We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali

Visit hotel website
Traveller (3836)
Room & Suite (1102)
Video (1)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Commanding Ka’anapali Beach, The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali presents the ultimate Hawaiian getaway. Appealing to leisure and business travelers alike, unrivaled amenities at our Lahaina, Maui resort are designed to inspire renewal at this island paradise. Unwind amidst well-appointed accommodations with signature Westin touches. Or enjoy splashing fun within the magnificent aquatic playground with five pools, cascading waterfalls and gardens with exotic wildlife. Adventure seekers can pick their favorite watersport steps away from the resort such as stand-up paddling, kayaking, para-sailing, snorkel and sunset cruises. The resort also offers spa rejuvenation, oceanfront dining, cultural activities, kids club, weddings center, meeting facilities, watersport, shopping, golfing and shuttles to historic Lahaina.
Read more
Property amenities
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Adult pool
Airport transportation
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Mountain View
Centrally Located
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,507
  • 1,786
  • 866
  • 471
  • 279
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The Westin has a great location on Kanapali Beach next to Whalers Village. The outdoor walkways, pool area and outdoor restaurants need both aesthetic help and better food. The lobby and Valet areas have been re-done --though the valet area is not as spacious as you would expect
Read more
Response from TheWestinMaui, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali
Responded yesterday
Aloha seizetheday212, While we are happy that you were able to enjoy our unrivaled beachfront location on Ka'anapali Beach, we are disappointed to discover that other aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectations. As you mentioned, we are currently undergoing Holomua improvements and would like to sincerely apologize if any of the enhancement work prevented you from enjoying Maui to the fullest extent. That being said, we are pleased to learn that you were delighted by our new lobby and arrival experience as it is part of our newly-unveiled features. Should your travels bring you back to Maui, we look forward to an opportunity to share all the ways in which the distinctive upgrades have transformed our resort. With Warmest Aloha, Mireille Tardif Hotel Manager
Read more
It was our first time to Maui and we stayed 2 nights as a stopover to Oahu. We didn't need to take the rental car out. There are shops (ABC Store is next door), restaurants (in whalers village & in other hotels), and an expansive beach nearby. There's a free Shuttle too, but we
Read more
Response from TheWestinMaui, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali
Responded yesterday
Aloha Jennifer K, Mahalo for your wonderful review. We are delighted that we could make your first time in Maui so special. The resort’s idyllic setting on Ka’anapali Beach is certainly most convenient for our guests to enjoy a myriad of watersport activities as well as shopping at Whalers Village—home to 67 stores and 12 restaurants. It’s heartwarming to learn that your daughter had splashing fun in our outdoor pools that include a cool whirlpool hidden in the swim-through grotto. As part of our Holomua improvements, we are upgrading our Ocean Tower accommodations and have already unveiled our newly redesigned Beach Tower with larger accommodations. Other upcoming enhancements include a brand new family pool with a hot tub and other fun water features. We await your return and the pleasure to host you and your family any time. With Warmest Aloha, Mireille Tardif Hotel Manager
Read more
Overall when it comes to the accomodation, we cannot complain. Our room 590 had an excellent ocean front room where we spotted heaps of whales. Absolutely stunning. Luckily it is a short walk to Whaler’s Village where you will find Leilani’s on the Beach, Hula Grill and
Read more
Response from TheWestinMaui, Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha jerzgrl69, Mahalo for your five-star review! I am pleased to learn that you were able to enjoy your room and the beautiful Pacific Ocean views. Seeing whales is truly awe-inspiring, we are delighted that you were able to spot some during your time here. While we are happy that you were able to take in all that Whalers Village has to offer just moments away from our resort, I am disappointed that your experience at Relish did not live up to standards. Similarly, I am also concerned that you did not receive world-class hospitality from each staff member. That being said, I was pleased to read that most of our staff was accommodating and Chris provided you with outstanding service. We will definitely pass along your kind words. In the future, we would love to welcome you back for another stay in paradise so we can raise the bar and provide you an even more magnificent Maui experience. With Warmest Aloha, Mireille Tardif Hotel Manager
Read more
Definitely not coming back to this hotel. At check-out, when reviewing my bill, there where 3 mystery charges for $80.00 each day of my stay as a “day room” charge. First I was told this was for an upgrade which I did not request, then i was told it was for late check-out on my
