We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 116: English reviews
London, UK
Reviewed 22 January 2009

Not sure why the Areca gets mixed reviews. We thought it was great. From the moment you walk in to the massive Lanai (perfect for cocktails at sunset) and main room, with comfy sofas, ample reading materiel, and a very cosy atmosphere through to the vast garden and hidden away rooms. You really feel like you're miles away from anything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UK-7
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 26 December 2008

Well, let's start with the good things - breakfast was served on a really great porch with a view of the meticulous yard and many palm trees. The food was wonderful and the hostess very friendly. They had lots of reference books and brochures available to figure out where to eat and where to play and helped us sort that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SheWhoTravels
LA
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We stayed here for a few days and it was not a very pleasant experience. We just did not feel very welcome. In most bed and breakfast establishments, you have more privacy and more freedom - not here! The food is good but the rest - look elsewhere... the hosts just aren't very gracious.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank yenjilt
Steve G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We are not certain who this customer is as we had no forewarning that someone was unhappy. Usually we will read our customers and address any issues they may have. We did everything for these guests that we do for all other guests yet they went away unhappy. Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Come back and we...

Canada
Reviewed 14 July 2008

This review is very late coming but better late than never! We were on the Big Island for two weeks, and stayed in several B&B's around the island, Areca Palms was by far our best experience. Steve and Janice are WONDERFUL! Janice helped us get the most of our time in the area and arranged tickets for a snorkeling cruise....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank loutri
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 27 May 2008

This is just the place, close enough to the Kona action but quietly located about 15 minutes south of Kailua. Private park like property, beautifully maintained home with several rooms for guests, and the best of all fantastic breakfasts starting out each day. Janice and Steve couldn't be more welcoming, helpful, or accommodating. This is a spot for even a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank emmWI
cincinnati
Reviewed 9 March 2008

Our three day stay at Areca Palms was fantastic. I wish we could have stayed longer. Breakfast was so plentiful, fresh, and delicious that only a light snack was needed in the afternoon. The hosts were very helpful with suggestions of restaurants and nearby activities. Snorkeling gear and beach towels were provided each morning and taken care of in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mfrickeCincinnati
Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 January 2008

My fiancee and I spent a wonderful 4 days at Areca Palms. After reading some of the previous reviews, I think that it is important to note that it is a B&B, not a luxury inn or resort with dozens of employees to wait on you night and day. That said, this is an immaculate property with hosts who are...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bryan_01075
Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 January 2008

My wife and I stayed at Areaca Palms for 2 days (january 6th and 7th ) and if we had it to do all over again we would have rearranged our trip to spend more time with them on the Kona side of the island and less time on the Hilo siade and on Maui. Steve and Janice have worked...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ignitowsky
canada
Reviewed 15 December 2007

Grounds were beautiful, but outdoor hot tub not working, which was part of the interest in this B&B. Hosts is hardly the word, more like gate keepers. Janice was pleasant enough, but oh so controlling. She spoke to the guests as if we were children. Steve was unfriendly to say the least, and he seemed very put out by having...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank yogamamaCanada
lakehawaii, owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We feel the need to reply to this review because the issues written are not justified. Regarding the Jacuzzi: It was down for a week only because the islands were out of the oxidation products needed and they had to be ordered from the mainland. It was working but could not be filled and opened without this sanitation. I am...

mlleljc
Reviewed 7 December 2007

We just returned from a visit to the big Island. We stayed in two other B and Bs and really feel that we have something to compare Areca to. As far as the actual rooms and grounds, they were immaculate and very cozy. The jacuzzi was empty so make sure you check it is in working order if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mlleljc

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
17.5 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.6 km away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
283 reviews
7.7 km away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.9 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
8.1 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
2.5 km away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#2 of 15 in Captain Cook
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Kona, Areca Palms Estate is nearby to great snorkeling, great hikes, historical sites and gardens. Our rooms are comfortably equipped and impeccably clean. Located far enough off of the highway yet easy to find. Very quiet location. We serve a wonderful breakfast including, entrée, Island fruit, homemade breads and pastries and of course coffee, tea and juice. Complementary beach equipment, chairs, coolers etc., and snorkel equipment provided. Also available on sight are Facials by a Hawaii State licensed Cosmetologist. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 81-1031 Keopuka Mauka Road, P.O. Box 489, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Price Range: $155 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areca Palms Estate Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Captain Cook
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lanai room is great for kids to share”
Kj1711, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
1 of 1
Check these sites for availability
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates