We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wonder View Inn

Booking.comUS$98*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Wonder View Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wonder View Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 339: English reviews
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

Although the trip was last minute with 3 dogs, Wonder View verified over the phone they had space and pets were a non issue. Checked in next door at the Blue Nose Inn which they don't tell you before arrival. The property is an old school motel. I would equate it to an old road side motel in appearance and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bwindfw
Katie W, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review

Hello Bwindfw, I'd first like to thank you for offering your comments. We certainly welcome all feedback as that is how we determine what we can improve upon. I apologize that you weren't told when booking that at certain times of the year our check in/out is handled at the Bluenose Inn just next door. We only do that for...

Davis, California
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We stayed 2 nights and were grateful for a room because we did not have a reservation in Bar Harbor. On check-in, the clerk offered us a deluxe room (at a higher price), and we said yes to that. The room was small, and I wouldn't say that there was anything deluxe about it. The bathroom was clean, but small....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank USAwalkers
Katie W, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you were able to feel rested during your vacation with us as that is what vacation is all about! It's difficult to determine where you may have stayed as we don't entitle any of our rooms as "deluxe". Our higher priced rooms are the most updated and offer the best...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We were very pleased with our stay at Wonderview. It was clean, comfortable, had everything we needed, was in a great location, great price and yes the Wonderview! I traveled there with my mom and aunt for a long weekend. As long as we have a clean room with decent beds we are happy travelers so we go for budget...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethBH01
Katie W, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review

ElizabethBH01 Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We certainly appreciate all of the extra details you included in your comments for other readers. I agree that our property being built on the former estate of Mary Roberts Rinehart really adds some character. Bar Harbor truly has such a rich and interesting history and it is wonderful that the...

Hamilton, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

There is nothing "wonderous" about this "inn?" The staff were untrained, disrespectful and rude. I could have forgiven the rude young woman who "checked us in" if not for staying on a personal call for over 30 minutes while we waited to check in. It wasn't until a loud couple came in screaming for her attention did she put down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank denise244
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review

While I understand that there were indeed issues during your stay, i will not tolerate you personally degrading my staff and in particular the Guest Services Manager. Read the reviews, yes we are an older property but we are in a major renovation program that does take time and your comments are the only ones attacking the staff. Obviously the...

New Jersey
Reviewed 5 October 2015

I don't even know where to begin. It is loud, dirty and they allow the employees to smoke in "employee party rooms" which are below or adjacent to the guest rooms. As such, I had the pleasure of smelling the smoke and hearing the noise all day and all night. I complained and was finally moved. Yes, I had to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jodibeth
Groton, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Their brochure is very misleading. There was no beautiful view of the water, too many trees in the way. The first room we got looked like it was decorated in the 1970's and had a gray/black shower tub, it was in a building off by itself with a few other rooms. We went back to the desk with our 1970's...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Janice D
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. We apologize that the inn did not meet your expectations. Our location and clean and comfortable rooms are what we sell. We are an older property but believe the price point is indeed in keeping with the demand for like properties on the Island. Glad to hear that...

Wall
Reviewed 29 September 2015

As I'm laying in bed trying to sleep with a 10 hour drive ahead of me the staff of this hotel party outside my door!! Banging cursing and door slamming 2 out of three nights I've stayed here. Not to mention the smoke coming in the room. This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Being in this business...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DMPalmer53
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. We are sorry about the noise situation that you endured. This could have and should have been corrected. Hopefully you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future. Please use this response to get one night of complimentary lodging for next season based on availability....

Oradell, New Jersey
Reviewed 29 September 2015

If you are feeling nostalgic for the sixties, rent a room here This hotel is in need of some serious updating. If we hadn't been so tired from the eight hour drive, we would have left as soon as we saw the room. Horrible musty smell, linoleum floors in a scary bathroom, paper thin walls where you could hear the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanne B
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. We apologize for the musty smell you encountered. Regarding the other issues, it is indeed an older property but well maintained and in a great location. Glad to hear you enjoyed our sister property and again we are sorry you had to encounter these issues but it seems...

Reviewed 29 September 2015

We checked in after seeing a $99 sign while driving by. After reading mixed reviews, asked to see a room. Room 4 was a bit old-looking and stuffy, but we decided it would be okay. Within 10 minutes, husband appeared to have an allergic reaction to the room, and A/C didn't work so we could circulate the air. Notified desk...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank U544NJannem
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. In today's age, there are virtually no hotels that do not experience this problem. We have a program in place to aggressively attack the issue and did so immediately. We use a company that is one of the leaders in their field. We sincerely apologize for what happened...

Strong, Maine
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We stayed in Room 3 which was very near to the office and the area for the continental breakfast. It had a small balcony and a partial view of the ocean so that was very nice. The room was clean; the bed was comfortable. It didn't seem like a very large room but they managed to fit in a king...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joan D

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
596 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
251 reviews
1.0 km away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#36 of 41 in Bar Harbor
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
0.3 km away
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
477 reviews
0.7 km away
Bar Harbor Motel
Bar Harbor Motel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the premiere locations in the area. Only a minute from downtown Bar Harbor, and Acadia National Park. Superb dining: Enjoy the famous, eight sided, glass walled, Looking Glass Restaurant, and enjoy the spectacular panorama that only the Wonder View’s unique location can provide. Comfortable rooms: Most balconies offer views of Frenchman’s Bay and the surrounding islands. Step out to our pool or stroll our beautifully manicured grounds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wonder View Inn

Address: 50 Eden St, PO Box 25, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1446
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Price Range: $165 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wonder View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Wonder View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wonder View Hotel Bar Harbor
Wonder View Inn And Suites
Wonder View Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wonder View Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Wonder View Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with harbor view and balcony.”
cewat2016, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms could be updated”
ellenh718, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 62 gorgeous views”
frankwalsh, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The higher building has awesome views”
stoneyrn, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a view of the harbor”
CMHMaine, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$98* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$115
Hotels.comUS$115
TravelocityUS$115
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates