We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Volcano Hale

Orbitz.comUS$85*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Volcano Hale
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Volcano Hale
See the most recent reviews
Showing 209: English reviews
Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting the volcano park. We had the Volcano Hale part of the chalet in the Hala room which was off site & built in 1912 was a quaint room, clean, tidy and amenable. Shared bathroom which was very clean & stocked with toiletries & fresh towels. When we arrived the room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ella R
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking your time to provide comments and feedback of Volcano Hale. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to visit the National Park. Generally, it gets quite "chilly" here and usually not hot. However, we have had a few days this summer that were unusually warmer than most...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Can't beat the price. Comfy bed, plenty of bathrooms (never had to wait.) Warm, attentive service at the front desk. Beautiful grounds, comfortable room, tasty continental breakfast. On our last morning, I accidentally left my handbag in the dining room, and a staff member scooped it up and chased me down! So grateful to Volcano Hale. We'll be back if/when...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tory H
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide comments and feedback on Volcano Hale. We are so happy that you had such an enjoyable experience in Volcano and found all the provided amenities to be just what was needed for your stay. Come back and visit us on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawai'i! Mahalo and Aloha!!

Volcano
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Spring City, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This small little gem is located right outside of Volcano National Park in a quiet little town set in a beautiful rain forest. The building we were in had 4 rooms and 2 shared baths with a single kitchen. Everything about the place was clean and there were no real issues with the place. Parking can be a little tight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SkilledOne4
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Mahalo for reviewing Volcano Hale on Tripadvisor. It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you were able to experience Volcano National Park. We are pleased that you noticed the cleanliness of our rooms. We have great housekeepers that take pride in keeping our rooms "as clean as possible" for our guests. Again, thank you...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This is not the main hotel. It's almost like a hostel but no parties. It's a good option if you are looking for something cheap to be near the park. It's clean, has plenty of towels in the bathroom but maybe not enough bathrooms given the amount of rooms on each floor. I stayed in a room on the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Island_Paradis
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Mahalo for taking the time to provide feedback on Tripadvisor for future guests. We are pleased that you found Volcano Hale to be sufficient for your traveling needs. Usually, the amount of bathrooms and seating areas are just what is needed for our guests. We do understand that during busy seasons, it may get slightly crowded, so we are looking...

Burnaby, Canada
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Rooms small but adequate, shared bathrooms never an issue for us or our friends (another couple) Clean, quiet, tricky to find in the total darkness. Enjoyed the hot tub, and the breakfast was awesome - so enjoyed the fresh fruit and the local bakery breads. Eating off china plates with silver ware was an added bonus. Our friends first trip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fallywall
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for choosing Volcano Hale for your stay. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to share your vacation with friends. It's great that you were able to enjoy the breakfast and the china that's provided during breakfast. We hope that you had a great vacation on the Big Island...

Waikoloa
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This is a property remotely managed by someone completely off site. Everything as far as bath and kitchen are shared. Woke up one morning to dirty under ware and socks spread across the community dining table. Really, I am all about peace, love and happiness, but dirty hippies should stay in a tent. When we told the girl at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick R
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review Volcano Hale on Tripadvisor. We apologize that you did not have a great experience with us. Unfortunately, it sounds like you had some neighbors that did not have very good manners. We are sorry to hear that however, it is something that is very much out of our control. I believe that...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I had seen Volcano Hale advertised on Tripadvisor before I got to Hawaii but wasn't sure what day I would be at Volcano. The day I got there I hadn't booked accommodations before I got to the village of Volcano. I was in need of a place to stay, so I looked up the address of Volcano Hale, and got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank minniglobetrekkergal
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for reviewing Volcano Hale on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found all the provided amenities helpful on your vacation here. As for the price, you are correct. There are different sizes of rooms with different sizes of beds at Volcano Hale so each one is priced accordingly. It is great...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I am usually not a fan of places with shared facilities, but in the case of the Volcano Hale it was just fine. The Volcano Hale is one a few places that belong to the same "collection". You check in at the Chalet Kilauea, and get directions to the Volcano Hale. The building is 102 years old, and absolutely gorgeous!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michanzl
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide comments and feedback for Volcano Hale on Tripadvisor. It's always great to hear about our guests' experiences while they were here and we are pleased that you had an enjoyable experience with us. Unfortunately, noisy neighbors are never fun so we apologize for any disruptions or inconvenience on their behalf. We definitely...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Volcano Hale for 3 nights - at first, we were very surprised when we saw the room - is was as big as a matchbox, but it was very cozy, clean, and well decorated for a comfortable stay. The bathrooms were shared, but they were newly renovated, clean, and there were three of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir F
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review

Mahalo for reviewing the Volcano Hale!! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to be comfortable and clean. We realize that some of the rooms there may be a little smaller than some prefer. However, with that said, we are also able to provide the best rates for the area by providing just...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.5 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
389 reviews
0.9 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
2.6 km away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
296 reviews
1.2 km away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#13 of 31 in Volcano
258 reviews
0.9 km away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cute budget property for travelers in search of comfort at a great value! This charming, historic, fully renovated 1912 property is complete with 3 floors and 4+ accommodations offering cable TV. Amenities include: free WIFI, common full mini kitchen for quick meal creations, and 2 clean, fully-stocked common bathrooms with showers. This property is perfect for travelers with an independent spirit in search of eco-friendly accommodations! Our sharing aspects uniquely provide the smallest impact upon the surrounding rainforest ecology. Back to Mother Nature, low-impact vacationing. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Volcano Hale

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Price Range: $114 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano Hale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Volcano Hale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Volcano Hale Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Volcano Hale staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Volcano Hale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Keep in mind that this "Group" is a collection of hotels and they do not guarantee booking at any particular one.”
etravel217, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Come to the office to check the location is what you should do first but check-in is after 3 PM”
oddseattle, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you always lock your door when you're in your room-My fiance and I were walked in on twice while just hanging out in our room. The rooms are clearly marked, but people are nosy. It was a little unnerving. Just a doorhandle lock so I was a little worried about leaving some of our stuff in the room, but overall was a cozy little quiet place to stay the night. ”
samueller1, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A fun experience renting a little room with bathroom next door. Great kitchen facilities in an old quaint and charming house. Very clean and quiet!!! Nicely decorated. Cozy too!! Easy to find and park. I would definitely stay again. Great little residential area too. Very clean bathroom and updated. Easy to find and parking is good. Large kitchen and room for friends at the large table. Great restaurants and three groceries nearby. Quick deli too at grocery nearby with fresh made sandwiches. Volcano park is a short drive away. We enjoyed our time in this little village very much and survived a storm warning with no problem. A great place to meet other travelers too. Thai restaurant up the street. If you cook inside the house you do need to clean up after yourself. There is a refrigerator that you can keep food cold while you're there. Nice grounds too. You will be surprised to see how beautiful the area is. We would definitely stay again. We checked in in one location and stayed in another. We felt safe and assured that all would go well. You will get a good rest here after a day and evening at the volcanic park. Such an amazing sight. Much more than black rock there as it's located in a beautiful tropical forest. You'll enjoy these nice home stays for sure. Friendly staff and very helpful. ”
34zenav, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Be aware which facility you're booking, which will ensure you are certain about what room style/location to expect”
jasonhY8812YP, 26 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$85* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$85
Hotels.comUS$85
Expedia.comUS$85
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates