Lilikoi Inn

Lilikoi Inn

75-5339 Mamalahoa Hwy Apt C, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-8611
We could not get enough of the Hawaiian Sunsets
Traveller (637)
One of our queen size large bedrooms
Room & Suite (156)
This is where the delicious breakfast is served...with coffee from the trees down below the lana
Dining (118)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#2 of 6 B&Bs in Holualoa
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Small coffee farm set in a lush area near local attractions of beaches, hikes, snorkeling areas yet remote. The breakfasts are gourmet and everyone leaves the breakfast table with great ideas for the day. The big island has a lot to offer and is full of magical places. Come and experience paradise on the big island of Hawaii! We look forward to your visit at the Lilikoi Inn. Trina and Shai
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Special diet menus
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Hebrew and 2 more
741Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 670
  • 46
  • 10
  • 10
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
4CindiG wrote a review Feb 2020
Pismo Beach, California1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The reason we book bed and breakfast accommodations is to meet people and learn about the locale from the owners who live there. Part of the experience is lively conversations over breakfast. You learn from other guests and from the hosts what to do for your next island experience.
The hosts were so knowledgeable about the island, better than a book and better than a hotel concierges !
Our daily breakfasts were wonderful, including home made granola over fresh fruit daily and then a breakfast entree. Also fruit juices and Kona coffee grown on the property.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LilikoiInn, Owner at Lilikoi Inn
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Thanks so much for coming to the lilikoi Inn. We loved having you and sharing our home in paradise. We hope you had a good trip home and find the time to come again sometime. Enjoy the winter and we will be thinking of you! with aloha, Trina and Shai
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neer Roggel wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An optimal experience. Having researched many, we had spent time in a few accomodations across the big island, and discovered that they tend to invest their energy in either the outdoor experience (e.g., a nice lanai overlooking Kawaihae bay but small quarters) or the indoor experience (e.g., a nicely appointed house by Hilo, but otherwise nondescript). Lilikoi Inn strikes that rare perfect balance between the two, without compromising on either for the price range. On the one hand, theirs is a serene and gorgeous lanai overlooking the coast and a lush garden with tropical flora galore, where at night we could hear the gentle song of coqui frogs. On the other hand, their generous and private living space (we stayed in the Plumeria room) provided us with everything that we required, while the open common area served for distanced socializing and really the best crafted food we have had on the island. Shai and Trina were the most gracious of hosts and were genuinely happy to have us. Our only regret is not being able to stay longer, but we will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trina Yerlick, Owner at Lilikoi Inn
Responded Sep 17, 2021
Thanks so much for your review, One of the best written this year! We are glad you enjoyed the food and of course the room. We try to make our place comfortable without being too much. We are now painting and renevating a bit so come next year to see the changes. with aloha, Trina and Shai
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
frank f wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A haven hidden on the side of a mountain on a secluded private winding road. The entrance to Lilikoi Inn is covered in lush growth of hibiscus, broadleaf plants, and various jungle type greenery. Walking up the stairway to the grand Lanni overlooking the bay 1600 feet below in the hamlet of Kona. The grand entrance of the bedroom off the Lanni is appointed with luxury king bed and large ensuite with all amenities. Upon arrival we were greeted with fresh fruit smoothies. Delicious!!! The 8 am breakfast, with all quests and our hosts was the best. The conversation was lively and informative, with Shai guiding all to destination of choice. Shai would provide his phone number if you were lost. I highly recommend the Lilikoi Inn. Lorraine
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The room was ocean view, very clean, and a comfortable bed. Loved it,. Will be back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LilikoiInn, Owner at Lilikoi Inn
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having you as guests, and hope you come again. I am glad you enjoyed our welcome smoothie plus the lush vegetarian surrounding the house. Once again we hope you have great memories, and enjoyed your visit in Hawaii. with aloha, Trina and Shai
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen M wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our booking wasn’t properly handled. After making reservations 5 months in advance and paying a deposit, the owners claimed no knowledge. However they were able to accommodate us for two nights. Unfortunately there were no amenities in the room. No microwave, no refrigerator, no coffee pot. Before entering the room we were asked to always remove our shoes. Floors were disgustingly dirty as was the bathroom and shower. Woke up with a cat sleeping in our room because interior door did not latch. Cat hairs all over outdoor furniture chair pads. Breakfast was excellent and Shai was extremely informative and cordial. However his wife Trina seemed to be self-centered and overbearing. We were unable to have a nice conversation with the other guests because she kept interrupting. We would not recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LilikoiInn, Owner at Lilikoi Inn
Responded Jan 15, 2020
yes, we are very sorry about the booking. There was a serious computer problem which it took me two months to solve. I hired three different programmers but few know about the php language which needed to be updated on my website. So, I did not get the final confirmation. There were other guests who contacted me to find out if everything was ok but I heard nothing from this guest and was unaware of their arrival. Luckily, I had a free room and gave them a free upgrade to our nicest room. The room had just been cleaned, and it was ready for guests as we checked it and spruced it ourselves. I am not sure what you are referring too. We are sorry about our friendly cats, and there are ways to lock the doors from the inside since they are able to open unlocked doors. We always talk at the breakfast table about places to go, beaches to enjoy and sometimes people are talking at the same time, it is not right to make judgements about people you do not know when this is about reviewing the hotel. I think you had a good stay, with a great breakfast, comfortable bed and fresh coffee from our garden. We are sure you most likely enjoyed our lovely island of Hawaii. That is what counts! with aloha, lilikoi inn.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelley C wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Lilikoi Inn is such a beautiful, peaceful place to stay on the gorgeous Big Island of Hawaii. The rooms are clean, quiet, and comfortable. The view on the lanai is unbelievable. Shai's breakfasts (plus the coffee) are out of this world--every day a different creation using fresh eggs and fruit from the farm, and he was accommodating of my dietary restriction. I will treasure the time I spent in this oasis of calm. Trina and Shai are such hospitable hosts. I can't wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rhianna M. wrote a review Sep 2020
11 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I wish I could give 10 stars to Shia and Trina for the most delicious food, most gracious hosting, comfortable accommodations and aloha feel. This is an Ohana house, a great place for families, singles, and couples that loved shared spaces, amazing location and great conversation. The view from their lanai is beyond spectacular. The location is close to everything
Downtown. They have bananas and coffee growing on the farm that you can eat and drink while staying there. Trina & Shia are Auntie & Uncle to our 7year old now,
he says it’s one of his favorite places in the world. You must love really really delicious homemade style food, oh and the eggs are from their chickens - best eggs ever!! I’m vegan and they accomplished the most amazing breakfast and added eggs and meat for the rest of the family after the veggies were cooked. They gave us the best advice on beaches and were to
eat around town. It was magical. We love the Lilikoi Inn and them and cannot wait to make the trip from Puna to Kona to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trina Yerlick, Owner at Lilikoi Inn
Responded Sep 17, 2020
ThANKS so much for coming. We loved meeting your family and hope you come again! We are so glad we just heard the beaches will open up oct 1, and then Oct 15, we can begin getting tourists again if they get a covd test prior to coming. so, soon, we can all travel. SO, now the inn will have more guests but we love our guests who come from other parts of the island!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ma L wrote a review May 2022
California7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Both my husband and I were delighted we picked the Lilikoi Inn for our Kona stay. Trina and Shai were fabulous hosts, from the delish breakfast Shai made for us to the morning visits around the table on their beautiful lanai. They are also extremely knowledgeable about the island and were a great help plan our daily excursions.

We had a large and beautiful suite complete with a great tub and separate shower. The grounds are gorgeous too, you can even see the ocean from the lanai deck. I thought the price was extremely fair as it also included a huge fresh breakfast each day. To top it off, it's not far from the airport either.

If you are lucky enough to find an open room at the Lilikoi, grab it! :)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trina Yerlick, Owner at Lilikoi Inn
Responded May 26, 2022
Thanks so much for coming to see us!! glad you enjoyed the island! with aloha, Trina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sherri wrote a review Sep 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Great food. Inexcusable filth! Common kitchen was a nightmare of cobwebs and pet hair. Shared fridge was way overdue for a cleaning.
Special requests were met with bewilderment and opposition. Parking was a free for all muddy lot. Located on a west facing slope with great sunsets.
