The Victoria

The Victoria

Cosy double bedroom, was very good. Comfy larger bed, different firmness of pillows (I always bring my own but didn't need, they were so comfy)
Traveller (304)
room 9
Room & Suite (44)
So good - starters Prawn Pil Pil and Garlic mushrooms on sourdough
Dining (26)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Holkham
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Standing at the gateway to both Holkham Hall and the Holkham National Nature Reserve and beach, The Victoria, affectionately known as ‘The Vic’, is a classic English hotel and restaurant owned by the Earls of Leicester. There are twenty individually designed bedrooms across two historical buildings, ranging from small cosy doubles to large family suites. There is also an accessible bedroom on the ground floor. Dogs are welcome in the ten bedrooms inside the main building, as well as the main communal areas. The bar and dining rooms offer a relaxed blend of style and comfort, as well as incredible views over the nature reserve. The Victoria serves delicious locally sourced food, much of it grown and raised on the Holkham Estate with a bold emphasis on fresh, seasonal and local produce. The Vic’s restaurant and bar are open to hotel guests and pre-booked diners only.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming

Location

Park Road, Holkham, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1RG England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 38 out of 100
38
Norwich Airport
44.1 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,087 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Victoria hotel garners praise for its exceptional service, with staff members frequently described as friendly and attentive. Its prime location is a hit among guests, offering easy access to beaches and attractions like Holkham Hall. Visitors appreciate the spacious, comfortable rooms with luxurious and dog-friendly touches. While opinions on value vary, many acknowledge the comprehensive amenities, including cleanliness and a pet-friendly policy, despite occasional disturbances. The hotel exudes a welcoming atmosphere with traditional charm, making it a comfortable stay for many.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,087Review14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 623
  • 221
  • 119
  • 71
  • 53
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
LesleyD wrote a review Aug 2023
Braintree, United Kingdom
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a brilliant stay - my friend and I stayed - so we had a room each. Rooms 5 and 6 were very nice - lovely views over the fields. We thought the welcome and staff were the best thing about the hotel - really very friendly and so helpful. I left my toothbrush at home and they gave me one! They provided us with lots of information about the local area, a bus timetable. The food was excellent indeed - good menu - and we loved the conservatory. The fact you can take dogs also is a plus and lovely to see them even if you don't have one. All in all we loved our stay, and will be recommending to others. They really made our stay warm and welcoming. I also think it was excellent value. Plus you can visit the Holkham Estate - Hall, Walled Gardens, close to Holkham Beach, and we took a lovely walk to Wells and the bus back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma B, Marketing at The Victoria
Responded Sep 6, 2023
We are so glad you had a wonderful stay. Your fabulous feedback is very appreciated and we will pass it onto the Victoria team. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ACK wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night night stay celebrating Christmas at the Victoria. Our large room in the Ancient House was lovely, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the food was great and the menus offered plenty of choice. The location is beautiful and having visited Holkham a number of times before it never disappoints. Most of all , what made our stay so enjoyable was the staff. Always friendly, always smiling. From housekeeping to front of house everybody made us so welcome, their attention to detail and professional manner helped create a real home from home experience, but we also felt thorough spoilt too. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sophie H, Marketing Administrator at The Victoria
Responded Feb 18, 2020
Thank you so much for this lovely review, our team are so pleased that you enjoyed spending Christmas with us. We hope to see you back here next time you're in Norfolk!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Phil H wrote a review Nov 2021
