We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Lahaina Resort

Show Prices
#17 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Lahaina Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,696 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Lahaina Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,445: English reviews
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Beautiful stretch of calming beach (perfect to read a book) The rooms are cute and cozy! Everything is nearby and it's convenient to get around, The staff is super helpful and go out of their way to lend a hand. Food is great! The Luau was phenomenal! The Royal Lahaina is the place to be in Kaanapali :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soso52682
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo! We hope we can welcome you back in the future!

Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great value. The rooms are a great size very comfortable and most importantly very clean. We stayed in the tower on the 3rd floor, which meant that the views were not fantastic but it really didn't matter as we spent all day every day out on the beach with fabulous views! The pool area is quite small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bookstraveller
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo! We are happy that you found the Royal Lahaina to offer great value for your vacation. Aloha.

plano, tx
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I booked the hotel as part of a vacation package thru American Airlines. We originally booked an ocean view room, but at check in were offered an opportunity to upgrade to an ocean view room at half off the going rate. The front desk staff person was really great to work with and we so enjoyed sitting on our lanai...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for the positive feedback and thank you for your advice to others regarding nearby restaurants and activities. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Aloha.

leeds. england
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed at the Royal Lahaina in July 2012 for the first few days of our honeymoon. Admittedly, I am not a big resort fan, but decided to stay here as we thought we'd be tired after the wedding and just wanted an easy break! We stayed in one of the garden cottages, which were much better than a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank francesca_paola
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. On behalf of the hotel I apologize that you were awoken by noise on the first morning of your Honeymoon. I am glad that we were able to help in moving you to a different location on the property. Mahalo for selecting the Royal Lahaina Resort for your Honeymoon. Although a long journey from England,...

Independence, Missouri
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Wonderful place for a vacation. We booked an Oceanfront Cottage just a few steps from the beach. We enjoyed snorkeling for hours on Kaanapali Beach,very beautiful coral/rock, many fish and sea turtles. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating, We will return again and request the same Cottage location. Thank you Royal Lahaina Resort for a wonderful 20th anniversary vacation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cindy H
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. So glad that we were able to help you enjoy your 20th Anniversary vacation! Please feel free to contact us if we can help you in coordinating plans for your next visit. Aloha!

Cardiff
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We spent 5 peaceful nights here and felt like it was our own tropical paradise. It was never too crowded around the pool and we were able to get beds or a cabana easily. It's a bit away from town so unless you get a taxi to Whalers or into Lahaina then the only place to eat is here so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tipsy252
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Please note that we do offer complimentary trolley service to Whalers Village, which has several restaurants and lots of shopping opportunities. Should you prefer, Whalers Village is a 15 -20 minute walk from the hotel. The resort hotels in Kaanapali are approx. 3 miles from historical Lahaina Town. There is bus service...

Portland, Michigan
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The resort was nice. The rooms were newly renovated and beautiful. We checked in at 6:30pm (check in time is supposed to be 3pm) and our room was not ready. They did comp us drinks at the restaurant on premises after we complained. The pool was freezing - not heated, so no one was using it. To use the jacuzzi,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie W
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. Very sorry for the delay at check-in. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the value that we offer for a Kaanapali Beach resort. Mahalo!

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I stayed a week at the Royal Lahaina in March 2011 and recently returned in January 2013. We had such a positive experience the first time and knew the location was ideal so decided to stay here again and it was just as great as before. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and you can't beat the value. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MindyS3
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for making the Royal Lahaina Resort your accommodation of choice on Maui. A hui hou!

Spearfish, South Dakota
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Get a ocean front room on the corners with the two balcony's. 5th floor was nice. Great service. Chris at the front desk was so so accommodating. Great hotel, great location, very clean, will definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank forcoli
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Reviewed 21 January 2013

Came here for our honeymoon it's a nice place but not spectacular. Rooms a bit small, house keeping/staff awful, my wife had to keep chasing house keeping for towels even after calling the front desk to correct the problem. As for parking there is plenty of it but don't understand why they would charge $10 a day considering the resort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stamos13
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your honeymoon visit. Sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We have been in reviews with our Housekeeping Department regarding the towel service and believe this issue has now been resolved. All resorts in Kaanapali charge for parking. I believe guests will find that the Royal Lahaina parking charge of $10...

3,025 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2822)
Viewed
View from Room (384)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (548)
Viewed
Room/Suite (552)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (305)
Viewed
Dining (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (85)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (852)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (200)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Beach (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (14)
Viewed
Oceanfront Room (9)
Viewed
One Bedroom Molokai Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
3,581 reviews
0.2 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,374 reviews
1.0 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.4 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Royal Ocean Terrace in Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Ocean Terrace in Royal Lahaina Resort
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fusion, Hawaiian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Price Range: $283 - $774 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Lahaina Resort staff and other travellers.
135 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (135)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Lahaina Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the Deluxe Ocean View; totally worth it!”
  • View from our room on the top floor
 of 5 bubbles steelbear, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe Ocean View is the only way to go”
  • High Floor Deluxe Ocean View Room
  • Crummy 5th floor Ocean View Room
 of 5 bubbles bigtedshred, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea view. High floor”
 of 5 bubbles linus961, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The higher the better. I was on only the 5th floor and my view was just fine.”
 of 5 bubbles S8668GHmichellem, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beach front is worth the extra money”
 of 5 bubbles pamelahU2160MW, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay