We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barkers Island Inn

Booking.comUS$94*
View Deal
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Barkers Island Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Barkers Island Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 170: English reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Barkers Island for two days and nights around New Years. We were staying there for an event on New Years. The issues were annoying but not critically bad. The bathroom fan was dangling for the first night but the next day it was fixed after we complained. The room was either extremely hot or cold. Spoke with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross K
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I apologize that you did not have a positive experience with us. We always strive to make our guests stay a wonderful experience. I will address these issues with my staff so we do not fall short of our customers expectations.

Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We stayed one Saturday night. The room was over priced for its condition. The bed was very comfortable, but the pillows were like rocks. The bathroom sink tap was corroded and provided very little water. The shower was fine. Nothing special. No room to put my bathroom things because there is only a little shelf above the sink. Curtains were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne F
Breezy Point, Minnesota
Reviewed 29 October 2015

This is a nice motel on the water. It has great views of the lake and marina. It has a nice lounge and seperate dining room. Indoor pool and hot tub. The entry door to the pool area in front of room #117 banged as if someone was coming into our room. The door closer needs to be adjusted or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BBQJIM
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review and for letting us know about the door when you checked out. We did have that fixed right away. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

We spent one night at Bakers Island Inn. The staff was less then friendly upon check in. The walls seem thin, we got very little sleep because of the hall noise and slamming doors. The one thing it had going for it was the lovely location. Next time we are in Superior we will not stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krystal B
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I apologize that your experience with us was not "Superior". Our goal is to give the best customer service. Your comments are of great value and to us and we will use them as training tools with our staff.

Polson, Montana
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

Short and not so sweet....this place stinks. The room had a view of the lake, and that is the only thing good about it. Staff were not friendly. I would think a big hotel like this would take the initiative to use paint and brush and change carpets etc. and make a nice place here. No smoking would be nice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pattymarie66
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We can only grow and improve with every comment. We always strive to give the best customer service and I apologize that we failed. We are in the process of doing many updates to our hotel. We have already painted and put new carpeting in all our rooms with much more to come. We are...

Chetek, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 16 September 2015

My husband and I just spent our 13yr anniversary here and we had a wonderful time. The hotel itself needs an upgrade but it was not bad. We loved the pool and hot tub and the view from either side of the hotel was wonderful. The location was great and we loved that they provided bikes so we could explore...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KMW585
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am so glad to hear that you had a wonderful anniversary and that we met your expectations.

Chaska, Minnesota
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

This is one of Superior's best lodging options, and it is definitely our go to. The kids love the pool, and it has good on-site dining options. There is also plenty of things to do nearby. For our wedding, all of our guests stayed here, and they all seemed to enjoy their experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thnak you so much for your wonderful review. I am so glad that you and your guests enjoyed their stay with us. We hope you stay with us again.

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

For an old place they have clean and up to date rooms. The location couldn't be more beautiful, but it's not in lake superior if that's what your looking for. Its nearly surrounded by the back waters but you will need to go somewhere else if you want to get in the water. The staff was friendly and check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoshRR440
Thorp, Wisconsin
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

For a older hotel, I give it high ratings. Very well maintained. Rooms nice, beds comfortable, pool, sauna, and hot tub wonderful. Breakfast was good. The staff goes above average to give you a good visit. I had forgot my fan and I asked the front desk if they had one. They searched and got me one for me. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
Buenos Aires
Reviewed 23 August 2015

I would rate this hotel a 3.5 if it were possible. The decor in the rooms was a bit dated, but nothing horrible. Many of the views in the rooms are good; as I was not on the lake side, I expected to be viewing a parking lot. Instead, I had a view of sailboats in the marina and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PrescottBush

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Superior
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Bridgeview Hotel
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Superior
6.2 km away
Super 8 Superior WI
Super 8 Superior WI
#1 of 8 in Superior
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
6.9 km away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
173 reviews
6.2 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Barkers Island Inn is located on an actual island and features a hotel, restaurant, and conference center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barkers Island Inn

Address: 300 Marina Dr., Superior, WI 54880-3287 (Formerly Country Hospitality Inn)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Superior
Price Range: $140 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barkers Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barkers Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkers Island Hotel Superior
Barkers Island Superior
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barkers Island Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Superior, Wisconsin, United States
11 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Barkers Island Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like the 1st floor next to the pool area when we stay with the kids”
 of 5 bubbles Puddler2014, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor waay in the back”
 of 5 bubbles danusschellenberg, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“First floor near the pool can be loud”
 of 5 bubbles lolo4815, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room with a view of Lake Superior.”
 of 5 bubbles patahynes, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You can ask for a room with a view of the marina or the bay. It's not guaranteed, but they try to honor it when possible.”
  • panoramic shot of the room
  • wide shot of the room
  • regular shot of the room
 of 5 bubbles deanballweg, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$94* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$94
PricelineUS$94
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates