We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

978 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
See the most recent reviews
Showing 637: English reviews
Fresno, United States
Reviewed 16 March 2015

I read some reviews that made this place not sound to exciting. But when my family and I arrived, we were treated with care. The place has a lot to offer someone staying there. My family loved the room and all the space. The hotel is right by a lot of things we wanted to do. I'll be coming back...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear Kimberly P, Your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us at The Best Western Plus Americania are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community! I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed the accommodations and the service of our staff. We look...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 14 March 2015

We stayed at this hotel during a major conference in San Francisco when the city was totally booked and we were lucky to even get a room here at an inflated rate of nearly $400. To manage visitor expectations clearly, this hotel should call itself a motel because this is what it is - a motel. Best Western, on its...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JasmineMarti
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear JasmineMarti, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor. We very pleased that you enjoyed our wonderful staff. However, we sincerely apologize that the quality of your room and the courtyard fell short of your standards. The initial impression of our neighborhood can be surprising to some visitors but the south of market neighborhood is...

New York, United States
Reviewed 7 March 2015

I got a special conference rate for this hotel which is a few blocks from the Moscone Center. It's got all this trippy abstract decor that made it feel fancier! Standard amenities plus a pool (wish I would've brought my suit.) They'll also arrange a shuttle to SFO for you for $16 cash, can keep your bags with the valet...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear Rachel P, Thank you for sharing your warm review about The Best Western Plus Americania with the TripAdvisor community. It is great that you find our property to be centrally located next to Union Square and the Moscone Center in San Francisco. We hope to warmly welcome you back to The Best Western Plus Americania in the future! Sincerely,...

Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Had a great stay at this hotel. The only downside was the location. It was in the Tenderloin district of San Fran. We had to walk 2-3 blocks to get our tour bus; homeless people, smelled of urine." Don't go out at night" type of area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Byron M
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear Byron M. Thank you for sharing your experience of the Best Western Plus Americania with the TripAdvisor community. We are happy you enjoyed your room and board at our hotel and we hope that you are able to visit again soon! Our neighborhood, SoMA (South of Market) is an eclectic and diverse area and contributes to the overall makeup...

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2015

We stayed for 4 nights in September 2014 at the start of our Californian roadtrip. As a family with young children (10,7 & 5) from the UK we wanted a hotel with good access to all the central attractions of San Francisco and the Best Western Plus Americania was ok for this. Off Mission and one block over from Market...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jo B
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write the detailed review of your most recent stay at Best Western Plus Americania. We are sorry that your experience with the neighborhood did not meet your expectations. The Soma neighborhood like most of San Francisco is in a large urban metropolis filled with many characters which provides the city its own unique...

Kirkland, Washington
Reviewed 20 February 2015

I trust Best Western brand, and was not disappointed ever before. However, this hotel stands out in a negative way. And that is no surprise, as the only connection with Best Western is the name on the outside, on the room key, and on the paper cups. Everywhere else I saw HaiYi logo. The room was moderately shabby, medium wear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vitaly K
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear Vitaly K, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations and that you received bedding in such poor condition. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Our...

Chicago, United States
Reviewed 16 February 2015

This is a very cute, retro style hotel. I enjoyed the decor .. the lobby and room were just right. However (and unfortunately) I could not recommend staying in this location if you are travelling with a child or are sensitive to areas with a lot of homeless, litter, drunks and pot smokers. We had our 11 year old daughter...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim K
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear Kim K, We would like to thank you for sharing with our friends in the Trip Advisor community your recent experience at the Best Western Plus Americania. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the unique décor and comfortable rooms. Our neighborhood, SoMA (South of Market) is an eclectic and diverse area and contributes to the overall makeup...

Reviewed 15 February 2015 via mobile

Booked my room thru Expedia. Hotel located in busy area near bars and clubs. Several homeless people can be seen on the streets on the same block. When I arrived to check in, my room that I had paid almost $300 for, had been rebooked to someone else. I had booked a room with 2 beds and 1 sofa bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leoa710
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear Leoa710, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so...

Rocklin, CA
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Clean and basic. Not very roomy - but adequate for short stays. experienced some discomfort in getting room temperature cool enough for sleeping. Problem with broken toilet seat. Bedding was adequate but a bit firm for maximum comfort/.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichRocklin_CA
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear RichRocklin_Ca, Thank you for sharing your detailed review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies in regards to the restroom and temperature in your room. We understand the frustration you felt and have contacted each department to address the comments you have provided. We are glad you enjoyed...

San Francisco, United States
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Decor is so cute! Love that! I got a special on the Hotel Tonight app and paid $85 a night plus tax and got free internet! The only down side is this hotel in right in the city of San Fran and at night you can hear the fire trucks run by. Another down side is the room smelled heavily...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer X
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer X, Thank you very much for staying with us at the Best Western Plus Americania, and for taking the time to share the details of your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies regarding the damp carpet. We understand the frustration you felt and have...

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#129 of 227 in San Francisco
285 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#121 of 227 in San Francisco
1,132 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#183 of 227 in San Francisco
2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#184 of 227 in San Francisco
570 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#91 of 227 in San Francisco
547 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#97 of 227 in San Francisco
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoMa

Neighbourhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighbourhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighbourhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western PLUS Americania Hotel is a 143-room boutique hotel with a fun and amusing design of understaed references to classic American pasttimes. With guest rooms, meeting space and the Custom Burger and Lounge located on site, the hotel provides a San Francisco hotel experience well suited for vacationers, families, and business travelers alike and is the ideal setting for small business meetings and social functions.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania

Address: 121 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Price Range: $211 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americania Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Hotel Americania
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you get everything in writing.”
 of 5 bubbles morrisb972, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are large; or opt for one with 2 beds + sofa bed”
 of 5 bubbles 477clementc, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If the pool is open ask for a room as far away as possible. Kids running up and down the outside access corridors could be annoying.”
 of 5 bubbles iamacdntraveller, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Fairly large hotel.Clean but no ventilation”
 of 5 bubbles saleemrangoon, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We got a queen bed for myself and my friend, female friend,,but we shared the bed,,the rooms were not flash but very clean and tidy,,”
 of 5 bubbles 30charmainec, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5