Norwich, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had often travelled past the hotel on our walking visits to North Norfolk and had admired the building and the surrounding countryside every time. My wife had always fancied a stay and as a special treat I had booked a short break to celebrate our anniversary. Expectations were high,
We were not disappointed. Our room overlooked the marshland and was comfortable and bright. After a day's walking the stairs felt like they had become a bit steeper. The room, like the hotel in general, was very clean and the bed was large and very comfortable. The en-suite was impressive with a huge bath and new, separate shower. Not that we used it much, but the TV screen was a bit on the small side.
Face masks and hand gels were available throughout the building and staff wore masks when moving around community rooms and dining areas. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Perhaps the highlight of the hotel was the extremely high standard of the meals. Breakfast had a selection that covered most dietary palates (the eggs benedict were to die for). The choice for dinner was equally as impressive using local produce wherever possible. Nobody had to leave the table feeling that they were still hungry.
Although not the cheapest, The Victoria provides a quality stay. A great base for exploring North Norfolk. Thoroughly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma B, Marketing at The Victoria
Responded Nov 21, 2021
Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us and congratulations on celebrating your 50th! Thank you for your lovely comments too, we are really pleased you had a quality stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wotplanetuon wrote a review Sep 2020
Tring, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Picture the situation. You’ve booked an expensive night in an hotel with evening meal, but sadly the experience suggests we’re in the middle of a plague.
We asked for tea to be delivered to our room and a knock at the door heralded a tray left on a table outside and a member of staff scuttling off down the corridor.
It started to feel even stranger when we came downstairs for a drink before dinner. The staff behaved as though they were working in a leper colony rather than a full service hotel. Everything was thrust at arms length, be it a drink, a menu or a plate of food. When we questioned the lack of service (no salt and pepper on the table, food and drink delivered to a table alongside, no table cloths etc) we were told it was to keep the staff safe ....
The doors to the dining room were opened wide and when we asked for them to be closed as it was getting chilly we were told it was to keep a strong through draft given the threats of Covid! WTF is going on here!?
Does the MD, Mr Ben Hunter-Watts, know what’s happening and the effect this is having on his business, and more importantly does he care?
We’ve stayed in several good hotels since the beginning of July, including last night at the Congham Hall in Kings Lynn, and have never experienced anything so weird as this.
They are all behaving normally Mr Hunter-Watts - why isn’t your establishment? Can help but think you should get out more ...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joanne Lewis, Marketing at The Victoria
Responded Sep 11, 2020
We are sorry that our cautious approach was not to your liking, but given that the pandemic is still very much ongoing we are surprised at some of your comments. The safety of our guests and staff is our top priority which is why we have a number of procedures in place, including keeping our distance and offering sachets of salt and pepper to reduce multiple handling of pots. We understand other hotels may be operating differently, but until now, we have only received positive feedback from guests on how safe they felt during their stay and how the measures put in place to ensure their safety have not impeded their enjoyment. To this end, we will continue to operate in this way until restrictions have been lifted and we feel it is safe.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachieday3 wrote a review Aug 2021
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself, husband & 2 children (6 & 9) stayed in room 10 for 2 nights. This is on the top floor and has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It was really lovely and clean with everything you would need for a comfortable stay.

