We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Palms at Wailea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Palms at Wailea
Palms at Wailea
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Palms at Wailea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 324: English reviews
Palm Springs, California
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We have rented a condo here two different times and have really enjoyed both stays. Just a couple of minutes walking down the hill and you are on the beach. Nice sand and areas to snorkel. We recommend the two bedroom units that are around 1,200 sq feet. Tip: try to get top floor facing the ocean. Building 12 is...

1Thank Keith M
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha Keith. Mahalo for taking the time to provide a nice comparison/contrast with some of the attributes of our property. One of the dynamics of renting condos is that typically they are all different in location, style, floor plan and décor. What we have found is that what works for some, might not work for others. The good news is...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We stayed at the Palms at Wailea for one week, booked through Costco Vacations. Our Garden Deluxe unit was in a great location, away from any road noise (about halfway down the green space "garden"). The "pros" side of our stay; all staff we encountered were very friendly and efficient. The grounds are absolutely beautiful! The garden down the middle...

3Thank MrsRW101
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha from the Palms at Wailea by Outrigger. Mahalo for taking the time to provide a review of the unit that you were in and of our property. We appreciate both your 'pros' and 'cons' as each are important in helping us live up to our potential. We were pleased to read that overall you enjoyed you stay with us...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Just back from a very nice 10 day stay at The Palms at Wailea. Booked through Westjet vacations with a air package so not sure of their rates but I paid $3200 for 2 with air for 10 nights. Comparably Air Canada and Costco were $4700. (Costco included a rental car for this price, about a $350 value) As with...

1Thank pauljames403
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha Paul and Mahalo for providing a very comprehensive review. Too add to your review, I would like to make a couple of points of clarification. Outrigger Hotels (we) are a management company here and have 60 condos in our inventory. Although we own the Front Desk here, we are here for Outrigger owners and guests.... to that degree we...

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Clean place. Enough room for a family vacation. No fitness center. Very friendly hosts. Beach is very close. If you are fit you don't even need a car to get there. Fast Internet and Cable TV all over the place. If you are lucky (appartment numbers 20xx) you can see the sunset in the evening hours.

1Thank Lars S
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha Lars and Mahalo for taking the time to provide a review of our property. Readers will appreciate seeing your comments which is a quick summary of who we are. Mahalo for your kind words. Matt

San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Just stayed at the palms, number 703. The 2 bedroom / 2 bath condo was very nice. While one could quibble with the older cabinets, it was clean with relatedly new appliances, had plenty of space (everyone could spread out), had a nice grill on the patio, AC (from the bedroom) kept the place cool. Although, the pool at the...

Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha Richard and Mahalo for your kind words. We are always pleased to hear when guests are happy with their time spent at our special property. Readers will appreciate all of the amenities that you noted and we like knowing that they are important components for an enjoyable vacation. Mahalo for taking time to provide your comments. Matt Swartz

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We stayed at Palms at Wailea in March 2014 for 9 days and we had a wonderful time. We loved the location, grounds are well kept, nice pool, close to a nice beach and great restaurants, and easy to tour the island provided that you have a car. The 2 bedroom condo was spacious and well equipped. We also loved...

Thank Arnaud_To
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha Arnaud. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your time here at the Palms of Wailea. We agree that this property is a little oasis and that many visitors appreciate the character and convenience of vacation rental condo. Pleased to hear that the staff were friendly and that you were able to return so quickly...

Halifax, NS
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We had an excellent vacation! We booked through Costco, which was a great deal (less than $7k for 4 tickets (Halifax - Toronto- Vancouver - Maui), full size car rental, and a delux 2 bedroom condo for 10 days). We choose the Palms at Wailea. Which was very good. I read many reviews, some good and some not do good....

4Thank kingswood1
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha to our guest from Halifax. As you traveled so far, it is good that you were able to have 10 days to enjoy all that Maui has to offer. I was pleased to read that you were happy with your unit and you provided a very nice re-cap of all the components of our vacation condos. A couple of...

Prince George, Canada
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We stayed here for 9 days during June and July, the property is fantastic and the grounds are well cared for. Some of the rooms are dated so be sure to request what you would like. Our unit was very dirty and we spent a few hours cleaning after we were unable to be moved to another room. We requested...

2Thank Sarry2323
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha to our guest from Canada. I was pleased to hear that overall you were pleased with your stay here. However, I was concerned to read that you spent time cleaning the unit. You mentioned that the Front Desk was did not have an available unit for a room move and that is unfortunate as this might have helped. That...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

We visited with three generations and five families. We had three condos. The units are large although one of the three units was a little dated the other two were in really good shape.We enjoyed one with an ocean view all three units came with beautiful Weber barbecues and big decks or lanais. We were given good service by both...

1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha to the multi-generational visitors. We agree that our property is well suited towards families as our condos are so spacious and appointed with important amenities for those who enjoy taking care of themselves. I was also happy to hear that you were comfortable on our property and that your were able to enjoy all that Maui has to offer......

Reviewed 28 June 2016

Really nice grounds....green, clean, and awesome pool. Booked through Costco and I knew that you get what you get, however, I was promised air conditioner.....only master bedroom had it. We rented 2 ocean view condos...2bedrooms, 2 baths. One was clean and upgraded...the other not so clean and nasty flooring and window blinds. I do recommend ocean views but they do...

3Thank Ian P
Matt S, General Manager at Palms at Wailea, responded to this review

Aloha Ian. Thank you for taking the time to provide some comments about your stay here. Just a point of clarification... all of our condos have a/c in the master bedroom and select units have retrofitted their condo so that it is an option (with a small additional charge) for the whole unit. FYI- We have full a/c units -in...

731 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (172)
Room/Suite (38)
View from Room (19)
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Dining (4)
Bathroom (6)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (550)
One Bedroom Garden Villa Deluxe (166)
Pool (52)
The Hotel (70)
Two Bedroom Garden Villa (102)
Two Bedroom Garden Villa Deluxe (160)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (9)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.8 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2.7 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,067 reviews
36.8 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.5 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.9 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Palms at Wailea

Address: 3200 Wailea Alanui Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7754
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Price Range: $251 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms at Wailea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Vacatia, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Palms at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Palms At Wailea Hotel Kihei
Outrigger Kihei
Kihei Outrigger
Palms At Wailea Maui/Kihei
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Palms at Wailea staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Brisbane, Australia
Awliscombe, United Kingdom
Sherwood Park, Canada
4 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Palms at Wailea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles dld77, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Condo #606 was MOSTLY road view, noise was unbearable. Busy Intersection with honking, screeching, bus fumes, motorcycles racing, etc.”
 of 5 bubbles bobkuchmaent, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“garden view. 1702 is one , on the road but is upstairs and 30 yards from road. Never noise. Matt can direct you.”
 of 5 bubbles alertwatcher, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I would suggest asking for a condo as far from the road as possible. Also one with an ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles lms973, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay for the Ocean View upgrade to avoid road noise”
 of 5 bubbles colinmI3005YS, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5