We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barkers Island Inn

Save
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (4)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good25%
  • Average34%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“free breakfast”(12 reviews)
“salad bar”(3 reviews)
“second floor”(9 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Barkers Island Inn
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
30
49
60
28
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
30
49
60
28
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastsalad barsecond floorpool and hot tubplay cardsshort drive to downtownnice view of the marinanice big pooldefiantly stay here againthe entire pool areagreat areaolder hotelsan upgradetwin portsexcellent customer servicebed was very comfortablea nice place to stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
61 - 65 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Outside of the older rooms (probably due for some renovations) the stay was just fine until breakfast. While the food was good, our waitress was extremely rude. As a greeting she tried telling us that we should have waited to be seated rather than seating...More

Thank Jared V
Response from Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island InnResponded 8 February 2016

Thank you for your review. I do apologize for the rude service you received in our restaurant. We do not condone this type of service from out staff. We should always strive to give the best service and we will definatley address this situation with...More

Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Barkers Island for two days and nights around New Years. We were staying there for an event on New Years. The issues were annoying but not critically bad. The bathroom fan was dangling for the first night but the next day it...More

Thank Ross K
Response from Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island InnResponded 7 January 2016

Thank you for your comments and I apologize that you did not have a positive experience with us. We always strive to make our guests stay a wonderful experience. I will address these issues with my staff so we do not fall short of our...More

Reviewed 15 December 2015

We stayed one Saturday night. The room was over priced for its condition. The bed was very comfortable, but the pillows were like rocks. The bathroom sink tap was corroded and provided very little water. The shower was fine. Nothing special. No room to put...More

Thank Marianne F
Reviewed 29 October 2015

This is a nice motel on the water. It has great views of the lake and marina. It has a nice lounge and seperate dining room. Indoor pool and hot tub. The entry door to the pool area in front of room #117 banged as...More

Thank BBQJIM
Response from Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island InnResponded 4 November 2015

Thank you for the nice review and for letting us know about the door when you checked out. We did have that fixed right away. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

We spent one night at Bakers Island Inn. The staff was less then friendly upon check in. The walls seem thin, we got very little sleep because of the hall noise and slamming doors. The one thing it had going for it was the lovely...More

Thank Krystal B
Response from Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island InnResponded 21 October 2015

Thank you for your response. I apologize that your experience with us was not "Superior". Our goal is to give the best customer service. Your comments are of great value and to us and we will use them as training tools with our staff.

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Room Service
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hot Tub
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Tennis Court
Details
Price range
US$100 - US$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$100 - US$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (4)
Pool & Beach (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Carm442
13 November 2017|
Answer
Response from shann0n0ls0n | Property representative |
We have done some renovations in our lobby, restaurant, lounge, ballroom, and pool area. We have replace furniture in our rooms, have new curtains and bedding.
0
Votes
Dianne S
6 July 2017|
Answer
Response from shann0n0ls0n | Property representative |
Cab fair from Barkers Island Inn to the Duluth Airport is around $30.00
0
Votes
Jason M
24 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Barkersislandinn | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. Yes we do have pet friendly rooms and there is a $10 plus tax per night pet fee.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"If you're romantic, get a room with the whirlpool tub, and mirrored walls."
Read review
"Duluth lights are amazing!!!"
Read review
"The further from the lobby, the quieter."
Read review
"nothing by the pool hallways"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing