Palms at Wailea

Palms at Wailea

Lanai view
Traveller (328)
Panorama of the One Bedroom Garden Villa Deluxe at the Palms at Wailea Maui by Outrigger
360
Panoramas (9)
Lanai
Room & Suite (536)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#13 of 58 apartments in Kihei
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value

Located within the world-famous Wailea Resort Community, these stylish walk-up condos feature patios with barbecue grills, all set amid lush tropical gardens.

Mandatory Departure Cleaning Fees

A Mandatory Departure Cleaning Fee will be added to room cost at check-out.

Charge is per stay, per condo unit, plus taxes

2018 fees:

Applies to travel from January 1, 2018 onward

1 Bedroom -$175 USD

2 Bedroom/2 Bath - $225 USD

2019 fees:

Applies for new bookings made from February 1, 2018 for travel from January 1, 2019 onward

1 Bdrm - $200 USD

2 Bdrm/2 Bath - $250 USD

Optional Housekeeping Service Costs

Palms at Wailea Maui by Outrigger® offers Optional Housekeeping Service at cost during a guest’s stay. This procedure is typical for vacation rental condos in Hawaii and provides guests with a choice of services suited to their individual travel needs. At check-in, guests are advised of housekeeping options, associated costs, and instructions for scheduling service

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Clothes dryer
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Safe
Sofa
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

3200 Wailea Alanui Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 36 out of 100
36
Kahului Airport
21.7 km
See all flights
Kapalua Airport
38.6 km
See all flights
462Reviews21Q+A96Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 197
  • 153
  • 50
  • 40
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mary Beth Smith wrote a review Jan 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a no contact check in which was superb. Staff in planning our trip were helpful and very friendly and responded in a timely manner. The condo was clean and the bed was comfortable. The kitchen was stocked with what we needed and also had a washer and dryer. Only thing I would recommend is to purchase your own beach chairs-the ones there were old. The pool was epic and the views spectacular. This area of Maui is safe and centrally located and quiet. I even forgot my sweatshirt on my departure and they kept it for me! We were able to see the whales from the deck above the pool every night along with a beautiful sunset. The grounds of the Palms are beautiful and there are many places to walk in the mornings around Wailea Also close to the beach and shops. Kihei is just down the road for a more laid back feel if you like that. They also were very helpful in planning tours for us. . The price was right and we will definitely stay here again-next time with a 2 bedroom condo. There is security around the grounds and that added for our sense of safety. Everyone we encountered were friendly and helpful. Great place!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We had a garden villa and it was good but I would recommend a balcony view of the ocean to catch...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brett Ballinger, General Manager at Palms at Wailea
Responded Jan 19, 2021
Thank you so much for your review and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with Outrigger! We hope to welcome you and your Ohana again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aloha808 wrote a review Jan 2020
Hilo, Hawaii
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aloha!!This place was chosen by our son for us to stay while we attend our church conference.Our unit had a lot of space for our family to move around in (huge apartment). There were two bathrooms one in the master and the other in the hallway near the second bedroom which really helped when it was time to get ready to go/do something. The front desk staff was really wonderful when we had questions and minor issues. They were quick to fix and find a solution at all times which made our stay much more exciting. Thank you outrigger staff for making our stay great. Definitely will be there again and will recommend to all our friends and families!!
P.S great sunset pictures from front desk.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrettB1937, General Manager at Palms at Wailea
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Thank you so much for your review! We work hard to create memorable experiences for our guests and thank you for recognizing our team's efforts! We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Wailea!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Curious545948 wrote a review Nov 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently (November 2022) stayed at the Palms for 5 nights. We read beforehand many of the reviews and our experience was consistent with a lot of these prior descriptions. The overall site is set up beautifully and it is well located, close to shops and restaurants and the beach. The lanais are large and well equipped with nice furniture and BBQs. The pool was enjoyable, cool but refreshing. The condo we stayed in (#1702) was attractively equipped, clean with decent appliances. It was large and had a great view of the ocean. Some things, though, needed very much to be updated, e.g. the window coverings, kitchen cupboards [doors did not close properly] the bathroom sinks and showers. Many reviews have commented on the air conditioning, and that only the master bedrooms are cooled. Our unit was no different, and this is a significant drawback. On the day we checked in, the condo was so hot and humid as to be nearly unbearable. It improved slightly as the week wore on. The bedroom AC was inconsistent and malfunctioned twice during successive nights [loud banging and hissing], and even though the front desk was notified and they checked it out, they could not find the problem. As a result, we ended up leaving it off, and thankfully, it was cool enough on these nights that an open window sufficed. However, on warmer evenings, this would have been a problem. The safe in our room malfunctioned when the batteries died [shouldn’t regular maintenance have found this problem and corrected it?] and our valuables were inaccessible. However, when the front office was notified, they were able to promptly resolve the problem. Parking is ample and convenient. However, this unit is situated on the second floor with no elevator, and quite a few stairs leading to its front door. Hauling heavy suitcases up these stairs was very challenging. A hefty cleaning fee is levied when checking out, yet we noted that our dishwasher appeared to have signs of mold. Though this complex is advertised as offering free local and long distance calls to the mainland, our phone was not working, and we were told that many of the units have discontinued land line connections. Complementary beach equipment is available in many of the units, though ours were somewhat “well used.” Checking in and out was relatively easy, and there is an after hours number to call when a problem arises.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Be warned that Hawaii has become quite expensive and even basic accommodations have become quite...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reggie wrote a review Mar 2020
Regina, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We just finished our another stay at the Palms. We started staying at the Palms several years ago as we found we preferred it to other resorts we tried-mainly because of location, large lanai, private bbq, beautiful grounds.
The Palms suites require some serious attention. They are sadly dated-furniture, Finishings, fixtures, paint, floors. Dated would be okay if the units were clean, but they are in desperate need of a deep cleaning. Upon arrival, we found garbage on the floors, underwear (not ours!) Under the bed, dirty dishes, layers of dust on furniture, stains on carpet, garbage behind and under beds,I Very disappointing to pay a $250 US cleaning fee as a standard charge per stay. They should have paid it to us!! . So many beautiful places to stay on the island. The Palms must get serious about taking care of their units.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrettB1937, General Manager at Palms at Wailea
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Aloha and sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at the Palms. We'd encourage you to pass along your feedback to the rental company you booked with as it isn't clear from your review. If your stay was with Outrigger, we deeply apologize for the issues you encountered and would ask that you contact us directly for follow up.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KirklandJoseph wrote a review Apr 2022
Kirkland, WA
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The Palms at Wailea has a good location and is very walkable to a local beach. The pool area and the landscaping are very nice. We had booked this property through our travel agent, who we had used for several other Hawaii vacations. She had stayed at this complex herself in a different unit and was very pleased. She knows out tastes and she understands that we are happy to spend extra for quality.

