We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Honu\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
See the most recent reviews
Showing 103: English reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

I have traveled through many Hostels around the world and this was a joke. The staff were all very exclusive and they cared more about themselves then "working" for the guests. I also felt like I brought my mum along... SO many rules for no apparent reason. I felt awkward using the communal facilities as the staff were always group-cooking...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Natalia N
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Aloha, Kalamai you did not read the first line in our description as it states, we are a family hostel. Most of our guests appreciate the homey feel and treat our hostel rules with the same respect they would give their own families. Our 'staff' are volunteers and as such, they are only workers while they are working. Any other...

Reviewed 5 April 2016

Lived here for 7 days during my spring break. The staff is very friendly, and placed us in a 4 bedroom under request. The room and restroom was clean, and the beds are quite nice. There is an outdoor area where you can relax with a beer after a long day of adventures. It must be quiet after 10.00pm, which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MrKarisari
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for pointing out how quiet we are after 10pm. We take pride in our quiet hours and strictly enforce them. We believe all guests deserve a good nights sleep after a long day of hiking, biking, kayaking, ziplining, boating, or insert adventure here ____! We look forward to seeing you again, soon! Autumn and Bill

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Not the cleanest or most classy hostel; but it works by the standards and pricing of the island. Met some awesome people, everyone is uber friendly, great energy overall! Would stay again. Wifi isn't the best, but the lack of it encourages people to be social like the old fashioned days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Milad A
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Aloha, We are happy you found us within your budget. Not always easy on the most expensive of all the islands. Come again, soon! Mahalo! Autumn and Bill

Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the honuea hostel in kauai is September !! I had absolutely the best time of my life there. I made lifelong friends from the nights mingling on the patio drinking some local beer under the twinkling stars. Its an amazing way to meet people! The staff was really helpful and friendly with everything I needed. For a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Aloha, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again, soon! Mahalo! Autumn an Bill

Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Absolutely love this hostel and the owners Autumn and Bill. It's kept very clean and its in a great location! They have brochures on activities in the area, they are also very informed on what's going on on the island which was very helpful. I can't wait to go back! Mahalo for your hospitality!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Aloha, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again, soon! Mahalo! Autumn an Bill

Capri, Italy
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

The hostel is peaceful with a lot of light and a nice friendly atmosfere all around 😊I was lucky as I got the chance To know the girl at the reception(Alissa)Who made my holiday on the Island really special

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carla s
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Aloha, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Come again, soon! Mahalo! Autumn and Bill

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 5 February 2016

The facilities are clean and well maintained. Location is solid, few blocks away from the worthwhile part of town. Very clean kitchen and tons of supplies to use. Attracts a really good crowd, meeting people was awesome here. Rooms can get a bit stuffy. The dorm we were in could sleep up to 11 people ("luckily" the most we had...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Wilson T
Reviewed 31 January 2016

My experience here was mostly pretty good but there's some small things that added up to make me not want to come back. After staying for 9 nights we were not allowed to hang out in the common area after checkout with the friends we had met at the hostel unless we paid an additional $15 each for late check...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank David D
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Mahalo for the extra time and effort you went through to leave us this review. We understand not everyone will be happy about our new policy of $15 late check out fee. Hopefully, more will be able to use this to their advantage than not. There are multiple bathrooms for use on property and our staff should take the time...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 29 January 2016

I stayed 3 weeks in Hawaii in Oahu, Maui and Kauai and this hostel was sadly my worst experience of my whole stay. I am not a picky traveller and I have been to many hostels. But this is definitely one of the worst hostels I have ever been to. -dorms: I stayed in a crowded 10 bed dorm with...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank GUrkensalat90
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review

Kalamai you did not enjoy your stay. We hope your future travels are more to your liking. We wish you aloha and mahalo you for your busines. Autumn & Bill

Reviewed 3 December 2015

Stayed here recently and it was perfectly functional. We stayed in one of the private rooms (so I can't comment on the state of the shared rooms), at times it became quite stuffy the bed was a bit small and we did notice a few roaches sneaking in but overall the room was fine. The bathroom was clean throughout our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jared A

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.3 km away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#7 of 11 in Kapaa
298 reviews
3.0 km away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.0 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,179 reviews
2.4 km away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
1.8 km away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aloha and welcome to our family owned, family operated 34 person hostel on the amazing island of Kaua'i! Our hostel has enforced quiet hours from 10pm-7am. We are not a party style hostel. We hope guests will take advantage of our low prices and quality service so that you may enjoy Kauai hikes and outdoor activities that are our premier location provides. Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai resides in the heart of Kapa'a Town, across the street from Kapa'a Beach Park! Take a stroll or bike down the 7 mile Ke Ala Hele Makalae ("The Path that Goes by the Coast") that stretches from Wailua Town past Kealia Beach Point with amazing surf and spectacular views! Or, do some shopping at some of the best locally owned shops on Kauai. Dine in amazing restaurants or cook your own food in our large, newly decorated kitchen/common areas. We have two dorm rooms with ten beds, women's only dorms, four private rooms (inside the dorms), and two deluxe rooms. All dorms have a private room and a shared bath en-suite. The two deluxe rooms are in the main house, share a bathroom and do not have restrictions on kitchen hours. We have common areas available to all registered guests that include lanai (covered patio), several garden seating areas, hammock and TV room. Snorkel gear, kayaks, and Free WiFi is provided for all registered guests. Please, registered guests and new check ins only. *We most always have room for walk-ins 3pm-9pm, aloha! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

Address: 4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Kauai International Hostel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Price Range: $33 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai International Hotel Kapaa
Honu'Ea International Hostel Kauai Kapaa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“private room back of hostel not on roadside”
 of 5 bubbles kimiora3, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Windows next to stairs in courtyard seemed like a bad idea. People up and down them all the time.”
 of 5 bubbles 252wilsont, 5 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Second floor, you hear less the roosters.”
 of 5 bubbles schalifoux1, 30 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Get the superior/deluxe private room - you're away from the dorms and wont have to worry about waking people up! :)”
 of 5 bubbles BrokeTraveller88, 13 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Listen when they say no food in your room or you will end up with ants in your bag which isn't too fun :')”
 of 5 bubbles C2173QIlauraw, 23 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5