We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kalani

Show Prices
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Kalani
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kalani
See the most recent reviews
Showing 214: English reviews
Lake Stevens, Wa
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I ONLY have great things to report about Kalani. We have stayed there on 4 different occasions and all 4 were spectacular. Three were with the "Couples in Paradise" group and the last one was with the "Lomi Lomi Massage" group. As always our room has always been unique and special and we have always felt safe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
Vancouver
Reviewed 5 March 2012

If you could do with some soul pampering, Kalani has what you need. In a jungle setting, with first-class yoga classes, massage, and other therapies available, not to mention proximity to the intoxicating beauty of the ocean waves, Kalani also offers more, something remarkable: an emotionally safe cocoon of welcoming aloha spirit and loving acceptance for all who walk through...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jenn B
Culpeper
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I arrived at Kalani at night, so my first impression was not of the beauty of this retreat center. My first impression was of the staff. What a treat that was. From the volunteer who picked me up at the airport, to the lady who checked me into my room, I received nothing but Aloha upon my arrival. My next...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank James A
North Bay, Canada
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed here with my husband, baby, father and brother over Christmas time. To be honest, I actively seek out artistic places like this... if you want an experience versus just a room than I suggest you consider Kalani. Rooms: The rooms feel like wooden cottages except that they had really interesting paintings. (Stayed in the treehouse and a bungalow.)...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Adventure_Seeker44
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I'm an independent dance teacher in Seattle and have been bringing students to residencies at Kalani the past twelve years. It's a fabulous place to be a presenter/facilitator. I've always deeply appreciated the respect and support Kalani offers me as a creative professional sharing my arts in their facilities. This is a very rare situation where one doesn't need to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lara M
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at Kalani in the middle of the rain forest for a week and fell totally in love with the place. It's Heaven for the cosmically conscious, hippies, yogis, artists, and other benign weirdos who appreciate beautiful nature and great vegetarian food. However, if you dream of the Marriott, T-bone steaks, and a hotel with cable TV, go somewhere...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DanishAccent
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed at Kalani Oceanside Retreat a few months ago and I found the experience very disappointing. The treehouse rooms were great in concept, with the frogs and crickets chirping away through the night. I can understand from other reviews that people would have trouble sleeping. They are loud, very loud... but I liked the whole with nature bit. However,...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Looking4NextHoliday
kalaniweb, Manager at Kalani, responded to this review

Aloha, and thank you for your visit and taking the time to provide your feedback. While we certainly aren't a Hilton, we do everything we can to keep our rooms looking fresh and comfortable. Our Treehouses take extra effort because of their beautiful, open nature that you described and enjoyed. As such, they are next in line for a face...

Baltimore, MD
Reviewed 20 February 2012

In my first review I said I'd go back. It's two years later and I just returned from 8 days at Kalani, having participated in one of their yoga workshops. This time I stayed in one of the tree houses - very happy with that choice. Kalani is peaceful, restful, decompressing. I love the remoteness of the place, the contrast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zorro98
san francisco
Reviewed 9 February 2012

If you want to experience the natural beauty and tropical abundance of Hawaii without the tourists, golf courses and poolside bars, Kalani is for you! The grounds are lush and extensive, and the spring-fed Olympic size swimming pool is fabulous, with two outdoor hot tubs and a sauna next to it. The dining lanai is open air and lovely, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ladybeesf
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Want to stay far from tourist-tacky-consumerism, enjoy 3 gourmet/organic meals a day and be close to some of the BEST nature experiences that Hawaii offers? Kalani is the answer! Plus, they've got great yoga teachers and world-class massage therapists (all flavors, including watsu) who will melt your body and mind into a blissful state... ready for the next day's adventure....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Morgan13morgan

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
34.3 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
382 reviews
117.0 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
116.5 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
122.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
7.2 km away
Ma'ukele Lodge
Ma'ukele Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kalapana
43 reviews
117.5 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kalani is the largest retreat center in the state of Hawaii, nestled on the yoga coast in one of Hawaii's largest conservation areas for over 35 years. We feature more than 40 classes a week, including our renowned yoga and meditation programming, Hawaiian culture classes, and dance (hula, modern, and aerial.)Our location on the Big Island of Hawaii is 5 minutes from Kehena Beach, a clothing-optional black sand beach where wild-spinner dolphins frequently swim; 15 miles from spectacular lava-viewing; and nestled in luscious rainforest, which helps feed our organic kitchens with abundant fruit and vegetables. Kalani is known as a power spot - Shiva Rea calls Kalani "one of the most potent and nurturing retreat centers in the world." Kalani is a 501(c)(3) charity. Your stay here will support the preservation of Hawaiian culture, transformation, and within the poorest district in Hawaii. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kalani

Address: 12-6860 Kalapana Kapoho Beach Rd, Box 4500, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8019
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Price Range: $179 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalani 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Kalani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalani Oceanside Retreat Pahoa
Kalani Oceanside Retreat Hotel Pahoa
Kalani Hawaii/Pahoa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kalani staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kalani staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a cabin if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles captaingary, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I found the Tropical Loft rooms much nicer than the other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Kellismom, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bungalows looked lovely”
 of 5 bubbles hollygoslightly, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Contact facility first to establish your needs. Kalani is for the nature lover.”
 of 5 bubbles ClaudiaS360, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get the bungalows! Also, email or call them to ensure you're staying with a friend!”
 of 5 bubbles 273magenj, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5