While the complex was nice, the experience and the unit left much to be desired. We arrived before the unit was ready and asked to store out luge in a secure location as we had not rented a car at the airport. We were informed that we could leave our luggage in the lobby, but the location was not secure and the clerk would not be held responsible if anything was missing. One of us decided to stay with the luggage while the rest of the party went to find lunch.

The unit we were given is #2206. This is considered to be an ocean view unit and came with an associated price point. The unit is no where near the office and there is not a path to the unit that can easily accommodate luggage. We needed to wheel our luggage out to the street and walk about a block to access the lower parking lot. Along the way, we passed golf carts owned by the property. Apparently, carting the luggage to the unit for the benefit of the guests is not a service that The Palms offers.

The furniture in the unit was relatively new and nice. Air conditioning only existed in the master bedroom and not throughout the unit. Because of lack of air conditioning, we relied on breezes. This means that the patio doors were open, but the screens were closed. Hawaii apparently has small insects that can readily pass through the screen and through any cracks. This meant that any cereal, crackers, etc. that were on the counter in their packaging became infested with these tiny bugs. While we are proponents of a Paleo diet, we do not prefer insect protein.

The cabinetry and fixtures were original and showed their age. This includes, kitchen cabinets that were falling apart, bathroom counters with large cracks, and pocket and closet doors whose wheels were beyond their useful life. In terms of decorating choices, the unit still included old porcelain tiles throughout the kitchen and bathrooms and mirrors in the shower. While the unit was described as an ‘ocean view,’ I think the more accurate description would be ‘filtered ocean view.’

While The Palms at Wailea may have higher quality units, this was certainly not one of them and certainly did not align with market value. I would recommend previews of the unit that you choose and confirm that it aligns with your expectations and malarkey value.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Be sure to book a car. Only the beach is really walkable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
R R wrote a review Sep 2021
Salinas, California
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First I will start off by saying that the apartment/condo was very spacious. It did have a/c in master bedroom but that it all that was good. We stayed in 607. Ceiling fan in living room did NOT work at all. The interior and appliances are extremely dated although everything did work. Ragged old and falling apart beach chairs and a broken umbrella were in the lanai for use. The place had damage throughout. Chipped furniture. chipped tiles in kitchen. Dents in walls. The absolute worst thing was that my wife found a dying cockroach in the master bathroom a 2nd one in the kitchen also dying. We were completely grossed out. They also charge $360 cleaning fee which is clearly a fleecing since the place was not very clean when we arrived. This place is clearly of older people without kids as there were so many rules for the pool I didn't even take my kids. No noise no splashing no pool for kids. If I could rate it a 0 I would. Also when we checked in the guy at the desk informed me they would be an addition holding fee for incidentals. With a place so damaged I hope they don't keep any more of my money!! Do yourself a favor and stay in a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
6074seattle wrote a review Mar 2021
Seattle, Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles
You will hear your neighbors since everyone has their windows open. You will also hear mowers and car noise from the street below. You will hear your neighbors washing machine through the floor. It’s too far to comfortably walk to the beach - an 8+ min walk along a fairly busy road. Views are pleasant from some units. I didn’t use the pool since nobody wore face protection (despite multiple signs telling people they must to prevent spread of covid). I would say this is not the place for couples, better for families or groups of partying adults.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Palms at Wailea
Responded Apr 1, 2021
Aloha and thank you for your review. We would encourage you to share your feedback with the rental company you booked with on their review site. Normally our property is very quite especially during quite hours (10 pm - 8 am) and sorry to hear you were disturbed by other neighbors and the landscapers. Since the buildings are concrete frames, noise from washing machines is usually very rare and sorry to hear that wasn't the case with your unit and location. There is an exterior road which can be heard if your unit is in close proximity. The property is set back on a hill and not ocean front. Pool rules are in accordance with county guidelines due to the pandemic and guests are expected to accept responsibility and comply. We are sorry you didn't feel comfortable with the lack of face coverings at the pool and will relay that feedback to the Palms owner association. We hope you will visit again next time you are on Maui!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annflorette wrote a review Feb 2020
Edmonton, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our third time staying at the Palms of Wailea, a beautiful condo resort in south Maui. We left unit 904 after being harassed by the owner/property manager on the speaker phone yelling at us to get out of the condo while we were loading our suit cases into our car at literally 5 minutes after 10 am, while we were adhering to the 10 am check out time! 😡

They kept calling and yelling over and over at us on the disturbingly loud on a speaker phone! 😜we grabbed out things and ran out of there as fast as we could! What must have happened is The cleaning staff arrived and saw that we were leaving the condo, yet they had the nerve to alert the owner that we were still at the condo. We will never stay in this unit 904 at the Palms of Wailea ever again because of this unreasonable treatment! 👎🏻

We had left the condo in pristine condition, all this dishes were washed in the dishwasher, the towels were clean in the dryer 😳This condo was not very clean apron arriving, the master bedroom wall was covered in dust and the outdoor table and placemats were filthy! The beach chairs and umbrella were all broken and we could barely use them without patching them together🤨 There were ant traps set up through out the condo 🐜!!!

