We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Kapaa

Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

124 reviews
Save
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (5)
Pool & Beach (4)
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good25%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“other guests”(7 reviews)
“night's sleep”(3 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Multilingual Staff
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
All hotel details
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (124)Write a Review
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
48
20
20
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
48
20
20
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmet great peopleother guestsnight's sleepbeach houseliving areacentral locationcurfewislandhammockearplugsroosters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2017

I had a great time, staff was friendly, great location and good settings outdoor. I met a lot of people there and visit the island having fun! The dorm was cute, confortable, clean. The kitchen is small for so many people and just to bad...More

Thank lochbee
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Do not book this hostel unless you like cockroaches and dirty rooms! Pros: Good location, ok friendly staff, nice atmosphere among travellers We stayed in this hostel for 4 nights and it was definitely not a great experience or worth the money! We had planned...More

5  Thank fknielsen
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed my week on Kauai was very sad to leave. Partly down to this hostel which is a lovely chilled place to stay whilst on the island. Kapaa is a very central location and easy to get everywhere from the hostels location in Kapaa...More

Thank 08Kates
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

I had the time of my life staying at this hostel. This was my first big solo trip and my first time staying a hostel. I felt completely at home here and it felt like everyone was a big family by the end of my...More

Thank Alexandria C
Response from GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel KauaiResponded 19 July 2017

Mahalo nui for staying with us and taking your time to leave us a review. We are so happy you enjoyed you stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future. A me ke aloha

Reviewed 5 April 2017

I called to make a reservation 8 months in advance as I wasn't able to do this online. The simple answer was that reservations can only be made up to 6 months in advance, but the way in which this was delivered was very rude....More

9  Thank Simon T
Response from GM_Honuea, Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel KauaiResponded 7 April 2017

Aloha, We remember you very clearly as you called on Tuesday 4/4 looking to book in December. I am very sorry if you thought I was rude, but I was merely trying to explain, several times, that we do not accept reservations more than six...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345622
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Silver level
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Multilingual Staff
Details
Price range
US$25 - US$70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$25 - US$70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (5)
Pool & Beach (4)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
awilson021576
22 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dmitri O | Reviewed this property |
You can get a locker(sort of) for a few bucks extra. Frankly not a particularly secure locker, but it seems like there's nothing to really worry about in that place.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"private room back of hostel not on roadside"
Read review
"Windows next to stairs in courtyard seemed like a bad idea. People up and down them all the time."
Read review
"Second floor, you hear less the roosters."
Read review
"Get the superior/deluxe private room - you're away from the dorms and wont have to worry about waking..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite