We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hale Ho\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 188: English reviews
Start your review of Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent a couple nights at the Hale Ho'o Maha B&B during our honeymoon a couple weeks ago. We stayed in the Pineapple room which has a bit of an ocean view which is a nice plus. We loved staying outside of a hotel for a couple nights to enjoy the more "homey" feel. The house is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
Lewiston, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wished we had more time to stay here. We chose this place to get a true "Kauai Experience". It is outside of town and just a short walk to a beautiful beach without the groups of tourists. We stayed in the Pineapple Suite and had a great view of the ocean. The room was large and bathroom was very nice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
Kahalu`u, Hawai`i
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Friendly, accommodating hosts, clean, comfortable rooms, good food, a paradisical tropical atmosphere. Host Milton and his sweet partner are as much friends and family as they are host and hostess. The only place I'd stay in Hanalei.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hope4755
Pflugerville TX
Reviewed 25 September 2016

This is the only bed and breakfast in the Hanalei area on the north shore. It is past Hanalei probably 8 breathtaking miles - crossing some exciting "one car at a time" bridges. Toby and Kirby were great hosts. They have built this home with 4 BB suites plus their apartment. There is a great room with kitchen - cooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimRinger111
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Aloha, We so appreciate your wonderful review of our property! We love the drive, our amenities and the home touches we work diligently to provide. So glad you liked our breakfast and you are right that our breezes often make the room temperate and while Mango does have and air conditioner for those in need...it does have a glorious view!...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We usually don't take the time to review but I wanted to provide an objective review of our stay in the pineapple suite. This being our first time on Kauai, and our first stay in a B&B, we didn't know what to expect I regret to say this B&B just wasn't for us. Pros: -Nice house -Pineapple suite is comfy;...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank midwest84
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Aloha, We want to thank you sincerely because it takes courage to write about disappointment and its true that bed and breakfast is not for everyone. It is a holiday in someone's home who anticipates what would be pleasurable for you which is why we have gathered input for yes over 30 years to taylor our experience to the guests...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely time here for 3 nights on our honeymoon. The guava suite was gorgeous - we particularly loved our little lanai! Very clean and spacious. The breakfasts by Toby were absolutely wonderful and he varied them every day which was fantastic! A very nice stay with plenty of amenities and within driving distance of many attractions and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C_Crane_333
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Mahalo mahalo...please come back when you are ready for another holiday. We enjoy new married couples and we encourage you to come when your focus is broader...lots to see outside your room :o) Have a glorious life together mahalo Kirby and Toby

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

If you want to stay on North Shore of Kauai you should consider this B&B, it ticked all our boxes. Toby and Kirby are wonderful hosts with a sense of humour and some great stories. Breakfast is good with plenty of fresh fruit. The kitchen is available if, like us, you want to prepare your own evening meal, if not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul6111
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

ALoha and mahalo for enjoying our place as much as we enjoyed your visit. Yes we do have a special sense of humor and always have fun when folks appreciate that part of the visit. Providing an abundant breakfast is Toby's specialty! And, of course we want you to feel at home to use our kitchen to prepare your dinner....

Bozeman, Montana
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We spent a lovely week at the B & B with hosts Toby and Kirby. We actually stayed here last September and we promised we would write a review, but unfortunately things got hectic upon our arrival back home; it slipped our minds. The rooms and common spaces are beautiful. Just a short walk to the beach and only minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William H
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We want to mahalo you for taking the time to write a review about us. Yes we did have an adorable baby ( an infant) with us and that is unusual as while we love babies ( especially our furry ones) our home is over 16ft off the ground so once babies walk they need to be about 7 for...

Reviewed 8 July 2016

We have recently returned from 5 nights staying at this Bed and Breakfast and had a wonderful time. We haven't stayed at a B & B before, so we were not sure what to expect. Toby and Kirby are wonderful, friendly and welcoming hosts. They are very helpful in recommending different things to see and do, and lovely to chat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley M
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoy what we do and treasure the opportunity to create friendships with our guests and encourage them to make themselves at home. Glad you liked your breakfast, Toby really takes great pride preparing for his guests. We also love being so close to our great northshore beaches and don't...

Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

My wife and I came to Kauai after staying on Big Island for the first part of our honeymoon. We stayed at a hotel chain in Big Island, so we wanted to try a bed and breakfast while staying in Kauai. Hale Ho'o Maha met all of our expectations! Kirby and Toby were very welcoming and helpful. You can tell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cory R
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are so glad you chose to stay at our B&B...it is such a different way to see the island. We truly enjoy what we provide our guests and are grateful for your review of our home. Its true the WIFI can be spotty and then again you are on the northern tip of the most remote island in the...

291 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (162)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Other (54)
Viewed
Mango Suite (23)
Viewed
Pineapple Suite (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
1,659 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Kauai's famous North Shore, this new home features 4 tropical suites with ocean or mountain views. Exactly 110 steps to pristine Wainiha Bay and 15 minutes to great restaurants, golf, shopping, diving & snorkeling. Full breakfasts served each morning. Hula & lei making taught weekly. All suites have full private baths and lanai. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7083 Alamihi Rd., Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Price Range: $325 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Ho`o Maha Bed And Breakfast
Hale Ho`o Maha Hotel Hanalei
Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast Hanalei, Kauai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pineapple Suite has the best ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles wendyw409, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All three rooms are just as good, and each has a different tropical theme.”
 of 5 bubbles Hope4755, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Mango has an air conditioner if you need or want that.”
 of 5 bubbles KimRinger111, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We loved the Pineapple room. It had some ocean views and an awesome shower!”
 of 5 bubbles 456WilliamH456, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't count on reservation being honored, even if you confirm directly with owner over the phone.”
 of 5 bubbles colleenw338, 13 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5