015

We have stayed here many times and always enjoy it. This is the first time staying at the Abbey in March. It was so relaxing. I thoroughly enjoyed the spa. I don't think there is anything more relaxing than the spa pool. The whole area is just soothing. I used the fitness center each day and appreciated the availability. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Illinois1
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort, responded to this review

Illinois1, Thank you for your five star review and your repeat business. We are delighted to read that The Abbey continues to be a great getaway for you. We also appreciate you naming those staff members who went above and beyond, We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Kind regards, Sara Schmitz Guest relations manager

Schaumburg, Illinois
Reviewed 24 March 2015 via mobile

My wife scheduled this trip through groupon - and the fact that it was less than a 90 minute drive from Chicago was very appealing. This was a quick family trip (three kids under 10) for spring break. This is the "off season" for the Abbey, and there weren't too many other families there (yeah). I was not impressed by...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Weekendgetaway628
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort, responded to this review

Weekendgetaway628, Thank you for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to share feedback from your stay, and also naming the staff members and activities that made a difference during your stay. I do apologize for the issues you encountered with the front desk. Our front desk team is often the first and last impression and we work hard...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 14 March 2015 via mobile

One of our favorite places to stay. Great hotel Great restaurant Great spa. The rooms are decent. The grounds are lovely. The indoor pool is nice, the whirlpool has the strongest jets I have ever experienced. They even have a game room. The spa is just fantastic. Very relaxing, great services, great pool, whirlpool, sauna and steamroom. Keep an eye...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank xtomx13
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort, responded to this review

Xtomx13, Thank you for your five star review. We appreciate your repeat business and are delighted to read that we continue to exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay. Kind regards, Sara Schmitz Guest relations

672 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (100)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (353)
Viewed
Amenities (85)
Viewed
Harbour View King (37)
Viewed
Harbour View Queen (26)
Viewed
Harbour View Suite (38)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (18)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Spa Pool (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
6.8 km away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
154 reviews
11.4 km away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
469 reviews
8.7 km away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
167 reviews
7.7 km away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
76 reviews
12.6 km away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Abbey Resort

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Price Range: $165 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abbey Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Abbey Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Abbey Resort staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Abbey Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want to sleep in late on a sunny day, probably won't happen, the rooms are very pleasantly bright, even with the blinds drawn!”
 of 5 bubbles zeusy33, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Use groupon for a good deal.”
 of 5 bubbles bailyw2017, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Suite was nice for 5 people”
 of 5 bubbles brendasE3906AZ, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be on the first floor you get a patio off your room then.”
 of 5 bubbles Zena347, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No tip necessary. All rooms are a delight.”
 of 5 bubbles margeo2013, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5