We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Point at Poipu

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Point at Poipu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

764 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 761: English reviews
Start your review of The Point at Poipu
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had one week in a two bedroom unit which was fitted out with everything plus. The grounds are stunningly beautiful, the beds are comfortable, the location is great in every sense of the word, the shops are nearby and restaurants are many. The staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. This was a wonderful place to stay, so beautiful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fredine R
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Point at Poipu in the future!

Columbia, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are spending 2 weeks this April at the Point at Poipu. We have stayed here 3 times previously. The property is beautiful and the 2 bedroom units are well appointed and maintained. Gorgeous walking paths along the ocean get you to beaches near the Marriott property. Turtles in the water all along the way. Nice large walk in pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn P
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Point at Poipu! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Point at Poipu as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Point at Poipu is a timeshare based resort owned and operated by Diamond Resorts International. It is located right at the waterfront and offers you spectacular views. The resort does not have its own private beach as the coastline in front of the resort is protected land. However this is not a big deal as you can enjoy the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Spicki
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Point at Poipu! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Point at Poipu as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago

First, this is in a good location to get to beaches and fine dining and great shopping. The resort is nice, but nothing particularly stands out. I was surprised by the general lack of a true restaurant. They had more of a bar with fast food in the pool area that closed at 8. If you wanted real food, you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMARS23
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. By sharing your experience we are able to take note of when and where changes can be made to better serve our future guests. We greatly appreciate your assistance in this manner. We were pleased to hear you like the location. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope...

Binghamton, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My Husband and I had a great time. The Resort had all the amenities, The beach front view was breathtaking. The staff went above and beyond to meet our needs. The Koi pond, the sand pool , the bar and the grounds were always well tended to.. This trip was my husband and I 8 anniversary. Tourico Vacations got us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank travelbeetwo
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Point at Poipu in the future!

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I was here in Feb 2017 for a family reunion. There was a lot of construction, no beach access, and no restaurant, other than a little take-out grill at the pool bar. The room was large, but not a five star resort, as it claims to be. My biggest complaint with the resort is that the staff is not very...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank maryann H
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. By sharing your experience we are able to take note of when and where changes can be made to better serve our future guests. We greatly appreciate your assistance in this manner. We were pleased to hear that the bar staff as friendly; however, we regret to read...

Lac
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Diamond international needs to stop selling so we the existing owners can start using our resorts! It is really frustrating when you have to try to book 13 months in advance as a platinum member and when you are lucky enough to get something booked, they make you attend another session where they try extremely hard to sell you more...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Remoeduoh
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Point at Poipu! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Point at Poipu as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 6 March 2017

A little late with the review, my stay was in November 2016 at the Point at Poipu. Gifted a week at the resort and familiar with Diamond Resorts, the stay was great in spite of the weather. The staff is very processional, helpful. We checked in and asked for a different view room as all we were looking at was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JSSC2014
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Point at Poipu! I appreciate the feed back even if you were here in November. It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Point at Poipu as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team...

Turlock, California
Reviewed 27 February 2017

This property does back up to the Ocean, however, no beach access! Unless you take a long trail down, over lava rocks! Construction was going on, but we didn't hear noise from it. We had a garden view, but ours was very nice, as we got a beautiful view of the pool. Our two bedroom was nice, however, the 2nd...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Carol V
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Feedback is an important part of our on going growth. We hop you choose to return to The Point at Poipu in the near future once the construction has been all completed. We apologize for the pool and spa being down. Please contact us so we can see how we can assist you with points.

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Visited Feb17-24, 2017. Staying here these days is a mixed bag. Your experience is likely to be determined by your distance from construction. We had booked this a year ago and had called asking for unit away from construction as soon as we heard it had started and were told no problem. We got bldg 2 overlooking the adult spa...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank marnie299
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Feedback is an important part of our on going growth. We hop you choose to return to The Point at Poipu in the near future once the construction has been all completed. Please contact me at your so we can discuss your stay. Mahalo

1,105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (600)
Viewed
View from Room (68)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (200)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (497)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Beach (54)
Viewed
Pool (80)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (151)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (161)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Point at Poipu

Address: 1613 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9727
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Price Range: $321 - $925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point at Poipu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Point at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Embassy Vacation Resort Poipu Point
Point Poipu Kauai
The Point At Poipu Kauai, HI
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Point at Poipu staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from The Point at Poipu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Timeshare owners get first choice, so leftover rooms may be facing less desirable views.”
354joannp, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Always Stay beach Front.”
travelbeetwo, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask about construction!!!”
443maryannh, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request pool view, as ocean view is limited!”
carolv185, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“request build #8 or 9 ocean view and I would request a corner unit”
John_DCincinnati, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5