We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quimby House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
Panoramas (33)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 337: English reviews
Start your review of Quimby House Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed off-season. Staff was wonderful and friendly. Our room was spacious and well cleaned. Everything was very cozy and really felt like home. Inn was within walking distance of most of downtown Bar Harbor. Absolutely loved the experience and would stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaylene W
Pensacola
Reviewed 1 week ago

I never made to the Inn. Made a reservation on Booking.com. This website states that the Inn is pet friendly, after contacting the Inn I found out that it is dog friendly only. That's not pet friendly. My cat travels with me and I have run into this problem before. Somebody needs to get the facts straight.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shirleys2005
YPSILANTI
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in the area for a funeral and it was a very cold weekend. The room was comfortable, the bathroom spacious, and the hosts warm and friendly. We were near the front door but in off-season there's almost no traffic on the street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MICHEL S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First off I need to say that Booking.com is probably the major problem with what was supposed to be a nice long 21st anniversary weekend for us... BUT with that said, I am very disappointed with the whole processes & hidden fees associated with staying here. We wanted to bring our dogs with us, so I was required to book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki H
athiker2000, Owner at Quimby House Inn, responded to this review

First and foremost I want to apologize to you. I wish I had had the opportunity to speak with you personally and make your 21st anniversary weekend the celebration you had anticipated. After seeing this review, I did immediately got to the website you mentioned to be sure that this would not happen to another guest; I am not at...

Darien, Connecticut
Reviewed 10 January 2017

A comfortable Inn, an easy walk to downtown Bar Harbor (it's really just outside the busy part of town). We were originally put in a room three stories up, and told it was two Queen beds. They were clearly double beds and we were moved to a room just off the lobby. Very comfortable. Our Guide Dog and teen were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We (my girlfriend and I) stayed there last Christmas for four nights to celebrate her birthday (which is also on Christmas day) and loved everything about the stay! We would go back in a heartbeat and most likely will again around the same time this year if available. The owners were so genuinely accommodating we felt like family. I highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kris A
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We had a nice weekend, in November. The Quimby House was clean and comfy. We checked in late, staying two nights. Carlinda helped us, both mornings and evenings. There was a note on the desk letting folks know that "The Blue Door" was open that evening. It was a short walk. What a great find that was!! We returned there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
Belmont, North Carolina
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed in the annex with our dogs, lovely suite with kitchenette and quite comfortable, Very quiet and a great staff, We were late arriving and they called to check on us! Close to Bar Harbor shopping but well out of the cruise ship crowds.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CBG327
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We booked late but were happy with the booking details and walking distance to town centre. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable but the road noise was awful. If you book this hotel I suggest you ask to avoid Room 101 which is at the front of the hotel on the ground floor right next to the road....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roboxford
Richboro, PA
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We never stayed in "inn's" before so really didn't know what to expect. Our room was big, clean and the bed was comfortable, but the furniture is outdated. The one thing that bothered us was the smell in the lobby the day we checked in. It smelled like fried fish. The next few days the smell was whatever was cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BGorberg

203 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (127)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Room 101 (20)
Viewed
Room 209 (19)
Viewed
Room 211 (18)
Viewed
Room A119 (20)
Viewed
Room A222 (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
333 reviews
1.4 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.8 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
585 reviews
0.2 km away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
414 reviews
0.8 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Colonial-style inn within minute's walk to Bar Harbor's waterfront, restaurants, shops, and bike and kayak rentals. One mile to Acadia National Park, Cadillac Mountain, and Kebo Valley Golf Club. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quimby House Inn

Address: 109 Cottage St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1442
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Price Range: $135 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quimby House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Quimby House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quimby House Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Bar Harbor
Quimby House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quimby House Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Quimby House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for the annex!”
 of 5 bubbles CBG327, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 101”
 of 5 bubbles roboxford, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“do not get a room on the street side of the main building”
 of 5 bubbles angeladD4737UR, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the back and noise is a non issue. Especially on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles nraleigh08, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you have luggage you may want a first floor room...not as many stairs”
 of 5 bubbles jeanm648, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5