We will never ever stay at unit 904 at the Palms of Wailea again! That is the thanks we get for taking good care of the condo and leaving it cleaner than we found it! I do not recommend anyone staying here unless you enjoy getting harassed beyond reason by someone yelling at you on the speaker phone to GET OUT OF THE CONDO NOW!!! This is totally unacceptable behaviour and we will not tolerate this ever again !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrettB1937, General Manager at Palms at Wailea
Responded Feb 3, 2020
Aloha! Unit 904 is NOT in Outrigger's program at the Palms at Wailea and we kindly suggest you place this review where it appropriately can be viewed by guests looking to reserve this unit on VRBO. Your feedback may also elude to possible violations of VRBO's polices and guidelines and they should be informed as such. This TripAdvisor account is primarily for Outrigger units/guest staying at the Palms at Wailea. Sorry to hear you had a bad experience and we'd welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us next time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mkim wrote a review Sep 2022
San Diego, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 5 nights in August and wasn't disappointed at all. While on the lower end of the budget we were pleasantly surprised with the place. It was large inside with plenty of room. We hosted a small diner with some friends and easily fit 8 people inside with plenty of room to spare. The place is older no doubt, but it's clean, bright, and everything works great. My unit (#1505) was however missing a spatula, which made making eggs a little tricky. The unit had 3 A/C units, one in each bedroom, and on in the living area. Staying cool was not an issue at all.
The location was convenient for us, and on the very south end of Kihei into Wailea. Not a ton of places to eat nearby aside from the big hotels. Kihei is short 5-10 min drive.
Would absolutely stay here again, and the guests that came were even impressed compared to the places they were staying.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelly C wrote a review Aug 2023
Carrollton, Texas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful views at both sunrise and sunset. The 2 bedroom condo is in a great location, just minutes from Kihei to the north and Turtle Town to the south. There is a public beach it is about a 10 walk from the condo, but there is also parking at the beach so we mainly drove.The condo was well furnished; full kitchen and a washer and dryer. They provide towels to use at the pool.
Nice size patio with a bbq grill, dining set and lounge chairs
There is a cleaning fee $300+ that was not included in our package
Check out was 10 am and our flight was not until 10 pm. They allowed us to us the pool for the day.
If I had asked earlier (at booking) I could have gotten a later check out
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julie Cohen, General Manager at Palms at Wailea
Responded Mar 1, 2024
Mahalo for staying with us and for your wonderful review! I’m glad you enjoyed your time with us and all we have to offer and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit the island. Aloha and safe travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
irons77 asked a question Jan 2020
British Columbia, Canada4 contributions4 helpful votes
Can 7 people stay in the 2 bedroom unit ...4 adults and 3 kids
Answer from Leah C
Okotoks, Canada38 contributions21 helpful votes
I'd say a two bedroom condo would not comfortably sleep 7 (not even sure they would allow or accommodate this). Our unit had a master with a king, a second bedroom with two single beds and then there is a pull out couch in the living room that could potentially sleep 2. So I'd say a max of 6 to a condo.
JollyHodgers asked a question Jan 2020
14 contributions
Are there any firepits on property?
Guano7000 asked a question Jan 2020
Seattle, Washington1 contribution3 helpful votes
Is there transportation to and from the airport? Is there an option to rent a car on site?
Answer from John S
Omemee, Canada25 contributions8 helpful votes
Hi best to reserve a car at the airport when booking your airfare. due to the small size of car rentals available. We booked a smaller /mid sized and none left upon arrival. Because we booked ahead were were upgraded to a brand new Mustang convertible virtually free of charge. What a treat! No shuttles to this resort nor many others...rent a car you will need it to enjoy this wonderful place. Easy driving !
Answer from John S
Omemee, Canada25 contributions8 helpful votes
We were there in Sept. I swam early in the morning and around 9:00 at night. This isn't the Ritz but it is well taken care of and close to several small plaza.s. I would describe it as an economical family condo with kitchen facilities and coin laundry just down the hallway.
Answer from Trevor022
Canada84 contributions52 helpful votes
For an accurate answer, you will have to contact the booking person - i stayed in a private owned unit and negotiated no cleaning fee based on my circumstances (solo travel, stayed >1 week).
msn0731 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Seattle, Washington8 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't waster your money on The Palms at Wailea. They do not seem to care to maintain this property well. "
Read full review
Anne S wrote a tip Jul 2023
Fenton, Michigan2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"For more privacy ask for 2nd floor unit. To limit stairs ask for a ground floor unit. Ask for a unit away from the main road for less noise"
Read full review
Curious545948 wrote a tip Nov 2022
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be warned that Hawaii has become quite expensive and even basic accommodations have become quite costly. "
Read full review
Rick M wrote a tip Jul 2022
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma48 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here!"
Read full review
Susan D wrote a tip Apr 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid The Outrigger Palms at Wailea!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kihei area.
PRICE RANGE
C$561 - C$1,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
outrigger palms at wailea hotel kihei, outrigger kihei, kihei outrigger
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiKihei
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Palms at Wailea - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Palms at Wailea
Which popular attractions are close to Palms at Wailea?
Nearby attractions include The Magical Mystery Show! (2.6 km), Maui Professional Photography (1.9 km), and Island Art Party (5.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Palms at Wailea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Palms at Wailea?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and an additional bathroom.
What food & drink options are available at Palms at Wailea?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Palms at Wailea?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Palms at Wailea?
Conveniently located restaurants include South Maui Fish Company, Honolulu Cookie Company, and 808 Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Palms at Wailea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Palms at Wailea?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Palms at Wailea?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Palms at Wailea have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Palms at Wailea accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Kihei HotelsKihei Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kihei
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars