We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lokahi Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lokahi Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
Flushing, New York
Reviewed 21 September 2014

My friends and I stayed one night at the Chalet Kilauea during our week long stay on the Big Island. The Chalet was simple and bare bones but fit our needs. We reserved two rooms in the Lokahi Lodge a few mile drive from the main office. We had the Naupaka Room for three of us and the Mohalapua room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chanybean
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking your time to review the Lokahi Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Naupaka room. It is definitely a spacious room. As for the "creepy" voices, I would imagine that there were guests that "stayed behind" while their friends or family went out hiking. (We see that a...

California
Reviewed 4 September 2014

This lodge is on a quiet street in a rainforest area. It is about a 5 minute drive to Volcanos National Park. We stayed in the Naupaka room. It has two beds (one king and one queen), which was great for our family of 2 adults & 2 kids. There is a dining table, two couches, and a TV.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz and Kevin L
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for reviewing Lokahi Lodge with Tripadvisor. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We apologize for the heat of the room. However, 99% of the time, because of our elevation, it is almost always cold here. We recently had some unusual heat waves pass through and we are again back to our...

Jupiter, Florida
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We stayed for one night this summer while visiting Volcanos National Park, and it could not have been a more perfect place to stay. We stayed in the Lokahi Lodge in the Naupaka Room which is a large room on the top floor that has two queen beds, a lving room, kitchenette and dining table all in one open space...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddict505
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Lokahi Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found our location to be most convenient for your itinerary needs. Also, Naupaka room is definitely one of the best and most convenient rooms available for families and...

Stony Brook, NY
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed here three nights. Room was very comfortable. Our only complaint was breakfast which was so-so. One morning the milk was rancid and the service was terrible. I will say the coffee was delicious. I would recommend this place because for the money, you just can't beat it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CMGray
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback! To address the rancid milk, we have never had this problem before and I can assure you that we will be bringing this to the attention of our suppliers, as the milk had just been dropped off in a shipment. While our breakfast is not for...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends and found the rooms and beds comfortable with good amenities. We loved the rainforest surroundings and hot tub plus the doors onto the lanai. Only a mile from the volcano national park, we could come and go easily any time of day. The reception desk was efficient and helpful. We didn't bother with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirstine2013
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking your time to provide comments of Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. I see that you are a returning guest (per a previous review in 2010) and we thank you for coming back to visit!! We are pleased to hear that you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us and found the rooms to...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The lodge is a little ways outside 'downtown' Volcano, in a wooded area and surrounded by lovely flower gardens. Two doors open the room to an indoor hallway and to a patio surrounding the lodge -- a great place to take the kids when one or more adults want to sleep late. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DansMarin
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review of Lokahi Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be most convenient for your travel plans. Lokahi Lodge is definitely great for families traveling with children! Also, we are happy to know that you found your room to be accommodating for your stay with us....

NH
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My daughter and I just finished a wonderful 4 night stay in the Pamakani room in the Chalet Kilauea's Lokahi Lodge. Our room was large and beautiful with a bathroom 'to die for' (all tile, double sinks, double rain head shower). The place was spotless and well-maintained. We had our own private entrance AND lanai area. In addition, we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marian K
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for taking your time to review Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Pamakani Room. It's one of our new renovations and definitely a favorite of all!! Also, we agree that our location in the rain-forest makes our hotel a unique experience from typical island resorts, and...

Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Napauka room at Lokahi Lodge. What a pleasant experience! The room is large and well equipped, and the breakfast was good and filling. It took just a few minutes to get to the park, and you could easily go back and forth through-out the day. Lunch at Cafe Ola was extremely good. Lava Rock...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KQK2014
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for providing your review of Lokahi Lodge. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us in the Naupaka room. It's definitely one of the most spacious rooms in our collection. We are also glad to hear that we made your granddaughter's day and were able to get her stuffed animal back...

Erie, Colorado
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I have previously stayed in volcano and its a lovely town. As you arrive enter your room from the outside, we walked through the main door and it felt that we were in a converted office. For the price paid we received poor overall value. The window blinds which were broke should be replaced. The beds were the hardest of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dlcallissa
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review

Mahalo for taking your time to review Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback. It is unfortunate that you had anything less than an enjoyable experience with us. We did check into the blinds situation after seeing your comments and they seem to be in working order. However, sometimes guests do have a difficult time with using...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a truly unique small hotel in Volcano.... if you want to see the National Park I would recommend this place. Our suite was lovely and the continental breakfast was very nice and offered wonderful coffee each morning. Staff were very helpful/ I would recommend to friends. PS-- the Lava Rock Cafe is a bit local, but fun to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeachMom7289
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review

Aloha and thank your for your review of Lokahi Lodge. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found your suite to be exactly what you needed. It's great that you enjoyed our house blend coffee and breakfast and found our staff to be helpful while making your plans. Come back and visit us if ever...

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.5 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
382 reviews
0.7 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.9 km away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Volcano Hale
Volcano Hale
#5 of 19 in Volcano
230 reviews
1.0 km away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
725 reviews
0.9 km away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lokahi Lodge is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. The lodge is less than a mile from the entrance of the Hawai`i Volcanoes National Park and the many splendors and activities it has to offer. Lokahi Lodge blends modern convenience with country charm. Each of the carefully appointed guest rooms expresses warm aloha, delicately and beautifully furnished for your pleasure with cable TV, modern bathrooms with showers, and amenity centers with microwave, coffee maker, and mini fridge. This property fronts the beautiful and unique Volcano Village rainforest! The following is located on site: free WIFI and hot tub. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lokahi Lodge

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Price Range: $191 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lokahi Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Lokahi Lodge Volcano, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lokahi Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor rooms have lanai (patio) access, the upstairs room is bigger and has huge windows. Best view is upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles LaurieJanean, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Cheapest room is only a full bed. Read description of room before you purchase.”
 of 5 bubbles 167mermaid, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 203 had a king and a double and a lovely couch.”
 of 5 bubbles Kgj48, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The upstairs room offers two separate beds if travelling as a family. It is large spacious and has great natural lighting”
 of 5 bubbles traveljoe2016, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Get the upstairs one!”
 of 5 bubbles geoffm94, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5