We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Point at Poipu

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Point at Poipu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

754 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Point at Poipu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 751: English reviews
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I had spent 5 nights at this Hotel in the building #7 next to the ocean. The room was way much bigger than expected, actually larger than my own apartment. Equipped with strong air conditioned, laundry facility, kitchen with stove, dish washer, fridge, large dining area, living room with sofa, and much more.... I wish I can move there permanently...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marfon72
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Point at Poipu is a beautful place set in lovely grounds and a fantastic location. We had a 2 bed ocean front condo which was well appointed and extremely comfortable and the view was stunning. If you are able get up to see the sunrise as it starts the day off so well. The staff are great and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Graham S
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your review – we’re delighted to read that you had a lovely time at the Point at Poipu! We strive to provide all our guests with memorable vacation experiences, and we’re really pleased to read that our team helped make your stay here extra special. We look forward to seeing you again!

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Overall my rating is about 3.5, between average and very good. We flew in a day early so we were there at noon for check-in. We completed our paperwork and had to kill about three or four hours before the room would be ready. Check-time is 3pm so this was expected. At about 3:30 we did receive a call that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jlencap
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for this detailed review of your recent stay at the Point at Poipu! We’re really pleased that your stay here was a generally enjoyable one, and we feel sure that the information you’ve provided will be much appreciated by future guests. We’re sorry to read that you experienced some disturbance from the guests in the apartment above you,...

Illinois
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We exchange our condo for a week here Point of Poipu. Don't get me wrong it a beautiful place with beautiful grounds that are well maintained. We had a 2 bedroom condo. The condo we had was very nice only thing wrong is there is no air condition in the living area which is not good when someone is sleeping...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IllinoisCookie
Brea
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Great location and grounds. Morning walks on shoreline are breathtaking. We saw turtles and spinner dolphins. Walking distance to Shipwreck beach next door. Great food on site at the pool bar. Concierge Chris is really nice and helpful. Fun activities on site which are mostly free. Only complaint was the dirty windows in the bedrooms which prevented seeing the view...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PetLoverBrea
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

We would like to assure you that delivering excellent quality of service and accommodation is the very foundation of our business - however we would like to take this opportunity to advise that we have agreed to reduce the number of midweek cleans to decrease the amount of water and detergents used - however we are sorry if this police...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Loved my stay in this resort! Am travelling with Diamond for 7 years now and advising it to all my friends! Fantastic resorts, friendly staff, best quality for money spent! Great choice, strongly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RigaLena
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at this location off of a timeshare exchange. Owning 4 timeshares, it was pretty easy to get this location in Hawaii. What I was disappointed with is we spent 12,500 points of Diamond International and got a mediocre room with a mediocre view. The good news was that when your on Kauai, the last thing you probably want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BixxiB
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for this detailed review of the Point at Poipu! We’re sorry that your impression of the resort was not a very favorable one – we’re currently in the middle of a rolling program of refurbishment, and we really hope you’ll come back here in the future to see the changes we’re making. Please be assured that unless you...

Victor, Montana
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We recently visited Kauai and did the Diamond Resort Time Share Tour. It was high pressure, and uncomfortable. Our salesman was less than professional once he realized we were not interested in buying. We were courteous and thoughtful that he needed to do his pitch but he became agitated and although he said " Ok, I understand you are not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Reiner1027
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

We regret to learn that you appear to have had an unpleasant experience here at The Point at Poipu. We would like to explain that we are primarily a vacation ownership resort and so our guests may sometimes be invited to a timeshare presentation. In most cases, attendance to this presentation is not mandatory and we apologize if our sales...

Reviewed 5 August 2013

I booked this expecting an okay stay for the price compared to the other condos in the area which were up to 600-700 dollars a night. Wow was I surprised this resort is gorgeous and boasts wonderful views of the pacific in a laid back fmily oriented atmosphere. Our family of 6( teenage and college age children)were more than comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JMLK24
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a four night stay at this property in July 2013. We were on the 2nd floor of building 9 which is at the east end of the resort. We experienced courteous and professional service at check-in and that was repeated with every staff member we encountered. The property is beautifully landscaped and well maintained. The main pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank chiphot65
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for this detailed review of your recent stay at the Point at Poipu! We’re really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and that you’d recommend the resort to others – we hope we’ll see you again!

1,103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (598)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (200)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (497)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Beach (54)
Viewed
Pool (80)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (151)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (161)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Point at Poipu

Address: 1613 Pe'e Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9727
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Price Range: $341 - $811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point at Poipu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Point at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Embassy Vacation Resort Poipu Point
Point Poipu Kauai
The Point At Poipu Kauai, HI
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Point at Poipu staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from The Point at Poipu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“request build #8 or 9 ocean view and I would request a corner unit”
 of 5 bubbles John_DCincinnati, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Condo by the sea!”
  • Sunrise @ The Point, Poipu
 of 5 bubbles 1Stylie1, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They do have elevators to cut down on stair climbing if that is a concern.”
 of 5 bubbles mparker, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for something away from the construction - they will try to accommodate you”
 of 5 bubbles LeaO_12, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check in advance to see if your rooms are near construction.”
 of 5 bubbles hhxkekspktkdpe, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5