The location was perfect with a 5 minute walk to Holkham Hall one way and 10 mins to the beach the other way. Holkham Hall was fabulous with beautiful grounds, woodland park and a rope course (this was £19pp and really fun for our 9 year old). You can hire a boat which we didn't get round to doing but would do next time. Beach was great - quite a walk to get to the sea when the tide is out but worth it. Nice cafe by the nature reserve.

We had DBB (dinner, bed & breakfast). Dinner was lovely; steak one night and lobster the second. Our kids are fussy so there wasn't too much choice for them, but the chicken schnitzel was good. Nice cheese board and other puddings were delicious too. Breakfast had a good selection and the healthy option with multi-seed bread, avocado, chili jam and poached eggs was perfect. They also had full English, salmon & scrambled eggs and then standard things like croissants and cereal.

Staff were very friendly in both the hotel area and the restaurant.

Couldn't fault it, we will hopefully return again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Holkham Estate, Marketing at The Victoria
Responded Aug 6, 2021
Thank you for your review and rating. We're pleased you enjoyed a delightful stay at The Vic and some lovely time at Holkham Hall and the beach too.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicola I wrote a review Oct 2020
St. Albans, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were really looking forward to staying in the heart of The Holkham estate and making the most of the environment, the weather was not kind to us and whilst nobody can be held to account for that, we didn't feel that our stay at the Victoria Inn did anything to really lighten the gloom. We were rushed through reception due to the current situation, had a list of rules hurriedly recited by the lovely young receptionist who was trying to do her best. Our room was in the Ancient House, so after getting soaked again we entered our room which, as we had been warned, was void of all the comforts one would expect from a hotel charging £220+ a night.
It was easy enough to ring for any requests, but as Paula P pointed out, you do feel as if you are making a fuss, the room was however, was beautiful and very comfortable.
We dined in the restaurant which was completely void of any atmosphere, not a fire or candle in sight and the food being slid across an extra table, didn't really add to the ambience. We had been in Norfolk all week and plenty of other restaurants had managed to make us feel safe whilst still creating a pleasant dining experience.
It was our first time at the Victoria and we were very disappointed. For a high class hotel, we expected more of a fine dining experience, not the confused menu which is part pub and part steak house the restaurant experience really needs some attention in our opinion, the food was nice, but not outstanding.
The staff were pleasant and requests were responded to efficiently.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Holkham Estate, Marketing at The Victoria
Responded Oct 12, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve during this difficult time. We appreciate the experience and ambiance is different under new measures, but the safety of our guests and staff must remain our top priority. We hope you were still able to enjoy your visit to Holkham.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AndrewSEngland wrote a review Jul 2020
England
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were delighted with the safe but not over bearing precautions to keep us safe from infection.
All the staff were most helpful and engaging. The decision to limit numbers to residents only must be difficult for the business but gave us very good comfort as to our safety.
The food was obviously slightly limited but excellent and dishes changed daily.
The location is fantastic for access to the beach and wonderful walks and to the grounds of Holkham Hall. Where we enjoyed a feast in the park for a light lunch from the Duck Truck street food trailer.
We needed to unwind and the room, staff and whole environment exceeded our expectations.
Congratulations to all concerned.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joanne Lewis, Marketing at The Victoria
Responded Jul 28, 2020
Thank you for your review and such kind words, Andrew. We are so pleased you had a safe and enjoyable stay with us; it has been fantastic being able to welcome back residents after our closure. We have worked hard to ensure visits are not compromised and it sounds like you certainly made the most of your stay. Thanks again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judy B wrote a review May 2022
Maidstone, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Being now in our late seventies, our ideal holiday is three nights in a really good hotel where we can walk and visit interesting places within a few miles.
Younger members of our family recommended the Victoria, which they love, and we entirely agree with them. It is a delightful place to stay. Our room, in the Ancient House, was very comfortable, spotless and quiet, equipped with useful DIY coffee etc. A short walk took us to the main building where the food is superb. We ate in house on all three nights, and the menu choices were wide enough for that. The dining/breakfast room is large and well spaced, with pretty views, and staff were professional and friendly. We didn't take a dog, but there were several there during all our meals, well-behaved, whose presence didn't disturb us at all.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Holkham Estate, Marketing at The Victoria
Responded Jun 10, 2022
Thank you very much for visiting, Judy! We're proud to have been able to tick all your boxes. The Ancient House is a perfect location for a quiet and relaxing getaway, especially with it being on the North Norfolk coast too! Doggies are more than welcome here - and are super well behaved (especially after some pampering and long walks on the beach!)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TheScribelers wrote a review Jul 2021
Horsham, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Holkham Estate is a unique place with The Vic being the only place to stay in the village. It has 20 rooms, 10 in the main building and 10 in a renovated adjacent property. Our room was exceptional - in fact more a suite. The superking bed was very comfortable and the bathroom luxurious with a large bath and walk in shower. It might be an idea to ask for an upstairs room since we could hear footfall from the room above. The restaurant has a warm atmosphere and the staff were very friendly. The food was also excellent with a broad range of options at both breakfast and dinner. The Vic is within easy walking distance of the Estate and the beach with extensive walking options all around. Might be worth knowing the Number 36 Coastliner bus stops immediately outside The Vic.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: - Plentiful parking - ask for a room upstairs in the annex to avoid noise disturbance from...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma B, Marketing at The Victoria
Responded Jul 15, 2021
Thank you for the outstanding review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Victoria Inn, the staff & our food. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin P wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at the Victoria many times now and its always thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable. The location is stunning with incredible views across the wetlands to the sand dunes. It’s an easy walk down to the beautiful beaches or up to Holkham Hall. The staff are always friendly and very attentive. We also bring the dog along as the hotel is totally dog friendly. Rooms are extremely clean, comfortable and well fitted out. The private guest lounge with complimentary after dinner drinks is a great idea. You are bound to meet other guests for a friendly chat over a night cap.My only very very small (constructive) criticism would be that, although the food is generally great ,it might be time to perhaps up level the menu slightly. I highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have terrific views and tend to be quieter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma B, Marketing at The Victoria
Responded Apr 2, 2020
The team has loved reading your comments, thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Honesttraveller asked a question Oct 2019
Norfolk, United Kingdom28 contributions9 helpful votes
Hi do you sell gift vouchers? Thanks
Answer from Criticalboy
London, United Kingdom34 contributions17 helpful votes
Call them & ask
Answer from Marketing
Holkham, United Kingdom1 contribution
Hello, as other reviewers have noted - it is a fair walk but not impossible. We say it is around a 15 minute walk from The Victoria to the beach - perhaps a little longer with little legs. Once you reach the beach, it is a fair distance to the sea and sand dunes- another 15- 20 mins if the tide is out, so do bear that in mind. There are a few areas for dining in The Vic but please do telephone to discuss this seating options. Many thanks. We look forward to seeing you.
Answer from Laurane
Wells-next-the-Ses
Yes of course. Well behaved dogs are allowed in the dining room.
moses_karibu asked a question Jan 2018
Newbold, United Kingdom623 contributions274 helpful votes
Do you have rooms with walk in showers? Is there adequate parking
Answer from Laurane
Wells-next-the-Ses
Our website has full details of all rooms for you to check suitability. One room has a walk in shower
moses_karibu asked a question Jan 2018
Newbold, United Kingdom623 contributions274 helpful votes
Do you have rooms with walk in showers? Is there adequate parking
Answer from Izzie1024017
Hassocks, United Kingdom32 contributions30 helpful votes
Yes we stayed in a room with a wet room.
WWCM wrote a tip Jul 15
13 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no lift, so one has to carry luggage up the narrow stairs. Older guests might want to stay in the Ancient House ground floor rooms"
Read full review
Paul F wrote a tip Jun 2024
Leicester, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Ancient Building, is lovely, but is only available to non dog owners."
Read full review
Katherine D wrote a tip Jun 2024
Hampshire, United Kingdom54 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very good parking which includes an overflow car park."
Read full review
Gary wrote a tip May 2024
5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just go there!!"
Read full review
Martin W wrote a tip Apr 2024
London, United Kingdom892 contributions270 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Think carefully about the Snug room as it is small."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Holkham area.
PRICE RANGE
C$405 - C$508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the victoria at holkham hotel wells-next-the-sea, victoria at holkham hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Victoria Hotel at Holkham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkWells-next-the-SeaHolkham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Victoria - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Victoria
Which popular attractions are close to The Victoria?
Nearby attractions include Holkham National Nature Reserve (0.03 km), Holkham Bay (2.0 km), and Wells Next The Sea Beach (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Victoria?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Victoria?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Victoria?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Victoria?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wells Crab House, Socius, and Carpenter's Arms.
Is The Victoria located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Holkham.
Are pets allowed at The Victoria?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Victoria?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Holkham Hall (1.3 km), St. Withburga's Well (2.9 km), and All Saints Church (4.5 km).
Is The Victoria accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.