We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 146: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The lobby and rooms are pleasant although the room we were given had no window that could be opened, resulting in non-stop noisy air conditioning. The 'soak tub' seemed like a nice feature, but it took nearly an hour to fill! The front desk staff was friendly, but tediously slow. Add that they were also responsible for providing towel service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuck L
GrandNaniloaHotel, Public Relations Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your recent review. We do apologize that we did not meet your expectation. If you ever find yourself in Hilo again, please allow us the opportunity to serve you again. Mahalo.

West Lafayette, Indiana
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is a beautiful new Hilton property; however, the true quality of this property is the people. Wendy (in accounts), Nicole Stallard (at the desk), Liza (dining) were all superb and took care of any and all questions and concerns. This hotel is a newly acquired property that is going through massive renovation, so the staff is tasked to their...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank IN_Travelers47906
About Hotel's Favourite Review
GrandNaniloaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Aloha IN_Travelers47906, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found our Hotel and amenities to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future! A Hui Hou!

Talkeetna
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Reserved for 7 nights..this is day four. hotel has gone thru major renovations the past couple of years and is still underway..operationally, there is work to be done by management. Parking is a nightmare. Free yes, but you might have to walk several hundred yards and cross a busy road. No valet parking and handicap spaces are limited, poorly marked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dennisf755
GrandNaniloaHotel, Public Relations Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your feedback and we apologize that we did not meet your expectation. We are currently working on the issues that you experienced and appreciate you letting us know. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Mahalo

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel for one night while we visited the Hilo area. Hilo is such a quaint city and one we wished we could have explored a little more if we had had the time. This hotel is still being remodeled but our room was done and it was so cute. Very modern in design and reminded me an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beckie T
GrandNaniloaHotel, Public Relations Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your recent review we appreciate your feedback and we do apologize that we did not meet your expectation. We strive for excellent customer service and we will work hard to fix the issues that you've experienced. Please give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Mahalo

Hilo, Hawaii
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I stayed here for some much needed R&R. We had a quiet room on the 7th floor with a balcony and great ocean view! Our room was very clean, and the amenities were alright...except for the coffee machine... that thing was awesome! The bathroom was very clean as well, offering lots of towels, a great tub/shower combo,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CLB_DESIGNS
GrandNaniloaHotel, Public Relations Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. Our staff prides ourselves with outstanding customer service. Cole will certainly appreciate your kind words. We look forward to your return in the near future. Mahalo

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our first stay at Naniloa; though we live on the Big Island we had a good reason to have a Staycation on the Hilo side. The location of the Hotel is terrific on Banyan Drive next to what we find to be one of the best parks in the State. It belonged to a Queen and deservedly so; we thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keaka_Pono
GrandNaniloaHotel, Public Relations Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future. Mahalo

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Clean, spacious rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Peace and quiet. New and welcoming entry area. Free parking! Beautiful grounds to sit and watch the sunset. Only downside was variety and quality of food at free breakfast (but it's not major). We would definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alysson W
GrandNaniloaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the new future. Mahalo

Santa Clara, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As a recently converted hotel to the Hilton Doubletree Brand this is a great option for Hilton followers. All the open breeze airways and balconies allow for perfect afternoon breezes. Recent renovations will make this hotel a great hit for the town of Hilo. We loved the simplicity and artwork incorporating the islands hidtory. We will be back for sure...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank terryd804
GrandNaniloaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Aloha, We appreciate your recent feedback. We appreciate your continued support. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms were excellent. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding but most impressive was the breakfast staff. The women working the breakfast were non stop. It was very busy but they kept their great aloha spirit and served a lot of people in a short period of time very efficiently. We will definitely stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mab1022
GrandNaniloaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Aloha, We're glad that we provided you with accommodations for 3 nights. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Mahalo

New Hartford, United States
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location, although a little noise from the airport. Very convenient to walk to town, and a great little Japanese park nearby. Beautiful views of the bay and on clear days Mauna Kea!! Hotel was finishing(?) renovations, so construction during the day, always had to wait for elevators. The lobby was great, very open, with a very inviting bar. Relaxxing....

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I5595ZArayw
GrandNaniloaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Aloha, We appreciate your honest feedback. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectation. Please visit us again in the near future. Mahalo

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.2 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
98.3 km away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.7 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
84.8 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
2.5 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
500 reviews
96.3 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the newly renovated Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, the newly renovated waterfront hotel welcomes you with modern and stylish accommodations, an outdoor pool, a 9-hole golf course, and 24-hour front desk. Experience warm island hospitality for a truly unforgettable stay in the charming town of Hilo on the Big Island. FREE amenities include: FREE Round of Golf daily, FREE Parking, and FREE WiFi. CURRENT PROMOTION: Enjoy FREE breakfast for 2 daily when you book by January 31, 2017, for stays from January 3 through March 31, 2017. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 93 Banyan Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720 (Formerly Grand Naniloa Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Price Range: $170 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree By Hilton Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a bay view room”
 of 5 bubbles 357beckiet, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bay View Room”
 of 5 bubbles Keaka_Pono, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay on higher floor away from the bar on weekends. Especially if you have family”
 of 5 bubbles jasjulsyl18, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We booked on line and were very happy with our room on the 8th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles MazD_13, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ocean Front Junior Suite has an amazing wraparound terrace and vies”
 of 5 bubbles Springblessing, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5