Hosts have volunteers work at housekeeping but much is missed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this place
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trina Yerlick, Owner at Lilikoi Inn
Responded Sep 17, 2021
aloha, we are sorry you were not happy with our cleaning. We do clean the rooms regularly and do an extreme cleaning in between guests with chlorox and very thorough for covid. We do not however change the towels each day as we feel this is bad for the earth and wastes water. If a guest needs constant towel changing they are probably better off at a hotel with a large staff. It was unfortunate you came while we were changing staff as our new person is much better, and gets everything done. At the time the host was also having some health issues, and we did the best we could.We also have a guest kitchen which is a great perk but unfortunately some guests do not take their food when they leave, We are not sure what to throw out and what to keep so we wait a couple of days and then clean out. OUR PETS ARE NEVER IN THE KITCHEN! We are a farm, and we have some bugs. But we clean all of the time, but not like a big hotel , where you would pay twice the amount daily. Our charm is the farm where you get fresh grown coffee each day and fresh fruit from our trees. SO if you want great food, and a great sunset come to our place to experience real Hawaii, not the Hilton kind! Hope you enjoyed Hawaii! with aloha, Trina and Shai
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Asha D wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I were blown away by the gorgeous grounds, delicious meals, and hospitality at the Lilikoi Inn. The rooms and lanai are surrounded by lush foliage and beautiful views to the ocean (and the occasional chicken and cat ambling through). Breakfast is different each day, and always very tasty, nutritious, and filling. We really enjoyed getting to stay with Shai and Trina and would definitely recommend the Inn to all!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trina Yerlick, Owner at Lilikoi Inn
Responded Sep 17, 2021
Thanks so much for coming to the lilikoi Inn. We loved having you and hope you come again. We are glad you had a great time and thanks for writing a review. with aloha , Trina and Shai
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelduck111 wrote a review Aug 2021
Atlanta, Georgia140 contributions267 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently returned from an amazing stay at the Lilikoi Inn. Shai and Trina were exceptionally gracious and friendly hosts and their Inn is just lovely. We were met and welcomed by Trina who showed us to our nicely prepared room with plenty of space for our two kids. Our kids enjoyed feeding the chickens and playing with the dogs and cats on property. The food was exceptional, including refreshing smoothies upon arrival and gourmet breakfasts each morning. I am an early rising travel duck and loved sitting watching the incredible view in the mornings. Shai brought a tray of Kona coffee to me each morning before breakfast while I waited for my sleepy family to wake up. And we were just a short drive from Kona, coffee plantations, beaches and great restaurants. In the evenings, sit and watch the sunset while drinking a glass of wine. Can we go back now?!! TD
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trina Yerlick, Owner at Lilikoi Inn
Responded Aug 5, 2021
Thanks so much for coming! We enjoyed having you and meeting the whole family. We hope you enjoyed all of Hawaii. It is a magical place so come again! Trina and Shai
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
robbyt671 asked a question Feb 2020
Brooklyn, New York5 contributions7 helpful votes
Ok to bring an infant? Well behaved but still an infant.
Answer from JerseyGuy2014
Marlboro, New Jersey11 contributions6 helpful votes
Absolutely fine. The innkeepers are wonderful people who have grown children of their own. They may even be grandparents — I just dont remember. They will probably enjoy having an infant staying there!
Answer from LilikoiInn
HOlualoa, HI, the big island42 contributions9 helpful votes
We are on the big island about 4.5 miles from Kailua Kona . It is not walking distance. It is always best to rent a car and see all of the lovely beaches or stay at a resort car free . Let us know if you would like to stay at our place, enjoy the kona coffee and our great views of the west side of the island.with aloha Trina and Shai
Answer from Stuart S
Grovetown, Georgia2 contributions
We asked the same question about a/c. No air conditioning. Not needed. The location lends itself to cooler temperatures and pleasant breezes, like a mountain cabin rental. All rooms have ceiling fans. We are from the south and use a/c at night for a majority of the year, and we were very comfortable. Breakfast is at 8, and it is truly unbelievable; the best, healthiest food I have ever eaten. But if you have to leave earlier, they will accommodate you cheerfully.
mrmcx asked a question Dec 2016
12 contributions1 helpful vote
do I need a 4x4 to reach the b&b?
Answer from Artdealer2
El Cortecito, Dominican Republic57 contributions17 helpful votes
Absolutely not. Paved driveway to the property.
BostonTravelynn wrote a tip Mar 2022
Boston, Massachusetts355 contributions157 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware that it is a steep and twisting rood up to the inn and it is easy to miss your turn off the first time you do it"
Read full review
catrionabikes wrote a tip Nov 2021
Homer, Alaska568 contributions70 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"the rooms are fine - the rest of the place sucks and is filthy"
Read full review
Karen & Brian wrote a tip Sep 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Every room seemed special."
Read full review
Sherri wrote a tip Sep 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place"
Read full review
Mike B wrote a tip Aug 2021
Baltimore, Maryland1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Careful when turning in off the main road."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Holualoa area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
lilikoi hotel holualoa
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiHolualoa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Lilikoi Inn - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Lilikoi Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Lilikoi Inn?
Nearby attractions include Aloha Adventure Farms (7.2 km), Kona Cloud Forest Sanctuary (5.2 km), and Kona Mike's Surf Adventures (4.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lilikoi Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Lilikoi Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lilikoi Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lilikoi Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kona Coffee Cafe, Gypsea Gelato, and Da Poke Shack.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lilikoi Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese, and Hebrew.
Are there any historical sites close to Lilikoi Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hulihe'e Palace (4.7 km), Kamakahonu National Historic Landmark (4.9 km), and Ahuena Heiau (5.0 km).
Does Lilikoi Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.