We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barkers Island Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Barkers Island Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Barkers Island Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 171: English reviews
minnesota
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

We came here for business for one night then pleasure for two. The staff is fantastic. I can't say enough good things about them. The food was pretty good. The rooms however are lacking some quality. HOWEVER, they are renovating and it does take some time. I wasn't very pleased with some of the issues I encountered but after I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeff441
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very excited about the renovations that are taking place and cannot wait until they are complete (which will take about a year or so). We always strive to give our guests the best experience and I am sorry that you encountered some issues but am please to hear that we were able to...

MN
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Was here for a family wedding and we never had to leave the property. I love that the pool is enclosed (it cuts down on room noise and hallway humidity). The rooms are spacious and the lobby/bar/restroom area are easy to maneuver. The food at the wedding was great and the gazebo was perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel I
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad that the wedding was wonderful. You are correct, you never have to leave. We have everything thing you would need right here. Food, drinks, fun, lodging, beautiful views, walking trails, ballroom and wedding terrace. We hope you stay with us again or have another family wedding.

Canada
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We stayed for just one night but would definitely stay again. The hotel is very clean and well cared for. The room was modern and the bed comfortable. We didn't hear any other guests. We were able to leave the window open and slept to the sound of gentle waves - very relaxing. Added bonus was the free breakfast with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacy T
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We are so proud of our hotel and our area. Our staff works very hard to give "Superior" service and it is nice to hear that we are succeeding. The best thing for us to hear is that our guests are comfortable and they can come and relax while enjoying our wonderful restaurant and...

Calumet, Michigan
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Not a happy camper at this place. Priced at 190 (with tax) seemed a bit high for a hotel with dirty carpets, non HDTV, shower with crack in wall, threat bare towels, dirty Duvet, thin walls, etc..... I also hoped to get a late night (10:10pm) snack but the kitchen closed at 10pm. Next time I'll stay at Holiday Inn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigschnibbs
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of renovations and the issues that you have noted will be addressed. As for housekeeping that is unacceptable and will be addressed with our housekeeping staff. We always strive to make sure our guests have a wonderful experience and I apologize that we fell short. I do hope that you...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We are staying at Barkers Island Inn as I was unable to find a reasonable price on Lake Superior on the Minnesota side (best hiking over there). The pros? ... Excellent restaurant, reasonable prices, and nice surroundings. The cons? Hotel is a little dated and run down, the Internet was spotty, our room had dirt in the bathroom when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank souldancer2
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very proud of our hotel and location. We are in the process of renovations which will take a couple years to complete and we are very excited with what has been done so far. I do apologize for the cleanliness of the bathroom. I will address this with...

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

This was our 3rd time here. I've read mixed reviews, but the good outweighs the bad. It is an older hotel, but hands down you won't find a better value than here. Our 2 room suite could use a door to separate the rooms, a new and softer bed, and maybe carpet. But for a whirlpool suite for $165/night with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kent A
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We cannot wait to have you come back. We too are excited about our renovations adn I have to agree that we have wonderful staff, views and food.

Knife River, United States
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Outside deck dining overlooking the marina! Fresh Lake Superior whitefish and lake trout daily! Enjoy the salad bar! Our meals are always fresh and delicious! Highly recommended! No reservations required!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lee And Jim B
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the very nice review. We are so glad you enjoy our food and atmosphere.

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel shows its age but is still reasonably well kept and worth comforting if you appreciate the location near the lakefront and adjacent to the marina. I've stayed here several times over the years. While it is dated, they do have a restaurant and bar, and offer a sit down breakfast that works well for business travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Italyvacationer2010
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review and staying with us when you are in town. We currently are doing some very exciting renovations and hope to be complete with them in the next year or so.

Cambridge,WI
Reviewed 19 July 2016

This hotel is in a great location with wonderful vistas. You can either overlook Lake Superior or the marina with their array of sailboats and large lake boats. We stayed here overnight since we had an early morning fishing charter scheduled. The charter boats are only about a half a block from the hotel. If you have a charter scheduled,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank akbound1
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are in the process of renovations and the rooms are not done yet. We have painted the rooms, the carpet is about a year old, the mattresses are new and the curtains we put in in March. We still need to receive our new bedding and hoping to have it in...

Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Our extended family of 22 has visited the area 3 times and have stayed here each time. Rating is primarily due to good rates,great location, great food/bar, and Excellent customer service. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and greeted us with a smile! Renovations are being made to update the hotel and are coming along nicely. On the negative...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmarks9486
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad that your family enjoyed their stay with us. We appreciate all your comments and will be addressing the housekeeping issue with our staff. We look forward to your stay with us again next year.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Superior
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Bridgeview Hotel
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Superior
6.2 km away
Super 8 Superior WI
Super 8 Superior WI
#1 of 8 in Superior
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
6.2 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
454 reviews
6.9 km away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 33 in Duluth
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Barkers Island Inn is located on an actual island and features a hotel, restaurant, and conference center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barkers Island Inn

Address: 300 Marina Dr., Superior, WI 54880-3287 (Formerly Country Hospitality Inn)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Superior
Price Range: $142 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barkers Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Barkers Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkers Island Hotel Superior
Barkers Island Superior
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barkers Island Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Superior, Wisconsin, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Barkers Island Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like the 1st floor next to the pool area when we stay with the kids”
Puddler2014, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor waay in the back”
danusschellenberg, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“First floor near the pool can be loud”
lolo4815, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room with a view of Lake Superior.”
patahynes, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You can ask for a room with a view of the marina or the bay. It's not guaranteed, but they try to honor it when possible.”
  • panoramic shot of the room
  • wide shot of the room
  • regular shot of the room
deanballweg, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5