Read more
Response from TheWestinMaui, Hotel Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha austim, Thank you for choosing The Westin Maui. It’s always great to hear positive feedback, but I was especially pleased to know that you were able to enjoy our unparalleled location on Ka'anapali Beach and our delicious daily breakfast buffet. At the same time, I am disappointed to learn that other aspects of your stay fell short since we strive to provide every guest with the most comfortable and memorable Maui experience. I sincerely regret this and if you could please reach out to yourmauiexperience@westin.com, we would love to have the opportunity to learn more about your stay and to extend our personal apologies. With Warmest Aloha, Mireille Tardif Hotel Manager
Read more
The Westin Maui Resort and Spa is a gem of a hotel on Kaanapali Beach. The hotel has just undergone a major renovation of the lobby and the rooms in the Beach Tower/Luxury Tower, with some ongoing work still being done on their new parking garage. I had a longish stay here and
Read more
Response from TheWestinMaui, Hotel Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali
Responded 5 days ago
Aloha Michifille, We are overjoyed to learn about your outstanding, extended stay in beautiful Maui. Mahalo for noting how our Holomua enhancements have improved the overall resort experience. That being said, we are delighted to know you found your room to be so amazing. With views of both the awe-inspiring Pacific and the majestic West Maui Mountains, it really offers the best of both worlds, not to mention the luxurious lanai, cutting-edge in-room media, and Westin’s signature bedding and furnishings. Outside of your Beach Tower accommodations, we are pleased that so many other aspects of your experience exceeded your expectations. It is wonderful to discover you were able to take full advantage of our multilevel, aquatic playground featuring five pools, two water slides, a swim-through grotto, a jacuzzi, and a hidden whirlpool. We agree that it’s arguably the nicest in Ka’anapali. We are also pleased to find out that you were able to visit Whalers Village. A short walk away from the resort, this beachfront shopping village is truly Maui’s best retail destination, with everything from luxe clothing stores to delicious dining options and more. Finally, we would like to say mahalo for the individual recognition of our staff members. Miyako, Chris, and Evelyne all sincerely appreciate it. In the future, we would love to welcome you back for another lengthy stay in paradise. It would be our pleasure to host you any time. With Warmest Aloha, Mireille Tardif Hotel Manager
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Walk-in shower
Tub/shower combo (wonderful big tub!)
Toilet area semi-separated (also with robes)
Toilet area semi-separated
Bathroom with dual sinks
When will construction be completed?
I suggest calling or sending email to the hotel to inquire. We were there in late February and did not have a problem with the renovations but we were not in the tower. Good luck & have fun!
0 votes
Show all answers
Aloha 282paulaz, We would be delighted to welcome you to explore the resort and our restaurants that include Relish Burger Bistro as well as our full-service Heavenly Spa by Westin as these amenities are available to resort registered guests, island visitors and residents. In regards to our aquatic playground that includes outdoor swimming pools, these are reserved for resort registered guests only. We regret that day pool passes are currently unavailable for non-resort guests. Mahalo.
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes there are beach chairs and umbrellas for guest. The beach is white sand it’s probably 50 yards wide, well maintained and easy to walk on both above and below water. You can use both goofy boards and surf boards of the beach. In the water it is a sandy bottom. It will be over your head by the time it gets too rocky.
0 votes
Show all answers
We watched sunsets from the loungers between the pool and the sidewalk that runs along the beach. No charge for those. As others have mentioned, you can rent loungers and umbrellas for use on the beach. (The adult pool is another great place to watch sunsets.) The beach is not rocky and wading and swimming are excellent, but check surf conditions. Snorkeling is better down the beach in front of the Sheraton. I think that you’ll really enjoy this beautiful hotel. ALOHA!
0 votes
Show all answers
I would call the hotel directly. They are pretty honest about what they are or are not updating at the moment. I experienced no disruptions when I was there late January. I also called ahead to understand what was being worked on.
1 vote
Show all answers
"Beach (Luxury) Tower rooms are the most recently renovated."
"high floor for best view"
"Ask for as high of a floor room as possible. We were on the 5th floor of Ocean Tower and could barely see above the trees."
"Rooms ocean side are best."
"Try and get a high floor room facing the pool / ocean"
US$351 - US$771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
westin maui resort and hotel lahainawestin maui hotelwestin lahainawestin maui resort and spawestin maui resort spalahaina westin
United StatesHawaiiMauiLahaina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing