We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rib Mountain Inn

View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Rib Mountain Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Rib Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 48: English reviews
Delafield, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 3 April 2013

With an unusually cold spring, and our love of skiing, I booked reservations for a ski destination for Spring Break. This was the LAST weekend that the ski hill would be open and weather was iffy. Upon review of the 10 day forcast, which was rain, I called to see if I could cancel our reservation, and the answer was...

6Thank triciafenske
Tara P, Manager at Rib Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Tricia, I am very sorry to hear about your experience with Rib Mountain Inn and any inconvenience it may have caused you. It is our aim to clearly and effectively communicate with our guests and that was clearly not achieved here. We are now under new management and ownership and are appreciative of your feedback on ways to improve our...

Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 24 March 2013

If you've seen the show on The Travel Channel you know what I mean. We stayed two nights in a two bedroom Fireside Villa #7 in conjunction with a two day run at nearby Granite Peak. Our choice was based on the multiple bedroom options and location to the hill. Upon arrival, we were not happy to find out that...

7Thank procrastin8tor
Racine, Wisconsin
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My husband and I placed a reservation 3 weeks before our arrival. The hotel charged us for both nights up front-$548.00!! We called 7 days in advance to cancel, but the manager told us that the policy is to keep the full amount they charged our credit card because their cancellation policy is 30 days out. Seriously? I travel quite...

2Thank Langangel
Pekin, Illinois
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I stayed here with 2 other adults this past week, and we were all impressed with the Inn. We stayed in one of the Villas across the street from the main lodge, and it was spacious, clean, and quiet. Some other reviews have mentioned rude or unavailable staff; we never encountered this problem. Whenever we needed assistance at the desk,...

Thank ellipsequeen
Joliet, Illinois
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My friends and I stayed in a 2-bedroom Villa for a weekend skiing trip. I emailed an availability request and spoke extensively with Tammy who was very helpful. When I called, Tammy was in a meeting, but the gentlemen who handled our reservation knew exactly who I was and what I was looking to reserve. We initially were supposed to...

1Thank AdvntrGrl31
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Our family stayed in two rooms between Christmas and New Year for our annual Christmas experience. It was! Pictures looked nice and it was close to Granite Peak ski area. Breakfast was good, but that's where it ended. On the second night of our stay, we returned from skiing to find our room full of smoke. We assumed that the...

2Thank JFTravels611
Forest Park, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Old drafty building with paper-thin walls! Everyone was extremely rude to us from the moment we got there. A smoke alarm was beeping in the hallway right outside our door and I called to have them fix it, they did not. We still drove to the slopes every day so it makes better sense to stay at a much nicer...

3Thank ROED9
Palatine, Illinois
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Old dump! WAY over-priced. Paper thin walls and LOUD. Can find much better accommodations less than 3 miles away for nearly HALF the price. Walk to slopes entirely over- rated. Staff practically incompetent. Cancelled "half" my reservation without cause or confirmation. Completely unreliable, unhelpful and rude! Phil the manager could not run a trailer park let alone an Inn. You...

2Thank World T
letsgonow333, Director of Sales at Rib Mountain Inn, responded to this review

In all honesty the gentleman booked for four days and then decided to cancel. We advised him that due to the late cancellation we would try and rebook the room for him. We re-booked the unit for 2 of the nights and informed him as such. After he arrived his friends were also staying but they were staying for all...

Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed in a VIP room in the main lodge. The room was clean. The walls are a bit thin. We could hear the person next door snoring and we could hear the family below us. The bathroom was clean with plenty of towels. The shower head had too much water pressure which made washing your face in the shower...

Thank Nikki S
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Way overpriced. Paper thin walls. Loud obnoxious guests with lots of yelling until after midnight though quiet hours were supposed to start at 10pm. No one available to help out as front desk closed at 10pm. Room was wet and moldy.

2Thank Halomania

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (8)
Room/Suite (1)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (21)
Room/Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
View from Room (1)
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 10 in Wausau
427 reviews
5.6 km away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 10 in Wausau
1,006 reviews
1.8 km away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 10 in Wausau
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
2.8 km away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#5 of 10 in Wausau
125 reviews
3.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover a one-of-a-kind boutique HOTEL and Inn nestled in the beautiful Northwoods of Wausau, Wisconsin, just steps away from the highly acclaimed Granite Peak Ski Area and Rib Mountain State park, where the luxury of an upscale bed-and-breakfast are combined with the convenience of a resort hotel. With Woodburning fireplaces in every room, thoughtful amenities and impeccable service, Rib Mountain Inn/ Granite Peak Lodge promises an exciting experience that you won't find anywhere else. Enjoy our extended stay options or nightly hotel. Outdoor Hot tub 14 person On golf course and Ski hill remodeled in 2015 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rib Mountain Inn

Address: 2900 Rib Mountain Way, Wausau, WI 54401-9281
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Price Range: $149 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rib Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rib Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rib Mountain Hotel Wausau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rib Mountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call and speak with someone for exact room (bed) layout, as the website isn't very clear.”
garretts885, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Townhouse 1 had lots of windows, a balcony deck off the living room and master!”
Plake2013, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check on the wifi. We did and we still didn't get any.”
gotkelb, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Not there...go elsewhere they Do Not Care”
614unhappy, 28 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Villa 7 is the end unit”
analiesej, 3 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
US$99* /night
View Deal
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates