We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

478 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 402: English reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

The pictures is not what you get at the end. The rooms were durty, the bathroom full of hair, dust in the balcony and around the TV. Also we found Bed Bugs in the room!! When we found it the receptionist laugh!! Only one single plug to charge your mobile, cameras.... Only one!! Bathroom very really small. No water complimentary,...

6Thank Iru
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

I am really sorry that your were not able to enjoy our hotel. This is a beach front boutique hotel and many amenities are provided for your enjoyment and relaxation. Please let me know when you plan your next vacation here at the hotel/Kauai and we will make sure you enjoy your vacation to the fullest. Thank you,

Reviewed 25 September 2016

Beautiful. The people are so friendly the rooms are so nice, the convenience of having a restaurant on the premises. Having a wonderful time I highly recommend Kaui Shores. I am looking forward to my next vacation here

2Thank Anna H
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again and thank you for your recommendations. Mahalo.

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We were greeted by friendly staff when our flight was cancelled. The staff had to check in at least 50 plus people. Surprised they had rooms. Room was clean, older hotel but fixed up a bit. Bathroom is small but adequate. Air conditioning was a bit loud and the halls are inside so you hear people coming and going. But...

1Thank Jackie L
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

I am happy you chose our hotel for your stay. We appreciate the business. Yes, lava lava beach club is a great beach front restaurant and they do serve all three meals a day and they a great happy hour from 3pm to 6pm and nightly music. Hope next time you are here in Kauai, you will be able to...

Hillsboro, Oregon
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We had a condo resort booked for 6 months and came to find on vacation Day 1 half way to Kauai that the booking company screwed up and we had nowhere to stay. This hotel had rooms available so we booked a couple hours before we arrived. We did go from a 2 BR 3 BA condo with central air...

2Thank geb910
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation. On a calm day the beach is good for a swim, snorkel, surf, kite surf and fishing. Our two pools are best for a swim and lounge on the deck. Our hospitality fee covers many amenities and we do address them at the front desk and also notated in...

Stockton, California
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This hotel was a quaint and quiet place. I went ahead and upgraded to the garden view, which I was happy with. You can easily leave the windows open at night and there are AC's. The room had a modern feel and was comfortable. Beautiful pool area and close beach access. Some people were swimming, but I opted to sun...

1Thank DE7313
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all the great comments. Look forward to your next visit with us. Mahalo.

Kapaa, Hawaii
Reviewed 1 September 2016

To put it mildly, this place lacks aloha. The front desk employee "Anna" was rude, unprofessional and should find a job outside of the hospitality industry. The only job she might do well at in the lodging business might just be as a Corrections Officer. Seriously, I have NEVER been mistreated and disrespected anywhere as they have done here. The...

5Thank barefootnative2
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for your accommodations. Upon researching your concerns, the following were the findings: 1. You had booked on the room for one night. The night of 8/30. You checked in at 1:00am on 8/31, hence your check out date is still 8/31 at noon. The $18.00 is a hospitality fee for the parking, wi fi, In...

Beverly Hills, California
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Stayed for 2 nights and loved the 60s vibe of this hotel. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The ocean view room was at the front of the property but really doesn't look out at the ocean, but I liked the location. The grounds are well maintained and has a great lawn area. The pools are nice and...

3Thank lions462
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendations. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We placed new chaise lounges on the lawn and also chairs on the lawn, where guests are able to use them on the beach or on the lawn. All of our ADA rooms have safety rails in all the bathrooms. We also provide...

Kauai, Hawaii
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

I just wanted to thank the wonderful staff at the Kauai Shores for such wonderful hospitality and making me and my guest feel welcome. The resort is beautifully decorated and well clean from my last visit. I would truly recommend you and your guest to stay here. Oh, and the location is perfect. Near great shops and dining.

4Thank kauainel1
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for being our guest. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again soon. Mahalo.

Marshall islands
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Have stayed at Kauai Shores almost annually since about '88 and have watched it go through multiple changes and a few changes in ownership. The hotel is aged but has gone through multiple renovations and it's been very interesting to see how each subsequent owner has chosen to spend their limited improvement funds. The most recent major renovation was the...

3Thank Jeff V
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and taking time to write a detailed survey. We appreciate it very much. With everything that was great to the A/c units. The A/c units are energy efficient and starts off with a humming sound. Once it gets loud and or shows rust, we replaced them with new ones. We are looking for a...

Utica, New York
Reviewed 26 August 2016

This is an older hotel but has been redone and the rooms are now quite good. certainly good for the money. Enjoyed the pool. Not a good place to use the beach. Their new restaurant is good but expensive and kind of out of character with the hotel. Long walk to stores. People complained about the old fashioned room air...

3Thank MarilynUtica_NY
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and enjoying your stay with us. Look forward to your next stay with us. Mahalo.

508 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (263)
Hotel & Grounds (38)
View from Room (7)
Room/Suite (22)
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Dining (9)
Bathroom (10)
Other (139)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (191)
Beach (14)
Double Room (42)
Junior Suite (44)
King Room (38)
Main Pool (22)
Pool (11)
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (54)
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Bathroom (2)
Room/Suite (9)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy renovated accommodations at our beachfront, resort-like property situated along a secluded beach on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast. Discover an array of popular nearby attractions including snorkeling and stand up paddle boarding, Wailua River kayaking, Wailua Golf Course, Coconut Marketplace Shopping Center and historic Kapaa town. The property features six beachfront acres of lush tropical lawns and gardens and two outdoor swimming pools included. Bicycle rental amenity is included with your hospitality fee. Join us for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, and dinner at our new restaurant Lava Lava Beach Club - a true "Toes in the Sand" dining experience right on the beachfront. For your convenience, our sundry is open 7 AM to 11 PM daily. Contemporary guest room accommodations feature sleek, retro-modern designs, vibrant island colors, island-style decor featuring mini-refrigerators, Keurig coffee makers, a blu-ray/DVD player and Playstation 3 console, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. With the daily Hospitality Fee, guests enjoy amenities including in-room coffee, outdoor yoga classes, Wifi Internet access throughout the hotel, unlimited movies and Playstation 3 games, use of beach towels and chairs, local and toll-free phone calls, in-room safe, a daily newspaper, luggage service (no overnight storage) and self-parking. Thank you for your patience while we renovate our main pool. Renovations will begin on 4/3/17 and completed by 6/18/17. The back pool will be open for use during this time. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1449
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Price Range: $213 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Hotels.com so you can book your Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Kauai Sands Hotel
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Shores, An Aqua Hotel Kapaa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
over a year ago
Albany, Oregon
2 months ago
Pasadena, Maryland

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor is a little nicer as first floor need to keep curtains closed as patio doors open up to main area.”
 of 5 bubbles 416LindaS416, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Kitchenette has an electric frying pan as your means of cooking.”
 of 5 bubbles KimW651, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request for handicap accessible accommodations may not be met.”
 of 5 bubbles M-LT1980, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a quiet oceanfront room. There are no elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles viajara821, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you plan to hang out at the hotel, get the rooms facing the pool and beachfront.”
 of 5 bubbles 737ft, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5