We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Painted Buffalo Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Painted Buffalo Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

613 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Painted Buffalo Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 543: English reviews
wokingham
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My Husband and I was placed in this motel as part of our tour. We were horrified when we saw that the road directly in front of the building had been dug up for half of the road way. So you could not drive or walk into the front of the building. When we went to check in we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susiewongWokingham
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear you experienced some issues during your time with us and we are very sorry the Town of Jackson road construction had a negative impact on your stay. As you may be aware, this project was not something we had control over and many businesses around the town were affected by it. The good news...

Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here. The staff were generally extremely helpful and friendly. (Just one young rather surly young lady. The others were great.) We were given a quiet room upstairs. There are some very good points about this motel, but the stairwells were anything but clean and the very thin UNUSED but stained towels were definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret G
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking a few minutes to share about your stay. It sounds like it was an overall great time! We are sorry to hear about the issue with the towels. Please know that if that ever happens here, we want to hear about it immediately so that we can address the issues. You should get to...

Hampshire
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A comfortable and spacious, motel style room with microwave. but walls a bit thin and noisy plumbing. Room was clean but a bit dingy. Cuddly buiffaloes added a more homely touch Short walk to town. supermarket and eating places

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoneBrit
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It looks like a couple of quick issues to serve as reminders for our staff and an otherwise great stay! I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and we will look forward to having you back again soon!

Placerville, CA
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Room was spacious and clean and staff was courteous. Location is excellent...VERY close--very easy walking distance--to downtown. By no means "terrible" or "poor"...don't know where some of those reviews came from. We found it perfectly adequate and a great value and would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamieKay530
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. While we are aiming for five stars, I am happy that you could give us four. We will continually use customer feedback to improve and go for five!

Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We arrived at 2PM and were told our room was not yet ready. We requested a 2nd floor room but were told by the woman at the front desk that our room was "assigned" and could not be changed. We returned at around 5PM and checked into room 328 on the ground level. Immediately upon opening the door we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KimfromPA
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your candor! We appreciate the positive feedback, and we are also grateful to hear the not-so-great about the first room as well. Though all the rooms on the property have been remodeled, it sounds as if the first room you were in could use a little deep cleaning attention. I will have housekeeping address it...

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Jackson is an expensive town. So, just like if you visit New York, once you adjust your expectations on how much you will pay, the Painted Buffalo Inn really delivers. The accommodations are basic but clean which is most important. You pay for the location which is excellent and the amenities which are fine- and the pool is wonderful. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasper H
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking a few minutes to share about your stay. It sounds like it was an overall great time! We are so glad you had a good time and found our property to be clean and the staff friendly. We look forward to hosting you again!

Reviewed 13 September 2013

I had reservations for two nights. I live in Denver and as a result of the major flood in northern Colorado, I 25 was CLOSED from Erie to Cheyenne all day ( still is ) and all travel on alternate routes was forcefully discouraged due to stalled traffic from people taking an alternate route. I was unable to physically get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Krlvet
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you experienced something that caused you not to be able to stay at our hotel. We understand that things can come up at any point but that is why we are very clear up front about our cancellation policy. We regret the difficulties you faced, however we cannot be responsible...

Tinley Park, Illinois
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Major road renovation right outside the hotel makes it accessible only from the back. Lots of noise all day from 7AM until 6PM. Add that to the many tour buses that park in their lot, and you have sleepless nights. Buses park right next to rooms and keep their engines running until many complaints get them to shut down, Then,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DocJHH
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid feedback. We completely understand your comments regarding the Town of Jackson construction project. We apologize that you were not informed about it beforehand! This has been one of our priorities ever since the town informed us the project would be happening. We do send a pre-stay email to all of our guests with maps and...

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Booked to stay here for 3 nights as a base for visiting Yellowstone Park. Unfortunately, we had not realised that it is some 60+ miles away from the south entrance and not quite what we had expected. However, it served its purpose. The beds were very comfortable albeit that the room was very basic. Breakfast was served in Betty's café....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pookie19
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback! We are happy to have such a great location, being the closest town to the south entrance to Yellowstone. Luckily there is also that beautiful drive through Grand Teton Park between Jackson and Yellowstone. We are glad the other parts of your stay with us lived up to your expectations. We look forward to having...

Cedartown, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We arrived late and using TripAdvisor tried to find the Best Western Plus which is no longer a Best Western. The front desk person at called and referred us to the Painted Buffalo which is in the middle of town. As it was almost 11 pm and pouring rain, we had little choice or time to shop around. We ended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morris C
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. While it's not fun to hear that we didn't live up to your (or our) expectations, it will make us better to know it. We will share your comments with our maintenance staff. Thank you for helping us improve. It is my intention to make sure that you feel taken care of, and want to...

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.5 km away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#18 of 41 in Jackson
510 reviews
0.0 km away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#30 of 41 in Jackson
320 reviews
0.2 km away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 41 in Jackson
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites 49'er
0.2 km away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 41 in Jackson
690 reviews
0.6 km away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
135 room hotel only three short blocks from the historic town square. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Painted Buffalo Inn

Address: 400 West Broadway, Jackson, WY 83001
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Price Range: $126 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Painted Buffalo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Painted Buffalo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Buffalo Hotel Jackson
Painted Buffalo Motel
Painted Buffalo Inn Jackson Hole, WY
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Painted Buffalo Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles kdeogburn, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Luckily we had a ground floor room so no shifting cases up the stairway- but it's all good”
 of 5 bubbles Ren264, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose an upstairs room, away from the stairway and housekeeping office. The stairs are not that steep, and there are not that many”
 of 5 bubbles Leighf2525, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request upper floor, ground floor duffers from heavy footsteps above.”
 of 5 bubbles SallyJMGray, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for ground floor room if you can't manage stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles elyc835, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5