We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ocean Breeze Hideaway

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ocean Breeze Hideaway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ocean Breeze Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 236: English reviews
Muenchen
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Somehow this B&B seems to polarize. Unfortunately we belong to the party that did not like there stay at this location too much. We really enjoyed the fresh and delightful fruits offered for breakfast. Especially the homegrown mango. Furthermore we liked the offer of beach equipment and that Sande and Bob have a nice attitude. But: We did not fully...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank CrickMuenchen
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about the wi-fi,,as we recently purchased a new router and will remedy the situation. We try to make it clear that the Ocean Room is our budget room. However, all the furniture was purchased new, and most guests really like the room because of the beautiful garden setting. It actually is quiet here a...

Sedona, Arizona
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Ocean Breeze Hideaway was a home away from home for our 7 night stay and our first trip to Maui. Sande and Bob are wonderful hosts and beautiful, kind people. We slept great and were well nourished with our tropical breakfast to send us on our adventures of the day well rested and full of energy. And yes, we do...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 2sunsmusic
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this review

I am delighted to get such good recommendations from our guests. Your description of our B&B captures beautifully the feeling we intend to convey about Ocean Breeze Hideaway. We are thrilled that you felt it, and were willing and able to share it so eloquently. Thanks so much!

Portland OR
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Once again Bob and Sande show what real ALOHA spirit feels like. Located centrally in Kihei by all the beautiful beaches the West wide offers, this place is the perfect starting point for all your adventures. I have stayed in both rooms and they are comfortable, clean and bright. The only difference is the Ocean suite is a bit bigger....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank t8nkgirl
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this review

We are certainly blessed with wonderful guests. These folks are no exception, and we were sad to see them leave. A little clarification..the Coral Suite is the larger of our two guest rooms. Thanks for the kind words from Portland. We are very appreciative of all our guest comments. They keep us on our toes.

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We had a pleasant stay here in the Ocean Suite, and Bob and Sande were friendly hosts. Based on the reviews here, though, we expected a superlative experience, but the reality was much more basic. I suppose, to be fair, that our expectations were also biased due to the particularly great experience we had at another Kihei B&B during the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AriM
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this review

I am glad you had a pleasant stay and considered us to be friendly hosts. I am puzzled by some of the comments. Many of our guests are seasoned travelers, who stay at bed and breakfasts throughout the world. We are quite happy that so many have loved staying with us and have written such glowing reviews. I guess this...

Centreville, Michigan
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Just returned from 8 night stay at Ocean Breeze Hideaway and had a great time. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was good with fresh tropical fruit, granola cereals and such. We had beach chairs, an umbrella and towels to use, for great days at the beach. Bob even had a CD for a narrated trip for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bradley9211
Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This was our second stay at Ocean Breeze Hideaway and we just had the best time again. It felt like we were coming home. We stayed in the Ocean Suite this time which, while smaller than the Coral Suite, had its own charm and the advantage of two lanais facing onto Sande and Bob's beautiful garden. We absolutely loved the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bigchapfrank1968
Arizona
Reviewed 8 September 2011

based on the reviews here. I can't help but to be honest. This B&B was in a shady neighborhood, hasn't been redecorated since the early '80's, has ants in the bathroom, no view from the rooms, I wouldn't walk to the beach. Bob's referral's led us to a cattle call snorkeling boat when we had dreams of a catamaran and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pelligrino
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this review

Sorry to see your comments. We are committed to our guests having a very positive stay with us, and we also welcome constructive suggestions. We wish to address your remarks. Our local neighborhood consists of a mixture of perfectly respectable and peaceful residents, all of whom would feel rather offended by your comments. Walking to the beach here is very...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed in the Ocean Suite at Ocean Breeze Hideaway for four days in August and had a great time. Bob and Sande are wonderful hosts and thought of everything to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable (breakfast, beach towels, chairs and umbrella, mini-fridge, books to borrow, etc...) The B&B is very conveniently located and is a great base from...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RT11201
Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 21 August 2011

It was our second trip to Maui and to Ocean Breeze Hideaway. This time we stayed there for five nights. Our room was the Coral Suite, a very cozy and commodious room. When we arrived it was like we had never been away. Sande and Bob, the hosts, welcomed us like good old friends. During the whole stay they made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrSvensson
Norwich, Connecticut
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Ocean Suite for five nights. It was small, but sufficient. The bed was nice and comfy. The extra touches, like the beach towels and chairs, were invaluable. Bob and Sande were really nice and seemed to really want us to have the best experience possible. They are really passionate about their B&B. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ebbie1081

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
5.6 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,032 reviews
33.4 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
392 reviews
13.1 km away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
7.4 km away
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
20.9 km away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#3 of 11 in Lahaina
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our peaceful Maui Bed and Breakfast overlooks Maalaea Bay and is just a 10-minute walk from Maui's longest beach. Enjoy a morning swim or snorkel in calm waters, walk or run along this undeveloped white sand beach. Return to a delicious Island breakfast served on our ocean-view lanai, surrounded by coconut palms and bougainvillea. Take in the view of Maalaea Bay while you enjoy fresh ground coffee and assorted teas; tropical juices, fresh island fruit; granola; muffins, scones and assorted breads; and island jams. We choose locally grown and organic at every opportunity. Maui Bed and Breakfast permit #BBKM 2009/0003 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Hideaway

Address: 435 Kalalau Pl, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8928
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Price Range: $185 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Hotel Kihei
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Maui/Kihei
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Breeze Hideaway staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Westford, Massachusetts
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Breeze Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Coral Room has queen bed, aircon and fan, large private bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles TinaSV, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Basically this is a quiet secure retreat to launch out in to surrounding Maui. It is absolutely quiet, a fantastic sleep environment.”
 of 5 bubbles darylteague, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Both guest rooms are good, quiet neighborhood, private lanai for each guestroom.”
 of 5 bubbles Mary136, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Not a hotel, a comfortable cozy bed and breakfast! Either guest room is fine. In a quiet neighborhood.”
 of 5 bubbles maryl719, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Both rooms, Coral Room and Ocean Room are a good choice”
 of 5 bubbles Benjaminruedy, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5