We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Hotels.comUS$188*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$188*
US$189*
US$189*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,715 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kiahuna Plantation Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,610: English reviews
spokane, wa
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our condo was a Garden View on the ground level. Unit was a bit dated but nice and clean. It smelled a bit musty for the first day or so but got better. My biggest complaint is the lack of a pool on the grounds, yes, they have a pool across the street up a hill. The pool is not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mg5904
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We are here at the Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation and arrived to find out we are not allowed into the pool. Who comes to Hawaii and doesn't get access to a pool?! My kids are furious and the beach is nice but the water is rough and not always swimmable for young kids. This place is a bait and switch -...

 Report
Helpful?
14Thank 308Family4
Glendale
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When we arrived, the girls working the front desk seemed rather bored and unfriendly. Our room was all the way to the back of the complex; none of it looking like the photos online. . The room was very, very worn down. Yes, it had everything it was supposed to have, but it was all old and outdated. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Lucky_Mom2008
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at Kiahuna. If your room was located at the back of the property, you must have booked a Garden View Category. For others reading this post, I suggest that you consider our Garden Paradise category. These units are located in the center of the property, much closer to...

Port Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Wonderful location and grounds. Staff friendly and attentive and the grounds/location were wonderful. Be sure to walk along the beach to the sink hole just past the golf course. Not marked on tourist maps and very interesting cave and garden.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jeff C
Weatherford, Oklahoma
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in the Castle Resort portion of KPBB in Building 26 at the end of May. KPBB has beautiful grounds, and the 1 bdrm condos are great for 2 people. We moved after the first day because we were put on the very back top side in 39, which was hot (no air conditioning or floor fans) and noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your visit, and your nice comments about our property. We appreciate it very much! Call me if I can ever be of assistance when you return. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We are coming to the end of our stay here. In 167. Our condo is very nice and updated. There is no air conditioning in these units but it really hasn't been an issue, there is a nice breeze and the ceiling fans are worth their weight in gold. It is my understanding that they are all privately owned so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KcCabinfever
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your stay! Yes, unit 167 is very nice. We hope that you come back and stay with us again very soon. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager

Petaluma, California
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We returned to this beautiful resort again as it is our favorite accommodation on Kauai. The grounds are lush and the views of the ocean spectacular. All the staff is wonderful and helpful especially since I was on crutches this trip. The condo itself was very quiet and fully equipped. You don't feel like you are at some typical hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wyndham429
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Awesome! We are so pleased when folks return to our property regularly. I am so sorry you were on crutches, but pleased that our staff were able to assist you. Please feel free to contact me if you require assistance for your next visit. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager

Littleton, United States
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We just spent the first week in June at the Castle Kiahuna on Poipu Beach - our first time in Kauai, and had an excellent time. All of the staff were friendly and professional, our condo was very clean and well appointed, and the grounds are beautifully kept. It took us a couple of nights to get used to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James L
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your first visit to Kauai, and we are so pleased that you chose Kiahuna Plantation to be your home away from home. It is no secret that I share your fondness for the happy hours at those two shopping centers. Maybe our paths crossed! Please do come back soon, and let me know if I can assist you....

ALTA LOMA
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our condo advertised a "garden view." However, we soon found out that we had views of both blue water and lush, perfectly manicured landscaping. The condo was neat, updated and had everything we needed. Need a blender? Got it. Grill or barbeque? It's there. Beach chairs and umbrellas? Of course! It was the definition of relaxing. We would be happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TRENDSETTER13
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo plenty for your visit, and your positive comments. I hope that you can come back again very soon. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager

Othello, Washington
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Great location, close to some nice restaurants and a couple of small shopping areas. A small "headsup" is to bring your earplugs if you like to sleep in because the roosters like to start crowing around 4:00 a,m, (This would probably go for any place you choose to stay though).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rhonda H
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your visit, and your review. We appreciate it and hope that you return soon. Aloha, Roy Thompson General Manager

1,417 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (949)
Viewed
Room/Suite (174)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (185)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (145)
Viewed
View from Room (111)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (291)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (448)
Viewed
Amenities (77)
Viewed
Beach (36)
Viewed
Children's Pool (6)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Ocean View (67)
Viewed
Pool (48)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Partial Ocean View (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Price Range: $195 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Poipu, Kauai, HI
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kiahuna Plantation Resort staff and other travellers.
42 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (42)

Questions? Get answers from Kiahuna Plantation Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Roosters crow(all over island), bring earplugs to sleep”
dianesJ2371KH, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“chose waterfront if possible and check to see if you are getting a privately owned unit or not.”
canuckb, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask how recently the unit was remodeled.”
Strongdose, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Save up money and book a partial ocean view”
whiteshome1, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“The little fish coffee shop across street is great to eat!”
scottr885, 14 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$188* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$189
TripAdvisorUS$189
HotelsForEveryoneUS$190
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates